WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Pantoliano on Why "Matrix" Sequels Failed

Posted: April 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Pantoliano on Why "Matrix" Sequels FailedSubmit Comment
"The Matrix" was one of the most creative and innovative films when it first appeared in theaters. It went on to earn over $460 million in worldwide ticket sales and was loved by both fans and critics.

That's when everyone involved realized that they had something. Keanu Reeves quickly broke his rule of no sequels and returned for two more installments and the studio was so confident that they greenlit for "Matrix Reloaded" and "Matrix Revolutions" to be shot back-to-back and to be released less than six months apart.

Fans packed the theaters for the second film, which took in almost $750 million, expecting to see the same creativity they saw in the original. Unfortunately that didn't happen. When the third installment came out, it didn't even earn back its $150 million budget domestically, but overall still took in almost $430 million. So what happened?

Actor Joe Pantoliano sat down with FORA to explain. "It worked, so of course all of these bankers and studio heads saturated the market with it so that by the time that 'The Matrix' number 2 came out, we were so sick of it. We were so looking for the smoke and the mirrors that the Wachowskis were copying themselves. And they had the benefit of tricking the audience the very first time, that's why we loved that movie because we had never seen it before, and it blew our minds. But it couldn't blow our minds twice."

Source: FORA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Metafact writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:02:19 PM

Pretty much.
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:10:51 PM

Agreed. But... this would have sounded a lot better than one of the Actor's that only lived long enough to be in the first one. I agree with him completely... but it's hard not to get that sour grapes impression. Keanu made over $100 million himself on that trilogy.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:22:10 PM

smart guy, i hate hate keanu...
onthejon writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:24:33 PM

I'm sure a not as good script might have had a hand in it as well
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:35:51 PM

Anyone else think they hired Keanu for this because they KNEW they ripped off Johnny Mnemonic?
makingcircles writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:58:18 PM

I agree that the first was mind blowing when it came out but I thought the second one was pretty cool and they through some interesting stuff in there. It wasn't really challenging the audience though. I thought the 3rd one ended really bad and disapointing. I was pissed that the actress who played the Oracle died so they replaced her with another African-American lady. They should have made her change into another form all together like a chinese kid or something. I still own the box set and I like the first and 2nd one. Could they have been better? Yeah.
acslaterson writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:58:28 PM

^^^Yeppers, I HATED the 3rd one. The second one was alright. They should have just left the series alone after the first one.
Planetastudios writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 6:06:21 PM

RIP... never saw third one....fell asleep during second
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 6:11:04 PM

lol... best said yet!
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 6:39:07 PM

Well, that and the fact that the scripts sucked.
thedotsays writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 7:24:41 PM

The only thing parts 2 and 3 did was keep WP from posting crap stories about a possible sequel for months and asking us who should be in it.
autiger10 writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 7:36:22 PM

is it f*cking true that keanu reeves is seriously going to play Spike in the "Cowboy Bebop" live-action movie?
acslaterson writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 8:01:45 PM

^^^The *sshole is producing the f*cking thing so probably. I think it should go to Josh Hartnett, he is tall and lanky and a bit of a smart ass. Lucky # Slevin was when I first thought of him for he role, I f*cking love that movie!
Noir writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 8:02:00 PM

I had blocked the fact that there were sequels to the Matrix from my mind. This brings back so many painful memories. WHYYY!?!
lost_addict writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 9:38:00 PM

The whole zion idea was really dumb and boring in the sequels.they should have kept the story in the matrix.thats why the sequels sucked.
vwkombi writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 9:41:39 PM

The Matrix sequels failed because rather than keep in the philosophical, genre bending creativity they stuck to a banal Sci-fi story that we have all seen a trillion times before.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 10:58:48 PM

the only thing the 2nd one did for me was the kick ass fight scenes between neo and the smiths.....hey that worked on two levels heh
MyCircusLife writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 12:39:47 AM

Actually, both Johnny Mnemonic and The Matrix ripped off an RPG called SHADOWRUN (which came out late 80's early 90's. The virtual hacker world that could be jacked into was even called "The Matrix" in the game.
drhwest writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 1:16:43 AM

Johnny Mnemonic was published by William Gibson in 1986. Shadowrun was published in 1989. A good deal of the computer stuff from Shadowrun is taken from Gison's novels and short stories.
bacci40 writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 1:42:53 AM

not even...fact, the matrix is a blatant ripoff of the invisibles by grant morrison...crew members were handed copies of the intitial collection as a bible to the movie...after the first movie, the wachowskis had run out of ideas, for to copy the invisibles even more, wouldve tipped their hats and opened the door wide to a plagerism suit...so they had no new ideas, and tried to shove in alot of religious and spiritual mumbo jumbo
rocketman writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 3:18:28 AM

it failed because parts 2+3 should have been one movie,edit out all that Zion rave sh*t.tone down all the secondry characters love story rubbish,ditto the kid.just have most of part 2 with the zion battle in part 3 bolted on to the end and it would have been Amazing.to over indulgent.and for the record Reloaded was the best of the 3.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 6:06:41 AM

bacci40 - Thank you. Thank you. You took the words outta my mouth dude. Morrison is a genius. Though there was a ton of stuff taken from Ghost in The Shell too.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 3:23:14 PM

i was so disappointed with the 3rd too....i seriously thought neo would take on all the smiths and it would've been like super fast fighting but shown all slow
bacci40 writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 7:03:01 PM

Post_Man_87, ya...they did steal from ghost in a shell too...basically, after the first movie, they had to come up with their own ideas...and didnt have any...and they surrounded themselves with a bunch of yes men...oh, and to those who think that it was just all the zion bs that made the sequels suck...there is an online cut of the zion sh*t all cut out, and the movie is still a mess...
HOCK writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 7:47:08 PM

Personally I liked 2 alot. I thought 3 sucked.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 8:07:30 PM

#1 - awesome!!! #2 - still really good (I actually like it more than the first) #3 - decent until the ending fight scene, that couldve and shoudlve been a lot better but I liked how Neo did sacrifice himself. The war with the humans and machines was badass!
Dre-EL writes:
on April 26th, 2009 at 4:20:58 PM

The religious undertones are what f*cked up the sequels
whoever writes:
on April 27th, 2009 at 3:46:34 AM

I think it could all be turned around with one day of filming. In the very last scene they should have Neo come out as the new architect and that would have finished the series nicely.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 27th, 2009 at 2:31:26 PM

i think he is piss of, because he wants to be trinity on the movie, sorry man you dont have the boots

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved