WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Rodriguez Says "Barbarella" is Dead

Posted: May 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Rodriguez Says "Barbarella" is DeadSubmit Comment
While speaking to MTV News about the planned Blu-ray release of "Sin City," Robert Rodriguez revealed that his planned "Barbarella" adaptation is officially dead.

"It came to the point where [a company from] Germany offered us a $70 million budget, which would have been by far the biggest budget I ever would have had for a movie," he explained. "But I had to shoot it in Germany and post it in Germany. Nothing against Germany, but I have five kids and I was like, 'God, I don't know if we can do that. I don't know if I can be away that long.'"

He continued: "It was a real bummer. We had all this artwork and screen tests of what it would look like. It was a really cool, R-rated, sexy — almost like that [1981 animated] movie, 'Heavy Metal'—version of a 'Star Wars' movie. Something that no one ever could get to see. It was gonna be really great."

Rodriguez hopes to one day release the artwork just so fans can see what he was planning.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:29:06 AM

I'm sure he'll just make it later. I mean he's making Machete for god's sakes.
dub031 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:47:11 AM

wtf?? is this dude serious??? 70Mil and he's "not sure he could stay away that long"??? I mean Im all for the fam but c'mon robert, just take the kids with u for a year wtf??? he could do sum serious damage with a budget like that! wie schade!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 8:43:36 AM

damn!!! I wanted to see this! but atleast it makes sense ya know.. he's thinking of his kids
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 8:45:15 AM

p.s.--- I'm sure eventually he'll come back and do it or someone else will pick it up and he'll produce it so I'm sure it'll sit & wait to be picked up again with a budget that huge
acslaterson writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:15:26 AM

I just wanted to see some boobies...
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 10:51:03 AM

This sound suspicious.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:53:46 PM

This is the movie that coulda made Megan Fox a " Sam's Happy Time/Household" Name. LOL.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 6:41:32 PM

For a man who usually films, edits, and adds effects to theatrical films in his garage...I can understand why he wouldnt want to stay in Germany the entire production...RR has a formula- why take him out of his element? If they were serious about financing his film they should have let him do the post where he has done it since he was 23 years old...why disrupt a process thats proven to be cheaper AND high quality every single time?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved