WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Wolverine 2" Officially in Development

Posted: May 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Wolverine 2" Officially in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
Variety is reporting that Hugh Jackman and his Seed Productions partner John Palermo are already in development on a sequel to "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," which topped the domestic box office over the weekend.

The Seed partners have begun planning and talking to writers about the sequel, which they are squarely focusing on the samurai storyline originated in the comic series, and whose Japanese locale was teased after the film's final credits. A writer has yet to be hired.

Jackman previously spoke of the Japanese saga from the comic book. "There are so many areas of that Japanese story," he said. "I love the idea of this kind of anarchic character, the outsider, being in this world I can see it aesthetically, too full of honor and tradition and customs and someone who's really anti-all of that, and trying to negotiate his way. The idea of the samurai, too and the tradition there. It's really great. In the comic book he gets his ass kicked by a couple of samurai not even mutants. He's shocked by that at first."

Click here to read our "Wolverine" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Eben1277 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 5:37:45 AM

Just please get some better behind the scenes people this time around. people that actually care about the characters
leezy84 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 5:59:56 AM

i thought the movie was ok ...but im tired of wolverine ... he was the main actor in all three x men movies ... and u got flashbacks of his origins in the second one....MAKE THE f*ckING DEADPOOL MOVIE
thomas deadison writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:05:48 AM

Give up the rights, Fox.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:32:52 AM

As long as they can get Liev Schriber to return as Sabertooth and Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool in the sequal, i am down with this
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:38:30 AM

Well durrrrr. My girlfriend took me last night(I made her pay, she is the one that wanted to see Jackman and Reynolds) and was lucky enough to get the Deadpool ending this time. Like I said before, they don't have to worry about cameos this time. Silver Samurai, Mariko, and maybe Sunfire. That's it! Maybe throw in The Hand and you have a Kill Bill style movie with Wolvie! Make some sh*t up about a ceremonial costume and you finally get the orange and black costume on the big screen! Tell you what Hugh, hire me to direct! Hahaha.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:30:35 AM

just have dead pool and i will be happy
makingcircles writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:58:57 AM

acslaterson ...that's a great idea. I'd be down with seeing that as a sequel.
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:34:37 AM

Yay, another movie for the world to pirate indiscriminately! Keep digging yourself deeper, Fox, I'm liking your commitment...
dwightschrute writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:34:45 AM

replace Gavin Hood pls. Love the guy, Tsotsi is awesome, but his eye for action is just piss poor.
burpie writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 10:48:39 AM

If they'd do most of the stuff better than recently there are chances the movie could become good. But come on - what are the chances?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 11:20:08 AM

Uwe Boll...here's ur chance...I don't think he could honestly jack this up more...or could he???
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:01:55 PM

Does Hugh ever sleep?! Pretty soon they'll be swapping Chuck Norris' name out of all those internet jokes and inserting Hugh Jackman (I know, sacrilege... sorry guys).
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:03:57 PM

Great, more insult to injury.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:14:02 PM

Ranger...C'mon man...Chuck Norris can hear everything after he's done slamming a revolving door he might be caoming for u...do the FEMA/New Orleans EVAC plan...run muthaf*cka run!! And if u do see him, watch out he has a third fist under his beard!!
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:29:43 PM

What they did to Deadpool (spoiler) was ridiculous and really pissed me off. I went to see the Merc With the Mouth and they didn't deliver. The comic book story is just fine. Plz stop tampering with characters. Tell it how it was written.
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:34:46 PM

AF - lol. I was only speculating that someone ELSE may do that... certainly not myself. Chuck's roundhouse's are like nukes!
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:38:14 PM

like i said before...people my age will either be old farts or dead by the time they're ready to put apocalypse on screen....i love wolverine as a character...but i think we've seen enough...they never cared enough about x-men to just continue with 4, 5, and 6 instead of a bunch of origin movies
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:45:56 PM

"A writer has yet to be hired"?? Did they use writers the last times around?? A 11 year-old fisting his own to the "High School Musical 3" soundtrack while doodling paragraphs on c*cktail napkin about how many times he can get "Huge Jack-off" to go shirtless is not writing!! I should know...cause my f*ckin' taint is still raw and bleeding!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:58:52 PM

and since when is x-men no longer based on the original comics...now we're looking towards japanese versions of x-men??...a new low even for jackman....sorry but wolverine is not a f*cking samurai...don't f*cking look into it....or on 2nd thought...nevermind....do whatever cuz by the time they're ready to do apocalypse, you'll no longer be able to play wolverine....if this is seriously the direction they are gonna go with x-men, then in that case, 20th century fox and hugh jackman, to me, have stepped into a position that is worse than mcg trying to compare d*ck sizes with michael bay
BurmaShave writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 2:10:07 PM

Seed Partners? I thought Hugh was just good at playing like he swung that way on Broadway...
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 2:12:24 PM

^^^Synthetic, Have you never read the very first arc of Wolverine's first solo comic? It is set in Japan and deals with Mariko and the honor of the samurai...http://www.marvel.com/digitalcomics/titles/Wolverine.1982.1
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 2:37:20 PM

to acslaterson...no i haven't...i just don't like where they are headed with wolverine....they made him the main character for 4 movies now...i wanna see apocalypse already....not wolverine sequels....wanna know what i thought sucked about deadpool?....he's controlled via stryker through a computer now...wtf? and then in the deadpool ending he suddenly has 'free will' again?...20th century fox is f*cking stupid....i wish i knew who was behind the story and whose decision it was to not follow the comics in the first place so i can beat the living sh*t out of him day in and day out till he f*cking decides to make it right....but honestly i lost all hope with x-men after watching number 3....as long as x-men is under 20th century fox's control, they will keep screwing fans out of their wishes
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 2:56:40 PM

my point is simply this....while that may be entertaining to the general movie going public....most fans don't care because most fans want to see popular mutants fighting each other and kicking ass...but we already know just how much screen time everyone else will get once again...as well as how much effort will be put into the cgi work too
thedudeman69 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 2:59:00 PM

Deadpool is so coming back in this
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 3:09:08 PM

i know for a fact x-men would be much more captivating if michael bay were directing...for instance, instead of 1 puny sentinal, like in X3, bay would have like 1000....or at least more than 60(transformers 2 haha)...and if he can give those characters decent screen time with their fight scenes...i dunno...it's just sad to see 20th century fox couldn't do the same when they could have...i would have been fine with the wolverine movie...but it simply wasn't long enough for one, and not enough fight scenes with the characters for two, too much sabretooth for three, especially since they were never brothers and now that they are, sabretooth almost gets as much screen time as wolverine because of that....truly that is pathetic
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 3:25:48 PM

Well in the comics Wolvie's Japanese experience helped him to "cage the beast". The adamantium bonding made him bat sh*t crazy. Nota nice guy 5 minutes later like in the movie. They have potential to tell a good story without having to worry about cameos like they did in the last two movies. But it is Fox and some how Magneto or so other duck will pop in out of nowhere. And your Deadpool concern can be easily remedied. His body has already started rejecting what was done to him, his healing factor has kicked in and his eye lids grew back and his mouth returned to normal. sh*t I should be the cleanup director for FOX !
SuluNakamura writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 3:26:40 PM

lol fanboy rant
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 3:50:18 PM

fox sucks...they'll never put characters that some fans are dying to see still...they think it's too similar to this or that, they mess up the looks on some of our favorite ones, and then they get writers to mess it up of course...what about gambit?...is that the way he was originally in the comics?...i thought his eyes were always red like that...not just when he uses his powers...fox could make bank making movies based on the 90s cartoon but whatever
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 3:56:49 PM

AF - you're a piece of work my friend...lol.
acslaterson writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:37:38 PM

Haha, I am a Deadpool fan boy, not Wolvie. I just have a subscription to Marvel Digital Comics so I have read a lot.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:52:29 PM

I'm not gonna say I was dissapointed in the movie, but it definately wasn't all that I had hoped. Ryan Reynolds was ok but he really is kinda gay. I just kept thinking, Wow this would be awesome if he was the main character
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:02:36 PM

2 GrandpasWeiner - well, maybe they'll do a gay X-Men just for you (you KNOW you walked into that one!)!
Gunslinger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:06:52 PM

If only Kurosawa were still alive...
cje615 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 6:23:32 PM

2 Words.....SILVER SAMURAI.
masKritic writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:41:38 PM

They're only in it for the money now. f*ck em. I'm not going to see anymore X-Men films in theatres. Leave me disappointed once, shame on you, leave me disappointed twice, go f*ck yourselves you f*cking *sshole d*cks.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:45:11 PM

FUUUUCCCK YEAAH!!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:48:35 PM

p.s.--- make GAMBIT & DEADPOOL movies also... like sooon!
autiger10 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 11:05:55 PM

i thought deadpool got his head cut-off?
acslaterson writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:06:41 AM

Deadpool has had his head cut off by Wolvie in the comics and had his head cut off in the latest issue of his series by a member of the Thunderbolts.
lokopr writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 12:14:05 AM

just let zach snyder do it and its gonna be ok...he wanted to do the first one, and they didnt let him, instead they went for gavin hood...perfect choice right FOX??
masKritic writes:
on May 6th, 2009 at 1:37:08 AM

zack snyder knows his sh*t ^^good call

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved