WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Talks "Gambit" and "Deadpool" Spin-Offs

Posted: April 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Talks "Gambit" and "Deadpool" Spin-OffsSubmit Comment
IESB had the chance to interview producer Lauren Shuler Donner and ask a few questions about the future of the "X-Men" franchise, which could potentially include a "X-Men: First Class" film and also Deadpool, Gambit and Magneto spin-offs.

Regarding Gambit, Donner said that fans won't see the character in the "First Class" film. "No, maybe down the line," she explained. "'First Class' is the original first class at the Xavier school for the gifted. He was not the original first class, so we won't see him."

She added: "If it works and if there are 'First Class 2' and 'First Class 3,' then absolutely, we'll move him in. He has a relationship with Storm."

Donner also mentioned that she would love for Bryan Singer (X-Men, X-Men 2) to take on a spin-off. "I would love it, I love Bryan, he remains a good friend of mine," she said. "Nothing would please me more than to bring Bryan on for another movie. If it's the first Deadpool or the first Gambit, I think he would be interested."

At this point: "There are internal discussions about all that, we will resolve that soon," she said, adding that currently there is no plan for which spin-off will appear in theaters first. It all depends on schedules and the script.

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vampires_suck writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 6:40:45 PM

Gambit has a relationship with storm? What world are they living in? Why do they feel the need to change sh*t! I understand the 'translating to film' crap, and am one of the 1st to stand up for these films as an alternate take on the characters, but come on, stop adding unnecessary tripe.
phijie writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 7:00:10 PM

How is deadpool getting a spin off? His head got cut off.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 7:05:23 PM

yea last i remember gambit only had a relationship with rogue and even more besides that, wouldn't 'first class 3' be the same time period as the first x-men movie?...somebody needs to stop these idiots from ruining x-men any further...i feel like jim carrey in batman forever mouthing off to 20th century fox's lame producers and writers "WHY HASN'T ANYBODY.....put you in your place?" lol
vampires_suck writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 7:07:43 PM

Thanks for that penis. Not everyone has seen the film yet.
Ari Gold writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 7:17:35 PM

just becuase she said relationship doesnt mean they were f*cking! I think Gambit met Storm first while he was in the thieves guild or some sh*t.. make deadpool first! but dont make it sh*t donner.. who is she?
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 8:28:06 PM

GAMBIT DESERVES A f*ckING MOVIE! HE'S BADASS! KEEP f*ckING SINGER AWAY!!! as for the "First Class" films, I dont know about all that - they were basically all kids in the others. Whatre they gonna do? make them like 12 & 10 yrs old?
Blank x2 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 8:44:56 PM

If they are gonna do this, then Floyd from True Romance should have his own spin-off.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 9:06:58 PM

in that case...let me say this instead...if they're gonna do all that, then they should do the whole x-men with apocalypse and also with mr. sinister...it's only fair...they changed things around...nothing wrong with changing em back right??
acslaterson writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 9:36:38 PM

Gambit has a relationship with Storm as in they were both thieves in the comics, not sure if both of them were in the Thieves Guild or not. Also, DP's head got cut off by Wolvie in the comics(Cable and Deadpool, around issue 42) and Bob, Agent of Hydra reattached it to his neck and his healing factor is so insane it fused back together. Any more questions Gents? Oh and if I ever meet this broad I am punching her in the vag for these movies. I watch them and always hope for the best but come on!
Pembrokehawk writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 10:16:44 PM

Can we talk about a spinoff for the extra who was shot by that guy at that place? STFU, the movie isn't even out yet!!!
HOCK writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 1:33:13 AM

Gambit aqnd Storm? Why do they have to mess things up so bad...I've come to regret the changes Singer made too. The comics are so much better. Better drama and stories.
jimmyjoe writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 2:22:11 AM

Easy. In the comics, Gambit first appeared via Storm. She didn't mean relationship as "romantic relationship". They're actually HONORING his real origin.
jimmyjoe writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 2:28:30 AM

http://www.uncannyxmen.net/db/issues/showquestion.asp?fldAuto=3117
bacci40 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 6:22:54 AM

fox doesnt own the rights to deadpool...so what is he talking about...and no, since they decided to change gambit's powers (levitating the cards???) and made sure to get an actor who cant do a cajun accent...no, they shouldnt have anything to do with a spinoff...and all of a sudden they care about canon? there are only 4 members of the first class...and im sure they wont get that right
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:35:08 AM

Lauren Shuler Donner is a moron. I hope none of the projects ever get made cause they are an insult to comic fans and anyone with a brain.
Satan Kid writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:45:58 AM

Gambit was originally introduced as an associate of Storm when she was transformed into a 12 year old child so they are in fact related in some way
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 12:12:21 PM

yea but Satan Kid....they'd never show storm being transformed into a child...it's too unrealistic for fox studios....and Johnny Neat...i agree totally...x-men didn't get too popular till they finally made a cartoon out of it...and since it did...hollywood noticed and took action of course....funny thing is this...the writers of the cartoon were able to translate the comics through series....movie writers could have done that as well through a trilogy...but they did it WRONG!...because now we are left with either stryker or magneto being the main enemies....and i know for a fact that there are better enemies than them, it's just that fox studios and their writers are careless money hungry *ssholes...if they really cared....we wouldn't see a bunch of origin stories, we'd see either x4 or a 2nd trilogy being made before all the actors who starred in the first trilogy get too old to look right for reprising their roles....btw you know what's funny about 'wolverine'?....in the first x-men movie, there's no hint or clue whatsoever that wolverine and sabretooth are brothers....i really wish there was a way to get through to fox studios that real comic fans are pissed about what they did to x-men....i mean with the amount of screen time that deadpool and gambit got, we can already guess what they'd do with other characters in future movies....more drama than action and less screen time yay!....not
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 12:18:59 PM

i'm sorry...but in a bad economy, i'm not gonna waste my money to watch some alternate x-men....plenty of others will i suppose....but i stand by what i've said before....they could have stayed truer to the comics and still made just as much money, if not, more
Satan Kid writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 2:13:55 PM

Synthetic, If you notice, Sabretooth was very interested in Logans dog tags in X-Men 1. So much so that he picked them back up from magnetos desk. Also Wolverine instinctivly popped his claws as soon as he smelled him.True Wolverine and Sabretooth didnt have much to say to each other but there are many context clues to point to a connection.Look at the difference in appearence of Sabretooth from X-1 to Origins. In the comics his strength was enhanced and his memories were wiped. maybe in Wolverine 2 they'll show stryker furthering his mutation to the point of looking like he did in X-1 and shooting him in the head with adamantium(spoiler).
smokeymcpot8372 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 3:11:10 PM

i hope nobody is actually going to see this piece of fecal matter. Deadpool getting his mouth sealed shut!?!?!?! Thats the opposite of wat needs to happen. Maybe making it bigger. How much did reynolds get paid for a 4 of his lines? Thank u fox for ruining my childhood. Oh and p.s. adamantium bounces off of adamantium the only thing that cuts it is carbonadium!!!!
vampires_suck writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 6:37:19 PM

I understand the 'relationship' with storm you guys refer to in the comics, but come on....it's these guys....of course they'll turn it into a romantic thing!
storm77 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 9:09:32 PM

Yes Storm and Gambit were very tight in the comics. He did rescue her when she was regressed to a child. However they never were an item. Although they did flirt often in the series of books, mostly Gambit with Storm. I personally wouldn't mind if they put those two together. I think of it this way. Rogue and Gambit had there chance in the comics and it has never worked out. Look at Cyclops and Jean, they're not even together anymore he's with Emma Frost. Things change and I've always thought that Gambit and Storm would have a good chemistry together. So I'm pretty happy with it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 10:48:52 PM

eh...whatever...these new movie makers will never include apocalypse or mr sinister...and even if they did they'd probably mess up the characters' looks on purpose as well as the plot
James.Speed writes:
on April 30th, 2009 at 6:01:27 AM

BRING BACK SINGER!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved