WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Idris Elba Wants to be James Bond

Posted: May 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Idris Elba Wants to be James BondSubmit Comment
Puff Daddy already made it clear that he wants to be the first black James Bond, but now he has a bit of competition. Idris Elba (RocknRolla, Obsessed) has revealed to The Guardian that he believe he's the right man for the job.

"I can run around, flirt with ladies and drink. Plus I'm English," he said. "Who wouldn't like to play Bond? Do I think it will happen? No, but I've got what it takes to do it."

Daniel Craig (Casino Royale, Quantum of Solace) also believes that the next Bond should be black. "After Barack Obama's victory I think we might have reached the moment for a colored 007," he previously revealed. "I think the role is well suited to a colored actor because the character created by Ian Fleming in the 1950s has gone through many changes."

Do you think Idris Elba should be the next James Bond?

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
brandonegc writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:27:36 PM

I don't see what's wrong with the formula already. I mean if we get a colored 007 - it screws up the continuity of the series. If it does happen, I don't mind. I'd prefer the actor be English. He still has to be a gentleman. Not Puff Daddy who'd probably call the Bond girl his bitch.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:46:26 PM

^^ hahaha that last part was hilarious
makingcircles writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:52:34 PM

Maybe he could do the opposite of Robert Downey Jr. in Tropic Thunder and go white.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:53:51 PM

First and foremost, the character is white and should stay that way. Just my opinion. You don't see white/or asain.etc. lining up to play Shaft or something. It just doesn't make sense. I didn't even really think getting Michael Clarke Duncan to play Kingpin in Daredevil was a good call. That character is white. Although Michael Clarke Duncan is was fantastic fit because of his size....I still didn't think it was the right call. To that end, I also wouldn't want a white actor to play Black Panther if they ever had him in a film either. That character is black and should stay that way. BUT going with the black Nick Fury (who appears in the Ultimate line of Marvel comics) I really like. I love that character in those books and I'm glad Marvel films has decided to go that route. Now to answer WP question, if the producers of the Bond series do decided to go with a black actor, I wouldn't mind seeing Idris Elba. He's a fantastic actor and had the chops that Bond requires. All in all I just think characters should stay the way they are, no matter what race they are.
Gunslinger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:00:35 PM

I don't care, so long as it's a good script, and it's not Puff Daddy.
akumavern writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:07:51 PM

Why does race have to be an issue with a character whose been around for so long and has always been and will be white? He was white in the books, he should be white on film. Why change that? Dude, just play a black Jesus, but you'd probably have Kanye beating down the door for that role...
JRprime writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:23:42 PM

no no no no. im sorry. i am not in any way racist, but if James Bond was played by a black man it would absolutely kill the character. James Bond is a white british man. you just CANNOT change that. It would be the same thing as making Superman black. absolutely not. (anyone who is for a black James Bond..I hope you're happy when the new Bond car is a blacked out Escalade with spinners)
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:40:14 PM

He should be putting his name out there for Black Panther or John Stewart for Green Lantern 3(hopefully it will do that well)!
Gunslinger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:48:36 PM

Go ahead. Keep Bond white if you want, but by the same token you'll have to change all those pictures of Jesus, too, 'cause I'm pretty sure he didn't look anything like Ted Nugent.
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:06:04 PM

^^^Hahaha, nice!
Luminus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:21:16 PM

@JRprime who said "anyone who is for a black James Bond..I hope you're happy when the new Bond car is a blacked out Escalade with spinners" :
You're a frakin' racist. I don't agree that Bond should be changed to a black man, but what you said is highly offensive. Maybe if you'd quit taking MTV and the Boondocks seriously and actually spend time with various black people in the real world, you'd clear up that ridiculously ignorant outlook that you have.
Luminus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:22:53 PM

And what's with the use of the word "colored?" Is Daniel Craig even living in the same century as the rest of us? Give me a frakkin' break!
renzzoe writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:25:26 PM

WOW! Really people? If the actor (Black, White, Asian) is a great actor and has the talent to play such a character. I think he should be given the opportunity to do so. I have to ask: Are we really that small mined?
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:27:06 PM

Luminus.... you need to get over yourself... people who have rasism in their minds actually turn comments into racists comments... i took his comment as a joke... you should calm down kid....
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:29:21 PM

renzzoe, so you;re telling me that we can take the most influential actor (white) of our time.... and have him play MLK??!! and that'd be acceptable to you?? as long as he "filled" the role correcty?? sorry, but that is the most ridiculous thing i've heard... there are certain racial boundries when it comes to iconic figures... whether fictional or non... end of story
Luminus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:38:46 PM

@Projekt SHIN:

First of all, I'm not a kid. Second, what does someone have to do to be a racist? Kill somebody? What he said was racist. Some things just aren't funny. Intelligent adults would understand this.
renzzoe writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:39:49 PM

Projekt SHIN, Are seriously comparing James Bond to Dr Martin Luther King Jr? That's the most ridiculous...
bacci40 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:40:59 PM

dont know about bond, but elba could easily play a secret agent who beds the ladies...the man has true screen presence
Luminus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:41:57 PM

@Projekt SHIN:

It is also interesting that you thought he was joking, when there is no indication anywhere in his post of such an assumption. Where does it say he was joking? I don't see an "LOL," do you?
dodo writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:51:59 PM

@Projekt Shin ... How can you compare MLK Jr. to James Bond?!?! Blasphemy! That's like comparing an apple to a unicorn! omg... lol!
Gunslinger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:08:15 PM

Dude, Ben Kingsley played Gandhi, and that movie kicked ass.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:11:30 PM

I'm black and I totally against a black Bond that is like having an Asian Superman or something else. Just because Obama is the first black President doesn't mean we start changing everything, we mite as well have a white Blade right? what do you think would happen if they did that? people would be pissed because they changed the character for there *actors* benefit it's not something fans want FOR SURE! to see there character changed from whatever comic,book or source the character came from.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:21:04 PM

Well, Bond has been described as a white guy, really can't change it. But if for some reason this does happen, Idris Elba will be my first and only choice. The day Puff Daddy or P Diddy whatever that tool wants to call himself, is the day the world looses all it's sense
Luminus writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:24:11 PM

Hillary put however many million cracks in the glass ceiling, so they should make Bond a woman. It's time. lol.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:54:18 PM

no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:01:58 PM

sure i frankly dont give a flying f*ck about it.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:30:31 PM

JAMES BOND IS WHITE!!!!!!!!!!! just leave it alone
JRprime writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 11:00:56 PM

Luminus, youre totally right. I forgot my roommate for 3 years is black. And i guess i watch mtv or hang out at the boondocks. honestly youre more of a racist thinking everything people say is racist.
autiger10 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 11:14:23 PM

ian fleming would roll in his grave. did anyone know that flemings brother went looking for the lost city of Z in the amazon jungle? a friend told me he was reading this book and sh*t about that
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 11:49:17 PM

waffle man...i know a guy who pretty much said the same exact thing as you just did....and he's black too haha...next thing you know, hollywood starts making biopics of jimmy hendrix as a white guy or bob marley as hispanic or something lol...yea james bond and other famous characters should not be meddled with in that manner
Foop writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:48:56 AM

Idris Elba in whiteface. yessss.
jik009 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 9:01:15 AM

I find it interesting that everyone is comparing this to biopics. James Bond is not a real person, so comparing this to MLK, Hendrix, etc makes no sense. That being said, there are certain characters that shouldn't be touched. Bond is one of them, along with Bruce Wayne, Clark Kent, and Peter Parker. It's not that another race couldn't/shouldn't play them, it's just not who they are. The Blade comparison made earlier is a perfect example.
dwightschrute writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 11:03:36 AM

It could work, I mean he's british and all.
rocketman writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 11:37:54 AM

ENGLISH? as in anglo-saxon?as in a decendent of the northen tribes of the Angles and the Saxons from northen Germania and the southen borders of Denmark? i don't f*cking think so!any way James Bond is of Scottish and Swiss(i think) ancestry,not African.Can i please star in a film about Martin Luther King?or the life of James Brown?NO ?why not?is it coz i'm WHITE!SAME DIFFERENCE.it is insulting to ethnic English folk.British mate not English.
Vega writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 11:55:58 AM

You people take your Bond way too seriously. Ruin the continuity of the series? If there was continuity shouldn't Bond be like 80 years old by now? They changed "M" from a man to a woman, why not have a black Bond. There's an interesting theory to explain the movies in that "James Bond" is just the code name for 007. Each 00 has an assigned name and personality. All the different actors playing Bond in the movies can be explained by those "Bond"'s either retiring or being KIA and they promote some new guy. It would explain the beginning of Casino Royale when this new "Bond" performs his 2nd kill to be promoted to 00 status and becomes the new 007 while the same "M" who has been in several previous movies is still there. Brosnan's "Bond" is dead and they needed a new one.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:20:16 PM

Vega - Yeah, a buddy of mine explained that theory to me a few years back. It's kind of fun actually. In it his idea was that Sean Connery should come back and play a Bond villain, and with this "continuity" he would be an Old James Bond - angry they made him retire - now you have Bond vs. Bond. That would be a good flick!!!
rocketman writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:20:48 PM

Christopher Lee was Ian Flemings choice of who should play Bond(his real name hence the family crest that states The World is Not Enough)read the books Vega it clearly states what Bond looks like and his heritage.What next Harry Potter?
Eben1277 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:40:33 PM

Who really gives a sh*t? I say it should be Sam Jackson, SEan Connery played Bond, He's Scottish, and Sam Jackson wore a kilt in Formula 51, makes perfect sense to me. Don Cheadle had a good "british" accent in the Ocean movies. And the Normans (VIkings!) whooped the Angle-Saxons' asses in 1066, so what difference does it make if people say Idris Elba is English.If he is from ENGLAND, he is ENGLISH, regardless of heritage. And all Sicilians are part black, I'm not going to repeat the word Dennis Hopper used.
rocketman writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:00:01 PM

i give a sh*t.
Vega writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 5:49:30 PM

rocketman, were talking about the movies here. In the books we know it was one guy and that's who he was, but the movies have long since jumped from the books. You could even say the personality and back story that each "new" Bond takes was based on the original Bond and they're just keeping the name and reputation alive by recuiting new ones to replace the other "Bond"'s when they die/retire.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:26:26 PM

@ Luminus first of all....KID..... intelligent and mature adults are able to disinguish between stereotypical comments vs. racial comments... know the difference kid....
defmike writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 7:39:28 PM

I don't see why we should make Bond black? I mean i get what companies are trying to do by making this change, but its like why fix what ain't broken. But if they do decide to, Idris Elba is a good choice. Like he said "Im English" Plus i have seen him in a few flicks, dude is a decent actor. I will give him that. P Diddy... NO!!! I mean last i checked P Diddy can't act. Did anyone see Carlitos Way the beginning or whatever? He was like man im gonna be like Tony Montana, but for Carlitos way. P Diddy SUCKS as a actor.
gbritt06 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 11:01:00 PM

I guess Mr. Craig is bringing the term COLORED back in style? Or am I the only one who sees a problem with him saying colored 007?
onestell writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:55:23 AM

If memory serves, Pierce Brosnan once said that Colin Salmon (GoldenEye, RESIDENT EVIL, tv's KEEN EDDIE) had the chops to play the part.
RideThisBlackCowboy writes:
on June 6th, 2009 at 10:18:46 AM

I should be the first black James Bond.I'm Canadian,not British,and at 56-July 6-I'm sure my age would preclude me from consideration,but I'm considered to possess the classically handsome looks of a black cowboy,so I could bring a sort of Western edge to the role.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved