WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Trek" Crew Discuss Possible Sequel

Posted: May 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Trek" Crew Discuss Possible SequelSubmit Comment
ComingSoon had the chance to speak to director JJ Abrams, producer Damon Lindelof and screenwriters Alex Kurtzman and Robert Orci about a possible "Star Trek" sequel.

"It would be incredible fun to get to do it again," said Abrams. "It is also insanely presumptuous to assume that it will work when it's out there, that people will like it, and that there will be a need for another one. If there is, the good news is that there's a deal for the writers and a deal for the actors. It's in place. We have not had one meeting. We have not had one discussion. There's no outline. There's no script. There's nothing. We're fishing for ideas."

Lindelof added: "Alex, Bob and I are going to be writing it together. We've started preliminary talks with JJ, but obviously it's almost jinxing it to get too far down the road."

Regarding whether the idea is to use some familiar storylines, Lindelof said: "I think that everybody is expecting us to do "Okay, now it's the continuing adventures of the Starship Enterprise, so they can start doing the stories"... Our approach to those stories will be from an entirely different angle. Hopefully the old fans will go "Oh, wow. That looks familiar to me." But then suddenly we zig instead of zagging. Or we warp instead of going impulse power."

Finally, the site mentioned that if the character of Khan is ever used that Javier Bardem (No Country for Old Men) should be cast. "Did you know we've actually mentioned that out loud as a possibility? What a great idea," said Orci, with Lindelof adding: "That's a no-brainer. That would be the most amazing thing ever."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
blinkbomber writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:49:22 PM

Javier Bardem would be great.
blinkbomber writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:49:36 PM

Javier Bardem would be great.
blinkbomber writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:51:14 PM

^^^^my first comment ever, figures i'd screw it up! lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:52:40 PM

as cool as it sounds seeing a new khan...i'd rather not...these people may be launching a new star trek...but they didn't create it...just as long as they remember that, i don't care where they take it
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:39:05 PM

No kidding. Do NOT bring Khan in it! It was done just fine in ST2! You're starting a new Star Trek... how about something (oh, I don't know)... NEW?!?!?!?! The comics kept Superman in (pretty) original stories since 1938, I'm sure these people could give it a shot!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:43:27 PM

Please let him keep the airgun
Luminus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:36:50 PM

Oh, I have an idea! How about a villain that, get this, we've never seen before? Or at least one that's never been used in a Trek movie, before. Oh, I'm sorry. Is that too much to ask for from Hollywood?
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:50:35 PM

I stopped watching all Star Trek's after "The Next Generation."
Necronullus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:54:35 PM

If anything, they should do something with the Klingons. Although it was said and established nothing ever was ever seen over the war they had before it became a huge space "cold war" for the OTS. Thats what they should do... oh and yes Javier would be bad ass as a Klingon but not Khan there is only one Khan and that is well we all know. But yes oh and one more thing... NO HEAD RIDGES lol
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:35:59 PM

ok...i am assuming this new movie starts everything over....I would like to see new stories than a rehash of old stories.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:48:30 PM

I could see Bardem, hes a great actor and I think a sequel would also be badass because this ones looks to be amazing and is gonna make some major $$$$
dhkenobi writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:03:04 PM

I would also like to see the Klingons more. I'd also like to see more of the Borg.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:35:55 PM

I like the title of this posting: 'Possible' sequel...lol... like there may not be one... oi!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved