WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"30 Days of Night" Sequel in the Works

Posted: April 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"30 Days of Night" Sequel in the WorksSubmit Comment
MTV News spoke to Steve Niles, whose tale of vampires invading a secluded Alaskan town was turned into a feature film called "30 Days of Night." Now, Niles has revealed to MTV News that a sequel is in the works.

"There will be a sequel," he said. "The script is in. I've been working on it with a buddy of mine, Ben Ketai, who directed the last round of the online webisodes. The script is based on 'Dark Days'."

In "Dark Days," the character of Stella Olemaun heads to Los Angeles after surviving the vampire attack in Barrow, Alaska. She intentionally attracts the attention of the local vampire population in order to avenge the death of her husband, Eben, during the Barrow incident.

The original film earned $75 million in worldwide ticket sales. Niles said that the results made the direct-to-DVD route likely for the sequel. Producer Sam Raimi agrees.

"We didn't hit that magic $100 million, but I had a long talk with Sam," explained Niles. "He called me and just said, 'Don't be too quick to judge this direct-to-DVD market, especially with the sci-fi market.'"

"This way we'd be able to do all the comics," reasoned Niles. "We won't have the massive competition of the box office, and theoretically, we could move on to 'Return to Barrow' and to the other series and short stories."

Click here to read our "30 Days of Night" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 6:03:22 AM

In short it's gonna be budget friendly and suck.
dwight writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 8:01:57 AM

Straight to dvd?. I saw the first one in the theatre and would go again. Not feeling straight to dvd
acslaterson writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 9:06:13 AM

That is stupid, looks like Hartnett won't be back. I don't watch direct to DVDs...
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 10:53:06 AM

It's sad the first did not makes the magic 100 million mark as it was a fun ride. Now how does that movie not make it but trash such as The Dukes of Hazard remake does? I love the Dukes but that was a HORRIBLE treatment.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 11:53:15 AM

terrible terrible, no thanks
coldplayesence writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 1:25:18 PM

The first one wasn't THAT bad, guys.
super_suck writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 4:15:04 PM

I was actually impressed with the first. I went into it with no knowledge and really liked the premise. The second will be chore to follow
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 4:30:29 PM

So, Ghost House pictures was put on this earth to make the worst movies in the history of the world.
super_suck writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 4:50:05 PM

ACTIONFIGURE: no, that would be Asylum
AJWPProfile writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 5:19:31 PM

The first was really bad. I guess I'm being biased to it because I really dislike Josh Hartnett I don't think he's a good actor(See "Black Dahlia/Pearl Harbor"..you'll know what I mean)
projektzborn writes:
on April 24th, 2009 at 7:17:36 PM

i really liked the portrayal of the vampires in the movie.
dwightschrute writes:
on April 25th, 2009 at 2:26:03 PM

The first one wasn't THAT bad. Why not take some money out of your own pockets and finance the film personally instead? The premise is interesting, I'd love to see it onscreen.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved