WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Talks "Magneto," "Constantine 2" and "X-Men: First Class"

Posted: April 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Talks "Magneto," "Constantine 2" and "X-Men: First Class"Submit Comment
Producer Lauren Shuler Donner revealed to Sci Fi Wire that she is still planning to make a "Magneto" prequel, but will wait to see how "Wolverine" does in theaters.

"We have a great script," she said. "Honestly, we have all been just so focused on getting Wolverine out. Magneto is a fantastic script, and hopefully we'll make it."

She continued: "And then we have First Class, which is based on the X-Men comics' first class and is very literal to the title. It's the first class in Xavier's school. But that's just being written. I haven't even seen a first draft."

Donner said that because of her work on "Pretty in Pink" and "St. Elmo's Fire," she found out that she likes kids/teenage movies. "I really do. Part of it takes me to my roots," she explained. "It's action. There seems, to me, to be more humor, or more potential for humor. I don't want to get into what the script is about, but it provides a bit of a lighter touch to the franchise."

Regarding "Constantine 2": "Looks very good. Thinking about it. Looking for a writer."

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on April 22nd, 2009 at 8:59:56 PM

How does Constantine 2 look very good if there is no writer!? Magneto would be cool to see if they make him a bad guy for the end half of the film, just f*cking sh*t up!
acslaterson writes:
on April 22nd, 2009 at 10:24:27 PM

Magneto is such a stupid idea, this Donner broad needs punched in the vag for being such a dolt. I liked Constantine but talk about screwing up the character, he is supposed to be a Brit from Liverpool?, blonde, an alcoholic, a chain smoker, wear a yellow trenchcoat and a puffer. Movie version? A walking tree, black trench coat, chews bubble gum, and set in L.A.
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 12:33:34 AM

Magneto is a DUMB f*cking idea...the only thing compelling about this guy from previous films is the concentration camps as a boy and his connection to Xavier...that's a SUBPLOT- thats been covered already...MOVE ALONG or make an X4.
Sinestro writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 1:09:01 AM

Got to milk the f*cking cow while the getting's good. And for as long as it lasts. I just hope the comic book movie thing ends soon. I'm f*cking tired of all these movies.
vineethchacko writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 1:40:39 AM

Luckily the comic book movie genre is here to stay... Fox making them, hope not...
MMJoe writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 1:42:06 AM

Did you guys catch this "Magneto is a fantastic script, and hopefully we'll make it." Hopefully, lets hope not. Also "And then we have First Class, which is based on the X-Men comics' first class and is very literal to the title." well what else would it be based on. This woman is a genius and lastly my personal favorite "Constantine 2": "Looks very good. Thinking about it. Looking for a writer." Obviously she's not thinking about too hard being that there is no script to even consider. Hmm, boy those Hollywood moguls sure now what to kick around hey.
Blueyedragon writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 5:43:15 AM

Please no magneto!!...that would be boring and stupid!!!!!...I much rather see an Xmen:4 that's set in the future no more pre-equal crap!...These people are idiots!....out of all the millions of great stories in the comics....They pick boring ass stuff that nobody wants to see??....I also would be interested to see another constantine movie though.
dub031 writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 6:46:59 AM

i actually loved Constantine...but i didnt know the comic book beforehand...but still he is depicted as a f*ck-up (good way) he is a chain smoker, doesnt care about sh*t..the bubble gum thing is only in the end scene as sort of a joke...I can understand though if u r familiar w/ the comic book that the movie can be disappointing, but some points can't be overlooked (color of trenchcoat??) dont u think? but yea the fact that he's a english guy in the comic and Keanu Reeves in the movie is kinda weak.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 10:13:12 AM

When I first heard the idea of making Magneto it sounded well & good, I still think that. I think his history makes for a well rounded story. They definetly need to focus on the concentration camps and how he developed his powers. But it'll be just like Wolverine is, he looses the women he loves and goes evil. Thats solid in my book, thats who he is. Someone out for revenge, they could have him doing all kinds of crazy cool sh*t. Plus! the idea of having his kids - Scarlet Witch & Quicksilver - would be an interesting play to maybe go into an X4.
Alcharod writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 1:00:11 PM

I don't understand why comic book enthusiest, or even someone like Peter Jackson, wont think of a script for the Marvel Universe that will Rival the LOTR's Trilogy. Why not make the Infinity Gauntlet and turn that into a Trilogy, Hell just one movie if you have to! I think it would be great for people to learn about Thanos, Death, Silver Surfer, Adam Warlock, The Cosmic Pantheon, or even see Spiderman, or the Xmen, the Hulk, Iron Man, they were ALL involved in that series of events. What do you guys think??? Bad Idea??
acslaterson writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 1:31:55 PM

I liked Constantine, don't get me wrong. The thing is I didn't start reading comics till last summer and when I read up on Hellblazer it pissed me off. I am one of those Americans that isn't xenophobic and if a character is from a different country keep him or her that way. And I didn't mean he should have a yellow trench coat, a tan one would have been just fine. It was just Hollywood trying to make it "darker".
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 3:04:25 PM

Hollywood will learn soon enough that yes, while during tougher economic times people seek more escapism... but they are milking this too much. People will vote with their $'s (like they always do), and Hollyweird will soon realize there isn't that spare cash in people's pockets to get see (nor want to see) every fricken: re-make, re-boot, re-hash, sequel, origin movie out there. Man, would I love to see some fresh ideas out of that Industry for a while.
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 3:07:48 PM

In addition to my above comments... further evidence is the huge gain of popularity of Indie Films. Granted they don't make the hundreds of millions (unless they're a... gag... Blair Witch... ugh!)... but they do OK (otherwise people wouldn't make 'em.... right?
bacci40 writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 3:27:30 PM

aicn is reporting that the final version of wolverine is exactly like the wp....fox needs to sell back their properties to marvel...leave it alone already...f*cking hacks
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 3:31:51 PM

Mangeto and Professer x the early would be kick ass...However, the problem with these origins since all the future stories have already been told which means they'll have to backtrack everything to try and make it connect which will turn out like "Wolverine" with Sabertooth not telling Wolverine that their brothers and with somehow Cyclops being involved. The stories will be quite contrived and just not flow correctly...they need to leave the X-men franchise alone. Now, Constantine needs a good reboot...badly. Hire Ewan Mcgreoger or Gary Oldman for Constantine and make that sh*t happen!!
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 3:39:27 PM

Sabertooth and Wolverine are brothers?!
mattcl23 writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 5:19:29 PM

I'm more interested in Constantine 2. Lets see Deadpool instead of the other two X-Men movies first.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 6:27:02 PM

im wit Alcharod on this. Doesnt have to be peter jackson tho
Adamtheflash writes:
on April 23rd, 2009 at 7:19:54 PM

They shouldn't make Magneto, but they should make first class. In doing that, maybe they can start the entire franchise over and make it better. The 3 X men movies were mediocre at best

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved