WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Are "Kill Bill" and "Grindhouse" Masterpieces?

Posted: May 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Are "Kill Bill" and "Grindhouse" Masterpieces?Submit Comment
New York Times caught up with director Quentin Tarantino to talk about his upcoming WWII film "Inglourious Basterds," which will premiere at the Cannes Film Festival later this month.

"This was the hardest movie I've ever made," said Tarantino, adding that he worked very quickly to get the film made because "I wanted to have a masterpiece before the decade's out."

Seems like a strange thing to say considering he also made two "Kill Bill" films and "Grindhouse" this decade. I guess he doesn't consider either of those films masterpieces or as good as "Basterds."

Tarantino also said that one of his favorite films is Bryan Singers "Superman Returns." He loved it so much that he's now hard at work putting together a comprehensive review. "I am a big fan of 'Returns'," he said. "I'm working on what is now a 20-page review of that movie, and I'm not done yet."

Click here to read more about "Inglourious Basterds."

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BrundleFly writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 2:32:51 AM

Of course they're not masterpieces. What part of this article was news in any way?
SpecialKShaw writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 2:37:50 AM

what a c*ck
Cossack writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 3:13:04 AM

No, they are most certainly not. Although Quintin may think so.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 3:35:33 AM

Cossack,

Why would you say Quentin may think so when, right there in the article, he implies they're not, and that Basterds will be.
alexzzzz writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 3:48:57 AM

hell no there not
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 4:07:23 AM

entertaining movies, yes.....masterpieces, absolutely not....a masterpiece would be a story that's most appealing, plot wise and visual wise, and is talked about more than kill bill or grindhouse...titanic is an example of a masterpiece, wizard of oz is another...and poltergeist...eh, but that's just my opinion
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 4:24:27 AM

Poltergeist (1982) Synthetic?! Damn right... that clown scene is classic... well, it all was. Poltergeist impressed me because upon leaving the theater a girl standing next to me had to light up a smoke because she was shaking so badly. Now that's a good horror flick when it does that to the audience. Then there's the: Wallstreet, Shawshank, Braveheart, Gladiator...flicks.
vwkombi writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 4:25:08 AM

Tarantino has never done a masterpiece. His best film, Resivoir Dogs, was far from a masterpiece. He is an extremely over-rated director.
jjjjjoey writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 4:59:15 AM

Grindhouse's presentation was cool. Killbill had alot of style. Maybe in 40 years people will think back and consider one of his movies a masterpiece.
thequinch writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:10:25 AM

'Superman Returns' was horrible and unnecessary ... what's Quentin talking about ...
WV-Films writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 5:11:55 AM

Am I the only one who has an issue with Tarantino thinking Superman Returns is great?
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 6:45:49 AM

WV-Films no you're not haha...returns was too dark and weird....like they based a movie off of the 90s series....i dunno...i didn't like it better than the older movies
polardeficit writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:29:29 AM

superman returns was too dark? dude wtf are you smoking that movie was so rainbow gay happy go lucky that i felt like a leprachaun walking out of the theater. a very disappointed one but a leprachaun all the same
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 8:29:04 AM

i f*ckin hated grindhouse....death proof is by far one of the worst movies ive seen. i know theres alot of tarantinians that wanna blow the guy and thinks hes the greatest director, but hes far from it. i dunno how many of you like movies where bitches talk about their periods or just scenes with boring conversations... i know dialogue helps make a movie...but jesus f*ck.. not for 10 mintues straight...
MrSammich writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 9:14:38 AM

No, they are crap.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 9:26:00 AM

He didn't make Grindhouse, he made Death Proof.
lost_addict writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 10:04:26 AM

kill bill 1 was great but no masterpiece,is he joking about superman returns???
dwightschrute writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 10:40:55 AM

They're not masterpieces but they're really good. And a 20 page Superman Returns review? Dayum.
The Duke of New York writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 10:46:26 AM

I like so much of what's in his movies, and thought that if Kill Bill 1 & 2 were one film it would be a true masterpiece BUT he is so full of sh*t, I can't believe it. ...please Quentin, tell us more about how you will be writing/directing the next james bond film and setting it in the seventies. ...or tell us about the prequel movie you're going to make about Vincent & Vic Vega. also, could we please have more foot fetishism?
AP102390 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 11:24:41 AM

I loved kill bill, it is not a masterpiece at all, but it was a well made movie. Grindhouse was ok, but is also nowhere near a masterpiece.
makingcircles writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 11:54:46 AM

Polardeficit...that was funny. Yeah I think that Quentin must have been drug-induced when he watched Superman Returns because that movie is awful. It was like watching an amped up episode of Dawson's Creek. I had a friend that used to get high on weed in college and then he would watch movies and get this "deep" understanding of them. I remember once he was watching Event Horizon and had like pages and pages of notes and diagrams on what the movie was about. Yes...diagrams. Anyway, I'm thinking this is where Quentin may have been.
seraphemz writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 12:26:53 PM

1.) Pulp Fiction was a masterpiece. So Reservoir Dogs is not his only good movie. 2.) Superman Returns was a really good movie. Was it the best movie ever made? No. But it wasnt some Dawson Creek-esque movie. People nowadays only like explosions and CGI over action movies like Transformers and Fast and Furious. That dont really have story or are character driven. If you watch the first two Superman movies, you'll see that Returns is very much like the two.
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 12:31:57 PM

I think Tarantino was testing the movie-going public. I could see him... a few shots of 20 year-old scotch, smokes a spliff... then says to his remaining conscience friends at the table... I'm so hot right now I can make ANY movie and people will go to see it. And... he was right. He's a sharp guy, and I've always felt he was toying with us with Kill Bill 1&2. I agree with a comment above: Reservoir Dogs is his best work to date. As far as Superman Returns. I think considering the shoes Routh and Singer had to fill... not a bad job at all. BUT... after 5 years NO ONE at the Daily Planet puts it together that Clark and Supes show up at exactly the same time?! Is there a f*cking gas leak in Metropolis and everyone suffers from retardation?!?!?!?!
coldplayesence writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 12:38:12 PM

superman returns = epic fail. No more comments.
makingcircles writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 12:41:35 PM

seraphemz...I don't need CGI or explosions...but I certainly don't need the Man of Steel staring at Lois and her boyfriend through their window like a hurt little school boy and I also don't need Superman to have a kid just to spice up a plot. I've said it before on this site and I'll say it again...the script sucked, Spacey was too campy (partially the scripts fault), and the casting for Lois Lane blew. They made Superman into p*ssyboy in my opinion. f*ck Superman Returns. I can't believe people defend that movie let alone write 20page reviews on it.
makingcircles writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 12:42:35 PM

Oh...and I consider Pulp Fiction to be a Masterpiece for sure.
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 1:05:30 PM

I agree.
.:Geed:. writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 1:32:14 PM

Seguro ke si hijos de putaa!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 1:50:06 PM

.:Geed es un *sshole!
tolgaboy writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 2:24:52 PM

no way his just ad*ck sucker
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 2:52:17 PM

Reservoir Dogs is great entertainment while Pulp Fiction and Jackie Brown are masterpieces... everything else is Tarantino playing with bubbles in the backyard.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 3:11:09 PM

makingcircles you're very right about superman....staring at lois like a hurt school boy, i mean girl lol....i'd say pulp fiction and resevoir dogs and jackie brown were his best
buttabean writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 4:15:02 PM

I just had dajavu while reading people comments. I must be in the matrix. E gads brain!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:09:35 PM

Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece that film is unbelievably good. If you mash Kill Bills' together you get a solid 9 but not a masterpiece. I'd argue Synthetic that Titanic is not a masterpiece at all. 1.8 billion or not, that film is three hours+ of melodrama.
autiger10 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:25:49 PM

reservior dogs, pulp fiction, jackie brown, and kill bill are masterpieces. the rest (kill bill part 2 and grindhouse) are ok. f*ck all of you who oppose
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:36:32 PM

LOVE QT! THOSE FILMS (ALL HIS FILMS ACTUALLY) ARE AMAZING! f*ck the haters!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 7:39:08 PM

p.s.- I think everyone on this site just really really hates films... like any film, any time.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 4th, 2009 at 8:02:00 PM

TH3D4RKKN1GH7...i'm not arguing dude...it was my opinion...if you don't agree that's fine...but don't make me look like an idiot....i say titanic is a masterpiece not because of the silly made up story, but because 1)it's based on true events, and 2) it successfully delivered, to me, what being on a ship is like while sinking...wizard of oz, because nobody these days makes backgrounds like that without using green screens of course....and poltergeist was just simply amazingly great all around for a pg movie....made me laugh, scared, concerned, amazed, thrilled, confused....almost everything you could get out of a movie....again this is just my opinion
brazzmunkie writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:22:48 AM

I just watched Superman Returns, high. I wrote a poem about it... who is this man that flies the man of steel around kryptonite weakens but never dies still wears tights in the new millenium Quentin is a douche but I'm not telling him.... Its a work in progress. I also drew some diagrams, makingcircles, that Craig would be pleased to see. Their masterpieces
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 4:41:00 AM

LOL.
makingcircles writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 9:55:45 AM

That was poetic genius brazzmunkie. lol.
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 12:11:21 PM

Quick answer: HELL NO!
daddysgotcleavage writes:
on May 5th, 2009 at 1:49:26 PM

Kill Bill is brilliant. Go watch Transformers 2, just because you know how to turn on a TV doesn't give you a place at the table.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved