WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Deadpool" Spin-Off Confirmed

Posted: May 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Deadpool" Spin-Off ConfirmedSubmit Comment
In addition to the announcement that a "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" sequel is in the works, 20th Century Fox has just revealed that a spin-off movie, focusing on Deadpool, is in development as well. Ryan Reynolds is attached to reprise the character.

Deadpool is Wade Wilson, a mercenary who, dying of cancer, submits himself to the Weapon X genetic alteration experiment and emerges as an indestructible semi-sane anti-hero. Reynolds seemed destined to play the character. In one reference in the Marvel Comics, Deadpool is described as a mix between "a Shar Pei and Ryan Reynolds."

In the new movie, it is understood that "the merc with a mouth" would once again regain the ability to mouth off, with the movie going back to the roots of the character known for his slapstick tone. The project is out to writers.

Fox considered a "Deadpool" spin-off early in "Wolverine's" development process, which is why it cast Reynolds. The actor was brought back in the month before the movie's release to shoot one of two "Easter egg" scenes that appeared after the end credits.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:26:02 AM

So I assume this will be a companion piece to Wolverine: Origins? I just hope we're not looking at another Elektra here.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:34:53 AM

it better be good
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:36:36 AM

ohhhhh sh*t, good news while high is f*ckin wonderful
masKritic writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:58:42 AM

if they want to continue with xmen the should do Xmen Origins: Deadpool and leave Wolverine in the past. Marvel has so many opportunities to make films with the Origin concept but if they start ruining it like they did with Wolverine, they won't have the chance to make awesome films. Deadpool, Gambit, and if they want to continue with Magneto than thats fine but find good direction because Gavin Hood didn't know exactly how to develop the characters and the story. I wish them the best of luck with future movie plans.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:02:51 AM

Is there a reason one should look forward to this? You guys all hated Wolverine, and this will be the same studio. I'm just curious... why the high expectations? Paul W.S. Anderson will probably end up directing it.
RepoMan20 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:29:28 AM

pleeeeeese do Deadpool right, glad he's getting a movie, just do it right
whoever writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:45:13 AM

No, I think they will give directing to Brett Ratner. After all this is Fox!!!!
Ari Gold writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 5:16:07 AM

there was an article like a week ago some donner bitch (from Fox) said Singer would be keen to do this.. I hope they dont f*ck this up!
acslaterson writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:34:17 AM

Tarantino or maybe Ben Stiller to direct? Stiller proved he could do action with Tropic Thunder. Oh and Deadpool's body has already started rejecting what was done to him, that is why his eye lids grew back and his mouth was normal at the end of the credits. 1st ten minutes of the Deadpool movie I want those swords to fall out and him to say "Who was the dumbass that did that! I couldn't bend my arms!" Haha, or something funnier then that. I am obviously not a comedian. Oh and Deadpool video game based off of the comics by the same company that did the movie tie in game(which was better then the actual movie)! ;-) X-men Origins project lead Dan Vondrak: http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3174049
pdfleming81 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:38:58 AM

I couldn't agree more with the first comment. Let's keep all of the attributes that made "Elektra" one of the worst Marvel movies ever made out of the upcoming "Deadpool". Considering Deadpool's character,profession, and storyline, this movie will have to be rated with a HARD R. Which is why myself and countless others hope that the movie goes to Robert Rodriguez, who has proven time and time again that he has the skills to direct such a movie.
Jeds writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 8:12:07 AM

I guess X Men Origins: Wolverine proved to Fox they can make sub-standard movies and still make money. They're going to milk this cash cow for a loooooooong time...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 8:44:23 AM

f*ck yes! cant wait!! he was perfect for that role!
Satan Kid writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:43:15 AM

Once again marvel will make a sub standard version of an established ass kicker. Daredevil became a second string spiderman,Hulk became an oversized Shrek, Spideman himself became a whiny emo by part 3 and Wolverine became a tall lean leading man...Maybe deadpool will just spank people intead of killing them. Maybe he wont even be disfigured.Maybe just a case of sunburn. Afterall they wouldnt want to waste the goog looks(snicker)of Ryan Reynolds on something like continuity
dwightschrute writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:49:35 AM

A spin off from a spin off...NICE!
DEADPOOL300 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:31:35 PM

PLEEEEEEEESE!Dont use the Wolverine director!Make it a serious film with more grown up action and serious acting.Dont go back to those goofy cheesy superheroes films in the 90s,just like the Wolverine film was going towards.I thought we were past all that!
c-prime writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:36:13 PM

Anybody mind spoiling the Deadpool themed "Easter eggs" at the end of the flick? 'Cause I'm sure as sh*t never watching it again.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:14:08 PM

Everyone talks sh*t about Elektra... well it did suck but it was waaaaaayyyyyyyyyy better than Daredevil... of course Herpes is better than AIDS but that doesn't mean you should try to get it.
KaloVisor writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:18:12 PM

This could be one of the best spin-off films ever, if they don't scow it up, after seeing Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool, I don't the anyone else could be better for the part.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:29:10 PM

2 Eben1277 - LOL... nice. Well, Deadpool was after my time in comics. With all the chatter on here I suspect he's quite the interesting character. I like Ryan Reynolds, you all seem to like Deadpool... this should be good.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:56:08 PM

crap, crap, pure crap no more, please let this movie fail in the box office, hollywood must stop this crap wave of spin-off before some one get hurts
timex89 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:59:29 PM

Awesome! Now waiting for Gambit spin-off announcement. But seriously, what was wrong with Wolverine? I liked it alot. It's not stupid like those "Meet the Spartans" and "diasaster Movie" crap. I liked most actors portraying characters such as Wolverine, Sabertooth and Wade/Deadpool. And I agree with you, a Deadpool game would also be superb. Finally a movie-to-game success!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:45:26 PM

Oh f*ckin' great...By monday, "X-men origins: Blob" should be in full f*ckin' swing...Oh happy day!!! This news makes me wanna punch a nun!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:55:36 PM

READ THE PACKAGE WARNING (actionfigure): 'NunPunching' is habit forming. (grroannnnn).
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:13:23 PM

i'll say that it's cool deadpool and gambit of all characters get their own movie...but am still pissed that apocalypse is not getting in there anytime soon
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:33:41 PM

Ranger-LOL. This true about as habit forming as taint punching. But, at taint punching is just funny to watch.
jjjjjoey writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:50:45 PM

f*ck Deadpool. Do Magneto, then one more sequel to cap the series off.
masKritic writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:53:36 PM

ha i think Blob would be better than Wolverine turned out
dwight writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:54:34 PM

f*ck all this spin of sh*t. Wolverine 2 Ok, but all this Deadpool, Gambit stuff hell no. Why is Fox so hell bent against making a X4.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 4:55:37 PM

Sweet
acslaterson writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 5:08:33 PM

Magneto is the stupidest idea ever for an origin movie. One question, how are characters introduced in the comics? They appear in a popular book and if they are liked then they get there own book. Wolvie appeared in Hulk in what, 1974? He didn't get his first solo series until 1982. These movies are doing the same thing, introducing characters for their own series.
acslaterson writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 5:10:06 PM

@Synthetic- Hahaha, you love you some Apocalypse don't you!
Gunslinger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 5:26:15 PM

Will he still be radio-controlled?
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:01:00 PM

reason i'm so fixated on seeing apocalypse is cause 20th century fox is so f*cking pathetic....magneto as the bad guy for 1 movie was quite enough...but they did it for 1 and 3....and 2 and wolverine have stryker as the bad guy....sorry but that's just really cheap to me...it's lower than the lowest that 20th century fox could go....geez at least spiderman had a different villain for each film...what really gets me is this.....remember the scene after the end credits in X3?...where charles is alive in that different body?....but they didn't continue for X4....instead they give us origin movies, starting with wolverine, they show us secret endings like in X3, but move onward with them and not X4 still....i can't even begin to describe just how low that is to me....my point is, 20th century fox seems to think characters like apocalypse aren't 'real' enough, so they'll do all this other sh*t, and then come back to it after, but it would probably be too late for actors like patrick stewart to reprise their roles by the time they were ready to do that
the_tortel writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:51:26 PM

Godspeed Ryan Reynolds!!! Keep on doing what you're doing, he was magic as Wade, couldn't be more impressed with his(albeit short-lived) performance.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 7th, 2009 at 4:12:30 PM

i'm guessing deadpool never gets a mask?....as long as it's in 20th century fox's hands that is
mattcl23 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:58:59 PM

Good because he was poorly used in the Wolverine movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved