WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

McG Says "Terminator 5" Will Take Place Present Day

Posted: May 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
McG Says "Terminator 5" Will Take Place Present DaySubmit Comment
The upcoming "Terminator Salvation" film takes place in 2018 before Skynet figured out a way to time travel and is still in the early stages of converting humans to robots. Meanwhile a war is going on with John Connor (Christian Bale) leading the way against the machines. So where does the franchise go from here?

FilmJournal caught up with director McG to find out if he already has an idea of where the story will go. "I strongly suspect the next movie is going to take place in a [pre-Judgment Day] 2011," he revealed. "John Connor is going to travel back in time and he's going to have to galvanize the militaries of the world for an impending Skynet invasion."

He continued: "They've figured out time travel to the degree where they can send more than one naked entity. So you're going to have hunter killers and transports and harvesters and everything arriving in our time and Connor fighting back with conventional military warfare, which I think is going to be f*cking awesome."

"I also think he's going to meet a scientist that's going to look a lot like present-day Robert Patrick [who famously played the T-1000 in Terminator 2], talking about stem-cell research and how we can all live as idealized, younger versions of ourselves."

Source: FilmJournal


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Aido4258 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:29:29 PM

Awesome, sounds cool.
JakeVermont writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:38:10 PM

WHAT??? time travel to the year 2011??? sounds like total bullsh*t to me!!! this was never mentioned!! they should fight on the f*ckin war to the year 2027 and send back Kyle Reese damn it!!!come on!! John was never send back!!! if they are going in that direction McG will totally mess it up for me!!! What a big sh*t talkin of crap!!! f*ck you McG!!!!
kmccarney88 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:39:35 PM

That sounds good and all but I want to see the future war that was only hinted at in the prologue of T2: Judgement Day! I know it is a little early to say for sure, but based on what I have seen in the trailers for Terminator Salvation there really isn't a lot of "true" post-apocalyptic settings going on. I want to see the former cities in ruins as the battleground between soldiers and machines, with members of the resistance only being able to maneuver through the city by stealthily creeping around undetected by hunter killers and sh*t! I want to see the resistance trying to put up a fight in the what can only be described as a nightmare of Hell on Earth. Even the Terminator ride at Universal Studios was on the right track! So if they travel back to present day, when the hell are we going to see all that? Wasn't that the point of the new trilogy? Either way I am excited for future installments of this franchise! Lets hope Terminator Salvation is as good as McG says it is.
JakeVermont writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:41:47 PM

"They've figured out time travel to the degree where they can send more than one naked entity. So you're going to have hunter killers and transports and harvesters" Are you f*ckin kidding me??? Reese came from the year 2027 and he said NO METAL CAN GO THROUGH!!!! McG you d*ckhead DONT I beg you for Camerons sake!! DONT GO THAT WAY!!!!!! Keep on showing us all what was mentioned!!! The sending back of the terminators and reese, the development of the T-1000 and the T-X and all that!!! See what he is doing?? he thinks he made a great movie and now he's going to mess it up with a f*ckin BULLsh*t Story of his own!!!!!!! Screw YOU Mc f*ckin G!!! sorry but I just cant believe what i read in this article!!!!!!!!
JakeVermont writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:43:45 PM

THIS IS f*ckIN UNBELIEVABLE!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:46:46 PM

yup this is why i sided with cameron in the first place
Kid_A writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 6:03:49 PM

Haven't McG done with Terminator yet?
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 6:26:06 PM

So he's going to go back in time to "galvanize the militaries of the world for an impending Skynet invasion" yet he was supposed to be the guy who fought back when it was all said and done when they were already screwed and working there asses off in factories. Now they get to use the time machine and he gets to fight in our time with his other self? so is there going to be 2 John Connors?? can they go back and forth now?? this is some dumb S*#**@!!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 6:27:04 PM

Dude Jake shut up you fag. "oh my god I just love Terminator so Much! Don't you dare mess it up for me!" Haha You're really that upset?
phijie writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 6:35:30 PM

...the f*ck?
Post_Man_87 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 6:36:23 PM

I think everyone needs to chill out. We haven't even seen the 4th flick yet, and to that end, we don't even know if a 5th is happening for sure. Relax. It sounds like they are still figuring alot of stuff out. Have a little faith. McG has stayed true to the history and has stated on several occasions that he doesn't want to f*ck with the mythology of the series.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:06:43 PM

They sounds like ideas guys, nothing serious. oh question is this film canon with all 3 terminator films or just the first two...and is this set before the events of Terminator 1 or after the events of the Terminator films...if that makes sense
BurmaShave writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:22:11 PM

RISE OF THE MACHINES already changed the canon, everybody relax. McG actually has passion and ideas, and until I see SALVATION, I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:47:45 PM

jesus christ everyone calm the f*ck down! you act like he raped your mothers than sh*t on your photo albums then set the house on fire. He hasnt even set this in stone yet, lets just watch this new one before everyone starts cutting themselves over him "f*cking it up" even though he ISNT!! McG is making this franchise brilliant again! The new one looks fantastic & badass. Who cares if he dosent "follow the exact story" Every director goes their own way one way or another and makes the film their own. Why else would they take it?!? No director takes a franchise and says, "Hmmm.. yeah I'm gonna do what I think they wouldve done 100%" because if that was the case the previous director and creator would be doing it! Use some f*cking common sense and think deep into it and maybe actually watch the new film before pissing yourself with anger.
MrSammich writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 8:03:28 PM

They are f*cking this up. I wouldn't ok the sequel until we see what fans think about some of the things McG does with the Salvation movie first.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 9:16:47 PM

Don't McG, just don't.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 10:20:24 PM

Sounds like this could go either way. It has the potential to be REALLY awesome! Or it could end up making a complete mess out of the terminator franchise. I hope it's the former and not the latter of course. I'm willing to give it a chance. I just love time travel stuff. It's partly why this season of Lost was so awesome in the first half.
frankii writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 10:38:04 PM

what a downer...why mess with a good thing McG?? the terminator story is incredible without your hands messing with it! Stick to what Cameron started, and make the fans happy!!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 10:59:04 PM

don't f*ck us MCG.....just don't f*ck us.....we can't take our dreams and visions that we grew up with be tarnished anymore...please just make it good and stick to canon
Gunslinger writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 11:12:05 PM

Didn't he learn from Heroes that there is such a thing as too much time travel?
jdm42789 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 11:34:33 PM

wasnt robert patrick a cop in the second one not a scientist?
lost_addict writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:03:35 AM

kick your f*ckin ass!!!
vwkombi writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:10:55 AM

That's just bullsh*t. Sarah Connor trains John to be the badass he has to be in order to fight the machines, so McG's solution is to have them disregard the first movie and time travel to make everything good. Deux Ex Machina at its most sucky.
WV-Films writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:44:15 AM

I have a bad feeling about this.....
tolgaboy writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:16:54 AM

just make girl movies full angels
Pepeman writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 8:46:36 AM

"wasnt robert patrick a cop in the second one not a scientist?" Nope, he was an actor.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:18:29 AM

OH Yeah he is doing it again here comes terminator full throttle, im pretty sure he is gonna destroy the franchise, after all is MC Donald!
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:07:18 PM

Sounds good to me.
JakeVermont writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:48:07 PM

@grandpas weiner!! U are a complete douchebag arnt you??? McG didnt work on the Story for T4!!!! John Brancato and Michael Farris wrote the Screenplay for T4!! Thats why its going to be awesome!!! All McG did was to make decisions about the takes and the editing and the Style but NOT THE f*ckIN STORY!! OK? did u f*ckin get that??? If McG puts his hands on the story he will f*ck T5 up totally!!!!! DONT LET HIM!!! PLEASE!! I have no doubt about his great work on T4 the trailers look awesome and the story setup will be too!! Remenber the primary ending with John becoming a machine?? whos dumb idea was that? Could habe been McG's !!?? Please dont include one idea of his for the storyline of T5!!! And yeah I grew up with Terminator its one of my most liked universes I dont want it to end with John traveling back and fight with himself against the machines!! what kind of crappy idiotic idea is that!!
JakeVermont writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:54:04 PM

Just think of Shyamalans "The Happening" great setup full of atmosphere but a bullsh*t story plants killing humans!!! WHAT A f*ck!!! and you know why? he wrote produced and directed it!! young directors should not write storylines and screenplays for movies!! Directors should only be responsible for the look the camera angles and the editing of the movie!! if eastwood writes a screenplay and directs it or cameron writes one and directs it, it will be awesome cuz they know their work but f*ckin McG??? NOOO WAY! he may be a good action director but NO f*ckIN SCREENPLAYWRITER!!! I'm so f*ckin pissed about this!!
SuluNakamura writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 3:20:28 PM

Cry moar, Jake. This isn't even official "this is what we are going to do, for srs gaiz." It's just McG spewing sh*t out of his mouth. It's only an idea! Don't freak out so much.
JakeVermont writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:20:14 PM

I have trust in WB they wont let him do such crap!! i know its sh*t out of his mouth thanks for makin that clear :D a agree with you! But still the sheer mentioning of this idea shows that he may have been the wrong choice. ok the trailers of T4 look so f*ckin cool but how much of that is really McGs work? how much did he have to say? Nobody knows except the Execs. Lets wait for T4!! My fear is that if T4 will be a hit a real moneymaking thing WB might give McG more freedom on future projects and he would f*ck them up! im sure of that the amount of freedom like he had for T4 should do it
mattcl23 writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:32:05 PM

Man, we've seen the pre-judgement day sh*t three times already. Show us what it all came down to. Post judgement day war is a much better route to go.
JakeVermont writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 5:11:59 PM

agree

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved