WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ron Howard Passed on Batman and Spider-Man Films

Posted: April 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ron Howard Passed on Batman and Spider-Man FilmsSubmit Comment
Director Ron Howard (Da Vinci Code) appeared on Bill Maher's HBO talk show "Real Time," where he talked briefly about some of the projects that he has previously passed on.

"I've had a chance at some things that I knew would be successful, but I also knew that I probably wouldn't do a very good job," he said. "I had a chance at Batman years ago, and Spider-Man and Harry Potter."

Maher mentioned that all the comic-book movies are alike, but Howard quickly jumped in by defending "Spider-Man 3." "Not the 'Spider-Man' that my daughter Bryce Dallas Howard was in," he said. "Don't we all love that one?"

Source: HBO


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Blank x2 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:22:58 AM

Bill Maher is an idiot. And it has nothing to do with this post. I just think he's a moron, and wanted to tell everybody about it.
c-prime writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:31:17 AM

I agree. Maher is a fascist douche and his nose looks like a flaccid penis. If he put his self-righteous behavior on hold and actually familiarized himself with the background of his guests (like most talk show hosts do), he wouldn't have offended Howard so.
AmazingBill writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:42:21 AM

Maher can be incredibly idiotic, but he makes lots of sense when it comes to religion. Plus his movie "Religulous" was hilarious. And I would love to see Howard direct a superhero flick.
jjjjjoey writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:47:02 AM

I'm not a political person, but I know I don't like Maher. Although that Religulous movie looked interesting, I'd rather not give him the support.
jjjjjoey writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:48:44 AM

...oh, and Howard handling a comic book movie?...would've been good.
Metafact writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 2:30:26 AM

Yes, because we all know how well he can handle major summer tentpoles like The Da Vinci Code...Christ, if there's a director out there who epitomizes mediocrity more than Ron Howard, I haven't heard of him.
vineethchacko writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 3:38:22 AM

Mediocrity, I think you mean Uwe Boll..
dwightschrute writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 8:00:08 AM

Sarcasm...LOVE IT! Howard rules!
roseredscare writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 11:37:04 AM

Comic book super hero movies might all use the same formula, Ron but they're all faster moving than the Da Vinci Code.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 12:47:44 PM

spidy 3 was gay...
coldplayesence writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 12:57:35 PM

^^ nah, it was just a useless motherf*ckin' piece of sh*t.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 2:14:41 PM

no need for howard to f*ck superhero movies...that's what Brett Rattner is for...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 12:09:09 AM

f*ck Bill Maher, piece of sh*t that he is - he wishes he were as cool as Ron Howard
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 3:09:54 PM

Ahhh... yeah Ron. We all passed on the opportunities to Direct those movies... sure, sure.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved