WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Wolverine" Affected by Swine Flu

Posted: April 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Wolverine" Affected by Swine FluSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has decided to postpone Thursday's Mexico City opening of "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" because most of the theaters in the area are likely to be closed due to an outbreak of the swine flu. A studio spokesman said a new launch date would be announced once Fox gets a better sense of when theaters will reopen.

Scores of screens owned by exhibitors Cinepolis, Cinemex, Cinemas Lumiere and Cinemark have gone dark, and the remaining chains and indies are expected to follow suit.

The theaters are responding to a request from Mayor Marcelo Ebrard, who has also asked that other public places, such as bars and restaurants, close in an attempt to contain the outbreak that had claimed 150 lives by Monday. Schools and public transport have already shuttered.

"We were not only concerned about Hugh's welfare and we would never send anyone into harm's way but we also have an enormous office filled with people we care about," said a rep for the studio. "There was no point in proceeding under the current conditions."

Mexico is already having major economic issues, dealing with violent drug trafficers and is now struggling to keep its companies in business due to this new pandemic. As far as "Wolverine," the film will lose out on a good chunk of earnings that would normaly come from Mexican theaters. "X-Men 3" brought in over $16 million from Mexico, which counted for 7% of the film's foreign gross and was the the third highest foreign earner.

Click here to read more about "Wolverine."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gunslinger writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 2:42:43 AM

This movie is cursed. It's like Don Quixote or something.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 3:28:13 AM

For a minute then i though hugh Jackman had the Swine Flu
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 3:58:08 AM

I know I'm going to avoid the public until the zombie outbreak is over.

M....my brother he was already showing symptoms....he kept chewing on his finger until there was nothing but bone and he had this strange look in his eye, a fierce gaze of hunger. I couldn't do anything but reach for my shotgun out of fear......


....... lol I wish I never saw Quarantine....
acslaterson writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 5:32:40 AM

^^^Hahaha, that movie was pretty bad. If you are freaking out about this watch last night's The Daily Show. Really put it into perspective.
borat writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 12:35:35 PM

YEAH DAILY SHOW WAS HILARIOUS LAST NIGHT "SNOUTBREAK 09" LOL
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 12:44:59 PM

Can the virus that ends the world really come from a f'n pound of bacon?? How would you explain that in hell without satan laughing in your face?? So, does this mean in Mexico that people would rather die then see this movie?? Wow, that's a big "FU" to Fox.
Kid_A writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 4:35:34 PM

Ugh... Another conspiracy codenamed "Swine"... What's it up to do with the movie? Have detectors at the entrance of the theatre, or do something else. What is it, we shall walk on the streets no more?
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 5:16:17 PM

yeah 30 000 people dead since 1915! So yeah AIDS and cancer beat that toll in the last 15 minutes. f*ck swine flu ya bunch of paranoid bastards.
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 5:20:58 PM

Is mexico equipped for any kind of outbreak? Hence why the death toll there is almost 200...You'll get 10 or so dead people in the united states just because they're too lazy to go see a doctor... this isnt an epidemic...AIDS, cancer, f*cking genocide- those are epidemics...but we love our bacon- we'll have to nip this one in the butt right away...
Blank x2 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 5:21:55 PM

What's next? African Tree Frog flu?
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 6:16:16 PM

Bwwwaahahahahahhaaaaa! not funny.
d.stidham1982 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 7:21:40 PM

so they just changed the name of Swine Flu to H1N1 because people are freaking out and not eating pork because they think they can catch the flu through the food. I think the media might have blown everything out of proportion too early, like normal, and everyone got wind of it. Swine Flu sounds catchy, not H1N1, but since it's causing a loss of profit to someone WE HAD BETTER CHANGE THE FREAKIN NAME RIGHT AWAY, but we'll always remember you Swine Flu.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 8:19:00 PM

we're all gonna die! yep yep - sucks for mexico, I'll be seeing it this weekend for sure!
cbpv writes:
on April 28th, 2009 at 11:18:37 PM

It's sad how the news makes Mexico look like is going to hell and it's NOT!!!! It's like saying the whole US is dangerous becuase of drive byes in LA or other city. This swine flue is not spread all over Mexico and the people who has died, sadly, is either homeless or had a prior condition that made it worse. This chains are closing in some citiesd, mostly ventral Mexico, but as of now people are still going to the movies. So don't believe of the news say, the are just trying to sell based on fear.
paulina_0228 writes:
on April 29th, 2009 at 11:32:44 AM

You do not get swine flu from eating pork so stop talking about bacon.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved