WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott is Working on New "Alien" Film

Posted: April 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott is Working on New "Alien" FilmSubmit Comment
IESB caught up with Fox co-chairman Tom Rothman to ask him whether there is any truth to Ridley Scott wanting to make another "Alien" installment.

"There's been some talk," said Rothman. "Ridley is now working on 'Robin Hood,' but I think he's toying with the idea and that would be great for us. If you can get the originator to do it that would be the greatest thing. So I've got my fingers crossed, all of them."

Last we heard, Sigourney Weaver was saying that it might be too late for the Alien, since it has already been overexposed in the two "AVP" films. She also mentioned that she has been discussing the fifth film with Ridley Scott, but one without the title character in it.

"What we're interested in is taking the character of Ripley and seeing what other science fiction story we can tell about someone who has lived several lives."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 6:02:36 PM

YES!!
Blank x2 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 6:27:48 PM

Might be cool. Don't know about an "Alien" movie without the Alien though. I heard a while back they may do something that has to do with the origin of the Space Jockey (from the first film). That would be cool, too. But I trust Ridley Scott, so we'll have to wait and see.
Native Jedi writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 7:30:02 PM

Cool...I think Ripley is a played out to use in any upcoming films.....i think they should use Winona Ryders droid character..(Annalee Call). a droid could get away with things a human could not. (extra strength, durability)
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 8:48:19 PM

well, if they are doing another Predator then why not this? those films were all badass anyways. Do it Ridley!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 9:44:11 PM

Native Jedi that droid was stupid so was everything past part 2......EVERYTHING!!
acslaterson writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 9:54:11 PM

^^^Agreed! This will be awesome if Scott does this! The last good space movie I saw was Sunshine and that was last year...
sachem writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 10:05:49 PM

Bad idea. The last interesting work by Mr Scott was Blade Runner in my opinion. I think the man should take a deep breath and return to the more artistic style of his past. The headline of this article isn't true by the way, if you choose to believe what it actually says.
Blank x2 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 11:26:05 PM

Gladiator and American Gangster were pretty good, and they were both years after Blade Runner. At least I like 'em.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 12:44:58 AM

i love 'alien' and 'aliens'....the 3rd was ok...but still the 2nd just took it to the fullest potential it could've been taken
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 1:48:45 AM

Ditch the bitch, and just bring on Ripley. We still have a company that started the whole alien mess- I'm sure there could be a story where she tries to take them down- it's a big galaxy so I'm sure the company could have a plethora of new beasts...who knows- but Ripley and the mind of Ridley Scott is certainly a good thing.
i3u7n5 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 9:35:07 AM

Not exactly how I feel about this but one thing is for sure...definitely no Ripley
SoftimusPrime writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:29:00 AM

Although I have an unwavering trust in Scott's work, an Alien movie without the Alien.. Ripley kicked ass in the first three films, but in Resurrection she was just way over the top and annoying.. "I'm the monster's mother", iigh. Might be interesting to see what Ridley cooks up, but the Alien is just visually and dramatically such an impressive creature, it'd be a shame not to resurrect it *properly*.
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:38:25 AM

If he's in and in total control with Weaver we might just have gold on our hands.
Gaudion93 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 1:14:24 PM

Please Ridley! I think it would be really good to go pack to the style of the first movie. I would like to see a continuation of Ripley, but with the Alien still in there somewhere. But what I would really like to see is an origin movie revealing how that space jocky got their and where all the eggs came from. Get Giger to do the design, Mr. Scott is the only man for the job to help delete the memories of the AVP movies!
The Duke of New York writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 1:46:15 PM

I usually complain about Ridley Scott being an old man who used up all his talent years ago and can't come up with an original idea instead he does old overdone ideas redoes them in a stale and dull way. Now this. I hate when I'm right. the idea of a new "alien" type sci fi with Weaver/Ripley with or without ALIENS in it is a very cool idea. But NOT with that old fart at the wheel. Bring in someone who still has a pulse for christ's sake.
thebreach writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:55:44 PM

okay, as long as there are no more AVP movies. we can only hope. why do people have to ruin classics with cheap ripoffs
Blank x2 writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:16:33 AM

I know people will probably rip me for this, but I didn't think the second AVP movie was that bad. Or maybe it was because the first one was SUCH garbage, that the second one only APPEARED to be decent. I can still watch the second one...the first one should have every copy of it burned.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 1:46:52 AM

If people like me want to see Sigourney Weaver in the movie again i would put her in as a space marine that way she's already bad ass and wont have to work up to bad ass again lol. Give her a group like in part 2 not that lame ass space pirate crap........that was F#@*$*! stupid!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved