WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Venom in "Spider-Man 4"?

Posted: May 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Venom in "Spider-Man 4"?Submit Comment
MTV News caught up with artist/writer Todd McFarlane to discuss the upcoming "Spider-Man 4" movie and whether Venom will make an appearance. "I co-created Venom," he said. "He was in the last 'Spider-Man' movie. And I think he might make an appearance here in the next one, too."

While he doesn't explain why he thinks Venom will appear in "Spider-Man 4," he does reveal what he believes was done poorly with the character in the third film.

"I would've done a few things different," said McFarlane. "When I first created him, I made him huge. That would've been the first thing for me; I would've wanted somebody who looked like he was three times the size of Spider-Man, so it was almost like Spider-Man going against the Hulk. [I want] someone who is really formidable; whenever you have a skinny character against a big one it's like 'Woah, I'm going to have to work today.' But instead, the two of them were about the same size."

He continued: "I would've done something more dramatic. [I also would've increased] the nastiness; I never cared too much about the comics code. I always pushed the envelope until the editor said 'You'd better pull that back.'"

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: MTV News

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jjjjjoey writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 6:51:22 PM

borat writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 6:54:52 PM

spiderman 3 = garbage
coldplayesence writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 6:56:26 PM

They f*cked venom up already, they need to fix the main character now.
Bro_of_Destruction writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 6:57:51 PM

well if they make him look better for the fourth one (bigger) then i wouldnt really mind...
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:35:31 PM

yeah when it comes to movies, I''ll listen to McFarlane all right...By the way, bang-up job on the "Spawn" movie...I should sue for the eye cancer that f'n turd gave me. LOL.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:38:24 PM

at least he said 'i CO-created venom'...cuz i was about to flip a bitch lol....and yea venom was done terribly in 3....mcfarlane was right about that, he should've been hulk sized compared to spiderman...but instead they made him as slim and skinny as spiderman....that's how carnage is supposed to look...and to top it off, i'm wondering if they'll fix eddie brock no longer looking skinny
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:40:15 PM

now that's VENOM!! not some skinny wimp that a lot of people excepted F(*#*#! that! give me the bulky crazy VENOM form the comics!
Sinestro writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 8:02:36 PM

McFarlane is such a f*cking has been.
lost_addict writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:15:06 PM

the spiderman franchise needs a serious shake down.we had enough of this stupid mary jane and peter love story and all the other usual jokes(bruce campbell,the newspaper boss etc.),i would kill mary jane in the beginning of the movie and perhaps re-cast spider man with someone more serious then toby.
autiger10 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:20:07 PM

"i wouldve done this, blah blah blah" "i wouldve dont that blah blah blah" just admit that you really f*cked up on the last movie and start having people getting their sh*t owned. more violence + dead people = better ratings. me personally, i would like to see a marvel zombie version of spiderman or fantastic four. that sh*t would not only be f*cking badass, but it would jump-start the sh*t all over again. who agrees?
Gunslinger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:46:45 PM

Not sure that those are quite the words I would have chosen, but yes, autiger, I'm with you. It's like watching a GI Joe cartoon where Cobra pilots always eject, and just once you'd like to see someone go down in a fiery ball of cartoon devastation. But if they do kill off someone in the next movie, it better not be J. Jonah I'm gonna be pissed. Just let a few civilians take a hit, or maybe just get hit by a lamppost after it gets hit by an out of control Ferrari...
bacci40 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 11:00:36 PM

the toddler doesnt know sh*t about the movie...raimi made it clear that he didnt like the character, and lets be honest, venom was created to make some sense out of the whole galactic costume nonsense...hey todd, go back to f*cking up spawn and leave the movies to the experts
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 11:05:45 PM

ACTIONFIGURE - Todd wasn't much happier with his movie than you (or anyone) were (was).
thedudeman69 writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 12:29:41 AM

PrevalentMind writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 12:43:10 AM

Honestly? You want honesty? Venom is Spiderman's worst nemesis...no panzy Green Goblin with nothing more than gadgets...he is simply badass awesomeness that seriously got screwed over in SM3. He's violent, villainess, scary as hell, and even does some good from time to time...no honestly- seeing Venom was the reason we flocked to see the third film. It hyped, it leaked small glimpses of him, built huge hype around the appearance, and it never delivered the darkness we expected and the trailers promised. It was a silly, overstuffed turkey of a film.
screamonly writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 1:56:25 AM

if they going to bering Topher Grace back, he need to take some serious acting lessons!!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 2:53:44 AM

Urgh... more spiderman?
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 4:04:52 AM

are they sure it wasn't Michael Bay they interviewed?
Satan Kid writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 9:20:12 AM

I agree with Sinestro, Synthetic and Lost_Addict. I think John Cena wouldíve been a great Eddie Brock. After all in the comic he was a body builder. The suit made him even stronger so thatís why he was so much stronger then SpiderMan. Even though Topher Grace was about the only saving grace for SM3 regarding acting, I was irritated by the emo bullsh*t and the same tired sappy love story within the first 10 minutes.Much in the way Weapon X was desicrated, Sony took one of the best Spiderman stories of the 80ís and reduced it to the same ham handed bullsh*t that Wolverine origins degraded into.AND Todd McFarlane is a self obsessed punk bitch who overcomplicated a good character like Spawn and turned it into something that no one cares about or is interested in. How sad is that? You rip off batman and Spiderman and you still f**k it up
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 12:57:27 PM

John Cena? Why when there's plenty of people his size that can actually act?...I'd go for Henry Rollins as Eddie Brock haha. That dude is kickass.
Satan Kid writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 1:25:32 PM

20 years ago Rollins would've been perfect! 2 true 2 true
Luminus writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 2:03:35 PM

Mickey Rourke as Eddie Brock and make Venom CGI like the Hulk, with mucus dripping from the rows of jagged teeth he has. Some tongue action, too, like he's supposed to do. Very simple.
Satan Kid writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 2:06:57 PM

HAHAHA Micky Rourke as Eddie Brock!!F**K it why not? Lets recast edie falco as Mary Jane and (in a surprise twist) have will Smith be Spiderman.Now THATS casting
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 4:42:01 PM

i remember reading something about sam raimi wanting to do spiderman back in the early 90s and he was gonna cast bruce campbell as peter parker....man that would have been excellent....but these days?...for eddie brock?....i thought whoever mary jane was dating in spiderman 2 would have looked perfect for it...and venom, you guys are right on that, the slimy mouth and tongue was not there...'the licker' from the first resident evil movie had the right idea on that
Ranger writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 4:50:04 PM

James Cameron always wanted to the Spiderman movies as well.
DNAonherCHIN writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 6:37:45 PM

PLEASE! i hope everyone here agrees w/ me on this....no more goblin...no more venom..we've seen venom..there's no more WOW there...no lizard..we've all seen jurassic park lizards..there's no WOW there either...here's how you can put "4" villians in spidey 4...before the opening credits have spidey do what he does best...we are thrown imediatly into a spectacular battle between spidey...THE RHINO and HYDRO-MAN..a 15 minute slugfest after there defeated..then the opening credits...then begin the totally non-related story w/ spidey and (my choices for villians)ELECTRO and MYSTERIO....NOW THAT'S A MOVIE!!!
kevo10183 writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 8:24:20 PM

Make his voice more like the locust from gears of war or something. Topher Grace's voice was terrible as venom.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:33:21 AM

i agree....i didn't think his voice was right for venom...nor in general...it just sounds like there's no emotion in his voice
YodaIam1 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 6:10:28 PM

You guys need to keep in mind what Sam had said a while ago. The producers really cracked down on him in SM3. In the previous films he had the freedom to do whatever he wanted and in SM3 that priviledge was taken away for some reason. He didn't even want Venom in it. It's been said that for SM4 the producers are backing off which makes me hopeful

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved