WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Channing Tatum Vying for "Captain America" Role

Posted: April 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Channing Tatum Vying for "Captain America" RoleSubmit Comment
Channing Tatum (GI Joe) has recently revealed that he is no longer in the running to star in the upcoming "Thor" movie, but he wouldn't mind taking a shot at becoming "Captain America."

"I would love to talk about it," Tatum told MTV News, admitting that a few people have told him to go after the role, though nothing solid has happened on that front.

It was previously rumored that Marvel would be interested in casting Will Smith as the title character, which Smith eventually denied. And even though Tatum is excited to play Captain America, the only reason why he's holding back from pursuing the role is his belief that Will Smith is still the perfect choice.

"When I'd heard that Will Smith was [interested], I'm just like, 'God, yeah. That's who should play it,'" said Tatum. "It would be a different Captain America than we all know in the comic, but it's perfect."

Smith isn't the only one who's been rumored for the role. Matthew McConaughey and John Cena have both been named as possible contenders.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AmazingBill writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:03:42 AM

Maybe Smith should be given a chance. But of course a black man is out of the question, right?
vwkombi writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:05:35 AM

Smith would rock. But a Black man playing a character already established as white is racist, or something.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:13:21 AM

Boooooo to Channing Tatum, Matthew McConaughey and especially John Cena!! maybe Smith would work, he would do a good job no matter what, even if hes not really right for the role
Blank x2 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:25:50 AM

John Cena as Captain America would be priceless. I'm laughing inside just thinking about it.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 2:01:12 AM

McConaughey, yes....Cena, f*ck NO, Tatum, maybe But i wanna see Damien Lewis as the Cap
jaksyn writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 5:29:50 AM

TATUM WoulD BE f*ckIN PERFECT!
acslaterson writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 6:31:09 AM

Isaiah Bradley, the African American Captain America, was a mini-series where the U.S. government was trying to replicate the effects of Steve Rogers. Ultimate Nick Fury shares many characteristics of the 616 Bradley. My guess is that SLJ and his slowed aging will be contributed to trying to replicate the super soldier formula. So we won't see an African American Cap but we do get the African American version of Fury. Who really cares though if we are being "P.C.", I still don't see any Hispanic superheroes and I don't bitch about that! People would really want that hippy McCaughnaughy to play Cap? No thanks! Plus, he is kind of old to play a Cap who is in his early 20s. John Cena? f*ck wrestlers! I have never seen a wrestler get nominated for any awards for acting. If he is on the same set as the great talent that is on the set of Iron Man 2 it would be horrible. Want TDK fans to really have a sh*t ton of ammunition to fire at Marvel fans? Go ahead and cast this guy. Tatum needs to let go of it, he isn't in the running for Thor anymore. Go find a DC character to lobby for or find a lesser known comic adaptation. He needs to do it before G.I. Joe comes out because I really don't have a good feeling about that movie.
Sonic writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 7:32:32 AM

No Will Smith....
dwightschrute writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 7:58:33 AM

Tatum has talent. It would be great to see him as CapAm and pls god not John Cena.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 8:04:18 AM

Channing Tatum, not Will Smith.
i3u7n5 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 9:04:16 AM

Call me a purist but...Cap isn't crosseyed so no, Tatum can beat it. And if Will Smith can play Captain America then I vote Robert Downey Jr as Michael Jordan in the eventual biopic.
acslaterson writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 9:25:47 AM

^^^HAHAHAHA!!!
Bonzaitri writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 10:02:22 AM

Patrick Wilson
thunder3 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 10:03:21 AM

no Tatum in Captain America! McConaughey could do it if he bulked up like in Reign of Fire, but I still think the perfect choice would be Brad Pitt. all american, blonde haired square jawed actor.
makingcircles writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 11:03:12 AM

No Tatum...no Will Smith....No Cena...Matthew M is okay if he can lose the accent (or just tone it down). He's getting too old to play the cap though.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 11:44:17 AM

Excellent point makingcircles. Society is ok with the road going one way, why not the other?
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 12:46:51 PM

snith all the way, hell john cena and channing tatum arent bad either, but wen they go together for the avengers... SICK!!!
coldplayesence writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:04:28 PM

i3u7n5 that was pure awesomeness man!!! lolz!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:25:48 PM

Matthew McConaughey or nothing, period, nuff said.
Blank x2 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 1:40:56 PM

What exactly has McConaughey done to make everybody want him to be Captain America? Do you guys really want to see Wooderson with the shield? Really?
dlrippr writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 2:06:28 PM

well, all of these ideas sound horrible to me, cant wait to see captain america!
tolgaboy writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 5:24:40 PM

nick fury was also white and now he is black ?so its good and will is box office
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 5:29:02 PM

^^^ ultimate nick fury is black tho. Hell naw i dont wana see smith an cena play cap.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 5:48:57 PM

nick fury was black what are you talkin about tolgaboy
HOCK writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 6:01:09 PM

I love Will Smith, but I really don't think they should make that much of a change to the character. They already made Nick Fury black.
vampires_suck writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 6:24:29 PM

Are you serious with that comment Red? If you are you need to check your comics history mate.
BlahblahIV writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 9:38:48 PM

I'd like to see Greg Kinnear as 'Cap, though if it came down to Cena or Matt Mc, I'd have to say MM. And as much as I like Smith, I dont think Marvel would choose him, only because I imagine Smith comes with a large price tag, which would drive the budget of The Avengers pretty high.
Adamtheflash writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 9:45:13 PM

I love how passionate people are about wrestlers not playing roles. I'm gonna play devil's advocate and root for Cena. That will really piss some people off. It will be great!
Post_Man_87 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 10:19:08 PM

I said it before and I'll say it again. Guy Pearce. I'd even go with Eric Bana or something along those lines. And that's a big N-O to all those other choices, especially Cena. Next thing you know they'll be offering the role to Paul Walker........
whoever writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 10:27:26 PM

I say give it to Viggo Mortensen
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 11:59:55 PM

NO WILL SMITH! FOR f*ckS SAKE! HAS THE WORLD GONE MAD?!! and not this f*cker either, or John Cena! My god they need to pull a little deeper into the acting well for this film.
LastActionHero writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 6:30:57 AM

Isn't it bad enough this dancing queen probably ruined GI Joe??? And yes a black man is out of the question, ESPECIALLY Will Smith.
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 9:18:41 AM

Since he thought Smith would be fitting- he's not allowed to be Cap. Smith is THE actor but that doesnt mean he has to be at the top of the list for every f*cking movie with a little hype. He had his superhero flick- it sucked after the first 20 minutes...deal with it.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 3:03:59 PM

My vote is for Dennis Leary.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 3:08:01 PM

Or: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1292175/
the_tortel writes:
on April 18th, 2009 at 3:55:50 AM

No no no no no no no, no Will Smith, go play Captain Africa..
Mighte Migit writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 7:39:03 PM

HELL NO i think that guy is a redneck homo

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved