WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Puts "Bioshock" on Hold

Posted: April 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Puts "Bioshock" on HoldSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has decided to hold off on "Bioshock," the Gore Verbinski-directed live action adaptation of the bestselling video game. The picture was in pre-production, but the studio has halted that effort and let some production staff go as Universal and Verbinski figure out a way to make the film at a more reasonable budget.

Sources said that the John Logan-scripted picture was gearing up to shoot in Los Angeles, but that changed when the budget rose to the vicinity of $160 million. The studio and Verbinski are looking at alternatives like shooting in London as a way to reduce costs.

"We were asked by Universal to move the film outside the US to take advantage of a tax credit," Verbinski said. "We are evaluating whether this is something we want to do. In the meantime, the film is in a holding pattern."

Verbinski and sources at the studio say they are determined to make the pic. Verbinski even turned down the chance to direct a fourth installment of "Pirates of the Caribbean" so that he could direct "Bioshock."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Dannoral writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 4:13:10 AM

they better not to screw it up !
WV-Films writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 9:25:20 AM

Well I'd be frightened if I heard FOX was behind this. But with Universal at the helm, and an escalating budget of $160 mil, I think we'll be ok.
MrSammich writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 10:22:05 AM

Just don't go too cheap, the quality expectations on this one are high for us game fans.
acslaterson writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 11:15:46 AM

Tax credits, here is a thought *ssholes. Shoot it in the U.S. And provide Americans with jobs! Americans are your biggest box office draw! f*ck!
autiger10 writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 7:32:59 PM

i f*cking love bioshock. "we all make choices, but in the end .... our choices....make....us...."
Ranger writes:
on April 26th, 2009 at 1:01:05 PM

acslaterson - ahh, nothing like charity work for a bankrupt country $11.5 trillion in debt still pouring $'s into an illegal invasion in Iraq. I'll bet a ton of you hillbillies wish you could have elected Bush for a 3rd. term...LOL.
Ranger writes:
on April 26th, 2009 at 1:02:56 PM

And US ticket sales RARELY exceed those of worldwide sales. And as US Crews are more difficult to work with (union this, union that - oh... I'm still on my coffee break... give me a minute)... let's all nix the 'tax credit' charity deal.
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 26th, 2009 at 8:32:54 PM

Working with crews in the US I've found its full of the most talented and lazy staff ever...lazy like construction workers...and well admittedly, when I work with union crews, I go along with crew members and drag the salary out as long as possible. But if I ever ran a shoot- I certainly wouldn't film in the states even if my production values looked great...it's the work ethic: "I'll do great as long as I'm paid at the highest rate and dont get yelled at for coming back 30 minutes later on a five minute break. Oh and the labour board needs to be on speed dial."

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved