WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spawn" to Become PG-13 Horror Film?

Posted: April 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spawn" to Become PG-13 Horror Film?Submit Comment
IESB caught up with Todd McFarlane, the creator of Spawn, to ask if fans can expect some Spawn-related projects in the near future. Here is what he had to say:

"Right now, I literally have five offers on the table. Everything from the big studios and the big budgeted productions with a lot special effects to where I'm leaning which is actually sort of a small budget. Keep it down, keep it dark, keep it grungy. I got two teenage daughters and I've am trying to come up with an idea that I've been living with for ten years that actually would get them and their dates to go to it."

He continued: "And it's not a comic book movie, it's just a scary movie, a creepy movie that has everything real except for one element which happens to be the character we know as Spawn."

McFarlane mentioned that he wants to go with a smaller film in order to keep some of the creative control. "If I go bit they will only let me produce it," he said. "If I go smaller they will let me write and direct it."

McFarlane added that his people are pushing him to make a decision, so he might make an announcement as early as Comic-Con in July.

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
coldplayesence writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:35:48 AM

Here we go again with the "darker" films, at least Spawn deserves it.
GambleBDJ writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:50:52 AM

not deserves it, needs it. imagine a campy "light" teen version of Spawn. it would f*ckin suck. keep the heroes tht need to be dark Ex: Batman, Watchmen, Spawn, Darkman(lol)dark. and the ones tht need to be "light" Ex: Spiderman, Superman, Ironman, And Shadow Hare light.
Pepeman writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:55:31 AM

I always wanted a Spawn movie where the main focus would be on the cops, Sam and Twitch, and have Spawn be the only supernatural part of the movie.
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:06:02 AM

What the hell does this have to do with a PG-13 rating? I doubt McFarlane would go for that.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:21:08 AM

Spawn is darker than Batman dang it he crushes people with his chains and blows half there heads off with guns! and the Violator + Danny DeVito ='s AWESOMNESS! I also agree with what Pepeman says. Have the world built around them but don't limit Spawns story make sure it gets in there. I would make it like Fallen but with special effects and uhhh more demons lol.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:30:19 AM

Oh yeah also.......YOUR DAUGHTER AND THERE DATES ARE NOT YOUR TARGET AUDIENCE!!! it's your comic fans! If you do the movie right and stick to the source like glue then you'll pull it off like Spider Man did. Street Fighter and Dragon Ball didn't and look where there at!
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:37:47 AM

Todd wasn't completely happy with what control he lost in the first film. I know him... he can't be bribed with $'s from the large studios (he has too much now...lol), so I doubt he'll let that happen again.
GambleBDJ writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:37:53 AM

pepeman/waffleman very f*cking interesting points. imagine a superhero movie that did not concentrate on the hero and his story at all, but more on how he truly affects those around him. civilians, cops, and bad guys in all different kinds of ways. Batman begins and TDK sorta touched on to this method (escalation), but its Batman. all we cared about is him. try it on Spawn or someone else who isnt an A-list hero and u might have something golden.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 3:22:49 AM

Im still waitin for this sh*t, jus like a new MK
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 3:54:26 AM

MK?
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 4:48:39 AM

Milwaukee Marvel I bet they could pull off another Mortal Kombat. The first one was almost perfect they even had the special attacks done kind of well unlike the first Street Fighter.
acslaterson writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 8:04:31 AM

I just started reading Spawn since McFarland returned to the title and it has been pretty good. I wish they would make a movie with representatives from heaven and hell, that would be badass! With Spawn in the middle, aww screw it just bring the animated series back to HBO. And a Deadpool animated series to Showtime using the writers from Californication.
makingcircles writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 10:02:53 AM

This movie definitely needs a fresh start. Please make it R rated and please make it badass. You would think Todd would be able to make it good but then again...his forte is comic books...not movies.
thedotsays writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 10:19:37 AM

smaller = Direct to DVD/BR
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 10:25:58 AM

the 1st one sucked so bad! they definetly need to remake it and make it heavily dark, gore & killing and demonic. Because that is what Spawn is about! go big-budget and make it good!
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 10:44:57 AM

2acslaterson - some good ideas there. Sort of like a Constantine version yes?
acslaterson writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 11:17:44 AM

Haha, I guess. I just realized it was the same exact plot. Hahaha.
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 11:21:17 AM

Yeah, but the Heaven intervention isn't a bad idea for Spawn. It's age-old, time-tested... good vs. evil. So not a bad idea at all.
Satan Kid writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 11:26:51 AM

WEAK= 1st Spawn flick. I really hope they do this character some justice the 2nd time around.
MrSammich writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 11:57:30 AM

McFarland, put up or shut up; you have been talking about the sequil for years, and you've made nothing. If you won't then let the movie studios do it to keep the fans happy, nobody will hate you if they f*ck it up, but they will be happy when it finally gets made if it is done at least halfway right. Just choose the studio that wants to do dark movies; which I guess is WB anymore. But you obviously can't get the support that the project calls for so let the movie people make your freaking movie OK! I just want a better Spawn movie than the last one!
MrSammich writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 11:58:37 AM

And WAFFLE MAN is right, why cator to your daughters when we are going to pay to watch this?
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:14:37 PM

Spawn was already PG-13...the Directors Cut didn't exactly help things. The comics had amazing imagery but made little sense- and none once MacFarlane stopped writing them. It's got record sales for an independent comic but they cancelled the toyline. Is it worth reviving when it only had a minor peak of success in '97? Well...I guess it's good to see the man who moulded Venom still truckin' without the man.
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:18:30 PM

I'm not against a big studio doing a big budget movie of Spawn... the Fans certainly seem to want that. But there's the balance sheet to consider as well (other side of the coin). Look at Twilight. Cheap to make, unknown (relatively) actors... the first movie made back almost twice of it's budget in the opening weekend because it already had a following from the books (same as Spawn). Were Todd to make a cheaper movie... his followers would automatically go see it and that alone would make the low(er) budget back. It's safer. As for making it PG... we all know that let's in the HUGE spending audience for that age range. SHOULD Spawn be an 'R' rated move... yes, for sure (so should the true Batman)... but it's ALWAYS about $'s folks and the balance sheet. ROI. You know all this. And believe me... it bothers Todd a LOT MORE having to go PG for the $'s than to make it the 'R' it deserves. But in business... you follow the $'s.
manichispanic writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:32:11 PM

the first movie was ahead of its time. i'm looking forward to this. gotta have john leguizamo needs to play the clown again though. he was perfect
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 12:38:22 PM

Yeah, he pretty much stole every scene he was in. I was thrilled being a huge Martin Sheen fan to see him in it as well.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 2:17:10 PM

manichispanic uhhhh no John Leguizamo was not a good Violator he was overly goofy and WAY to big. My choice like I posted would be Danny DeVito he was born to be the VIOLATOR!
bacci40 writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 2:24:25 PM

oh, now the toddler cares what they do with his creation...before, all he cared about was making enough money to buy a hockey team and making dolls...f*ck the toddler, and f*ck his teenage daughters....TEEN DAUGHTERS??? f*ck, im old
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 4:02:43 PM

LOL! OK... every bacci40 that hasn't had their coffee yet today, raise their hand.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 4:58:05 PM

hey waffle man i bet danny devito was offered the role....considering that he played penguin anyways....he'd make a good one....but i like john leguizamo too

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved