WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daniel Craig Says Most Scripts are Crap

Posted: May 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daniel Craig Says Most Scripts are CrapSubmit Comment
If you believe that the people in Hollywood remake and reboot too many movies and lack originality, Daniel Craig would agree with you. The "Quantum of Solace" star has revealed to STV that even though he has hit it big by starring in the new James Bond movies, the scripts that he has been getting for other projects have not become any better.

"I do get more offers. Or at least I get to see more scripts," he said. "But they're just as crap as they were before. There are only so many good scripts out there, genuinely."

He continued: "Somebody doesn't suddenly give you a golden key that opens this door and all these scripts are sitting there, that nobody else has seen. You might get a better look in, but there's still the work to do. I wish there was a golden key to some cupboard with 10 good scripts in it."

Source: STV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:09:25 AM

"Instead I get a cupboard full of scripts like The Invasion and, well, I gotta eat you know." added Craig.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:28:54 AM

^^ haha that was gold
BobMcBob writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:32:58 AM

then try writing a script yourself, you ungrateful bastard
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:22:25 AM

He has had some good projects, Layer Cake , Munich, etc. I never saw Golden Compass and The Invasion was pretty bad. I imagine that he is like a real life Vinny Chase when it comes to scripts, haha.
horrorfan005 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:36:17 AM

You in that last Bond movie now that was CRAP,well wait no it was a sh*t BAG
buttabean writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:03:05 AM

Maybe there's crap because hollywood has a very select few of writers they choose to use majority of the time to rewrite scripts into crapfests.
Sinestro writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:20:51 AM

You did Quantum of Solace, you prick. You don't get to talk about sh*tty scripts.
Kid_A writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:58:35 AM

Although it's true, Hollywood needs to make remakes and reboots in order to earn money and make other bravely projects, otherwise all the scripts would be crap. But some remakes, and sequels really crap, so the producers should be warned!
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:27:31 AM

Just because Craig has been in bad movies doesn't mean that he doesn't have a right to criticize Hollywood. The fact that a person that seems pretty selective about his work has done some real stinkers seems to bolster his point that Hollywood is unoriginal and most scripts should never see the screen. Come on, people, you criticize bad movies all day but a guy within the business has "no right" to? Sounds logical to me.
BREALZ writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:59:54 AM

He should know, he's been in 90% of them.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 11:13:01 AM

Hey Bond, How bout a key u stick up ur ass that makes u WRITE these good scripts u so deeply seek...f*ckin' actor...that's right, u f*ckin' taint...not thespian or star...I said "ACTOR" Maybe this "Golden Key" can be use by the next bond villain to use in some "Master Dommsday Device" to erase that great scirpt of blandness called "WTF of Solace" aka "CUT SCENES" from Casino Royale.
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:06:04 PM

He sounds smart and its true.
MRW007 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:39:11 PM

how about all of you on here GO f*ck YOURSELFS!!
bacci40 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:45:41 PM

hey dan, tell us something we dont know....hollywood is run by the accountants and writers write for them...not the gen audience
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:07:58 PM

yeah he has been in nothing but well written movies for his career....jerk
Adamtheflash writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:30:57 PM

he's right
DisasterBlaster writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:39:17 PM

Everytime I see Craig in a movie, I can only see the weasle from Road to Perdition.
mattcl23 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:17:55 PM

Fox must send him a script ever week. Everyone knows how bad those are. haha.
Gunslinger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:53:47 PM

Hey, hey, easy guys. He's making a point, not necessarily referencing his body of work, and it's a pretty good one. I think we've got more good actors out there than scripts, in the mainstream, anyway. I mean, come on. Righteous Kill? Pacino's and De Niro are f*cking living legends, and the best someone can hand those two for a co-starring vehicle is that sh*t-storm? And what else are they getting lately? 88 Minutes? What Just Happened? Looks like these guys gotta eat, too. And Brando? The Godfather, not to mention Superman's father? And what was his last movie? The Score? Granted he needed a stunt double when they wanted him to stand up, but still. It'd be nice if someone in Hollywood could hand Pacino a Pacino-worthy script sometime before he goes the way of The Wild One.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 7:15:23 PM

yea that's true...daniel craig is no al pacino....but he does make an excellent point...there are so many great stories out there...but i have a feeling our generation is just getting started on fixing this
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:43:40 PM

he seems like such an ass... but he probably speaks some truth and he's a good Bond so ya get what ya get
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:41:51 AM

2 Gunslinger - good you turned the tone of this thread around. Good points you've made. And we have all fueled bad movie making (script-wise) when we voted with our approval via buying a ticket. And Hollywood IS the example that movies don't have to be perfect for them to make billion$. Daniel Craig is being one of the few, honest people speaking up about this. That's a risk in this business... for if you piss off someone, you'll never know when they don't hire you (but it happens).
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:39:56 AM

i just feel that he makes a valid point but I don't like that because he thinks so highly of himself that he has the right to say other peoples work is crap. I bet there are tons of scripts out there that are poorly written, but it is not his job to bring down the work of so many individuals. If he feels that he shouldn't do a movie cause the script is bad so be it, just he needs to keep it to himself.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 3:10:16 AM

Well... public or private person, I think he's allow to express himself, it's his right. As for doing movies himself (even with a bad script)... I wouldn't turn down the $'s they pay him. As for thinking highly of himself, I suspect he does too. But it's served him well to get him where he is today.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:28:46 PM

...and Craig's right.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:22:53 PM

Who's posting on here, a bunch of failed writers? The guy is right. He doesn't even come off as conceited in his statement, just matter of fact.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:18:46 PM

I think (JUST MY OPINION) the bashing thing on these sites (and the comradeship that can accompany it) snowballs on here. Personally, I think DC is a breath of fresh air in Hollywood. A touch of class (not just in the Bond pics) that doesn't hurt the business. And we certainly shouldn't shake the guy down for just expressing his thoughts. Funny... on an episode of 'House' - Dr. House asked someone who is the best Bond: Connery or Craig...lol, my 2 fav's (George Lazenby for 3rd.). But good on Craig for spiking up Bond to the Connery era + making him 21st. century. I have not problem with his comments here. I suggest to people that when someone says something... sometimes your reaction may not be because you don't like what they say as much as that person is hitting the nail on the head and speaking too close to the truth. All the complaints (comments) I've read here on this site about all movies (Wolverine lately, etc.) have NEVER been about the performances... ever! But ALWAYS about the story (ie: script). In that alone Craig here is 100% correct.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 2:24:25 PM

In addition: don't make the common mistake of taking one's 'confidence' for what appears to be labeled more often than not) 'arrogance.' I don't believe anyone here knows DC personally, and just because he speaks with an accent, he could quite possibly be the most down to earth sh*t anyone of us could ever meet.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 6:47:05 PM

It's a well known fact that A list actors get crappy scripts...he's not saying anything 95% of Hollywood wouldnt agree with anyways...and the 5 percent remaining are those who were nominated or won oscar this year...so they put their bitching on hold for a year while they roll around in Benjamin Button or Milk... B movies have less to lose so usually those are more interesting scripts as they have less to lose and more to experiment with. A list, expensive films need to stick to proven formulas that make money returns.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved