WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams on Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" Film

Posted: April 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams on Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Back in February of 2007, it was announced that Stephen King and JJ Abrams were in talks to bring King's "Dark Tower" book series to the big screen. King was looking for a strong filmmaker to take on the project and previously admitted that he is a huge fan of Abrams' television series "Lost."

Then in September of last year, King revealed that he sold the option to his "The Dark Tower" series to Abrams and "Lost" producer Damon Lindelof. Lindelof spoke about acquiring the rights, stating that it will be difficult to work on such a big project while bringing "Lost" to a close.

Now, Abrams tells IGN that the plan is to wait until "Lost" is done with, which would be in May of next year. "Damon Lindelof and I talked with Mr. King, we got the rights for that as a film," he said. "Damon is obviously still on 'Lost,' we've been working on 'Star Trek' together. As soon as "Lost" is done, hopefully we'll get to begin tackling that."

Lindelof previously revealed that if "The Dark Tower" series was in the right hands, it would be made into seven separate films.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gunslinger writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 4:57:01 AM

Dear God, 7 films please. If anyone has read the books, and if you haven't I recommend them, who you you think would make a good Roland (aka the last Gunslinger, aka greatest character put to paper since Tolkein)? I'd say Clint Eastwood about 20 years ago, but I've seen photos of Hugh Jackman that look a lot like Clint in A Fistful of Dollars. Any thoughts?
acslaterson writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 7:25:27 AM

f*cking yes! 7 films!!! Ooooohh ooooooohh, ooooooooohh. I like Jackman as well, he would have to slim down a lot though. Seeing as the Gunslinger was inspired by Eastwood, yes he would have been the logical choice 20-30 years ago. Do you think they would change the ending? It might piss some people off...
clentz writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 9:40:17 AM

I think everyone I have talked to considers Hugh Jackman to be good for this role, but I wouldn't count out someone like Sean Bean. Also, as I read the series, I can't help but place Viggo in my head as Roland. I know he said he's done with acting and whatnot, and he's already played a similar character in LOTR so he knows what it's like to devote years of life to a series and probably doesn't wanna do that again, but we'll see what happens with his career. Ryan Reynolds?
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:33:57 AM

Super interesting. I hope it's done awesomely.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 1:48:53 PM

Viggo would be the perfect Roland at this point. Failing that, I think Mickey Rourke would wear the character well. Dark Tower is such an amazing series, I almost think it shouldn't be put to film, especially considering the mixed results of attempts to film King books. They really mangled some of them.
Foop writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 3:44:04 PM

I dunno, so far Frank Darabont is the only person who has done a good job adapting Stephen King (and what a job at that). We'll see how much faith we all still have in Abrams once Star Trek comes out
Gunslinger writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 5:08:08 PM

Hadn't even thought of Viggo. I totally think that would work. Rourke, maybe, seeing how Roland was often referred to by Suzanna as "Old Tall and Ugly." And yeah, acslaterson, I definitely think that the ending would piss off a lot of people, even though I don't think King could have ended the series any other way.
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 8:04:16 PM

Bring on The Talisman first!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 9:57:35 PM

you mean LOST will be done by next year?? f*ckING FINALLY!!!
Gunslinger writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:17:33 PM

Reading the Talisman right now. Great so far...
Eben1277 writes:
on May 1st, 2009 at 6:15:17 AM

What about Hugh Laurie as Roland? He's got the acting chops to pull it off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved