WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Seth Rogen Commits Rape in "Observe and Report"?

Posted: April 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Seth Rogen Commits Rape in "Observe and Report"?Submit Comment
For those of you who are planning to see "Observe and Report" should know that there is a bit of controversy revolving a particular scene from it. The scene in question, which also appears in the restricted trailer, is when Seth Rogen takes a passed out Anna Faris home for some bedroom fun. You can clearly see that Faris is unconscious with a bit of vomit coming out of her mouth. While Rogen is pumping away, he pauses for a second, but Faris yells out: "Why are you stopping, motherf*cker?"

Feminist group WomenAndHollywood considers that a rape scene and that Rogen takes advantage of a girl who never gave her consent. The group says that the film shouldn't take such treatment of women lightly and believes it is an insult to all the women that have actually been raped in real life.

New York Magazine defends the scene, stating that Rogen's character is desperate for a connection and that Brandi is the only thing in his life that comes from a place of sweetness rather than darkness. The scene doesn't make it seem that he wanted to rape her, but what it does show is him stopping when he realizes that Faris may be unconscious.

The magazine adds that it's hard to even take that scene seriously, since Rogen's character is a complete sociopath and does things in the movie that are a lot worse.

Take a look at the restricted trailer below and let us know if you believe that's rape.

Restricted Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read our "Observe and Report" review.

Source: Vulture, WomenAndHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 1:48:34 AM

pfft, he stopped, she said "Why are you stopping!!", not rape...and its comedy, do you think the guys who made this will try and make rape funny....and personally, i dont really care for feminist groups anymore, even my mother beleives they take things way to seriously
masKritic writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 3:19:09 AM

f*cking feminists
WV-Films writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 4:12:36 AM

The writers save themselves with having her half awake. Otherwise they knew the uphill battle they'd be in for.
Bystander85 writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 6:28:50 AM

^---Agreed, still though, f*ckin feminists.
Ronsauce writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 7:55:38 AM

It's already been mentioned, but f*cking feminists. There are people out there who think that merely having sex with a drunk girl, even if she is fully cognizant, is still rape. So f*cking stupid. I do like that WomenAndHollywood's first letters spell out WAH though. "Oh noes, she was raped, call the wahmbulance!"
aaronborg13 writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 8:16:41 AM

it is just a movie. why are they making it look like an insult?
dwightschrute writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 8:48:50 AM

whats up with the f*cking feminists man?! This is ridiculous...
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 12:56:55 PM

What? She gets HERSELF piss ass loaded, he takes her home, we come in on that scene without knowing how he got her there and the humour comes from the fact WE THINK he has taken advantage of her only to find out that really she's just an inconsiderate drunk who WANTS to pounded to sleep without putting in an effort.
rwhyan writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 2:47:36 PM

Yeah, why the hell is this a big f*cking deal in the first place. It's a movie, if someone wants to rape the sh*t out someone then by all means please do. This wasnt even rape, she was f*cking awake... wow I hate people.
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 4:34:10 PM

Funny that the controversy is over rape and not the sudden and unwarranted violence or drug use in this flick (which I loved). The dude beats the sh*t out of about twenty cops and all anyone is concerned about is him putting his d*ck in some drunk whore (and no, I'm not a misogynist, but the girl is clearly portrayed as a slut and an alcoholic). Furthermore, it's not rape - while she's obviously drunk she never tells him "no" and goes so far as to ask him why he stopped.
Gunslinger writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 5:56:18 PM

What if she's drunk and masturbates?
shadaypr writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 7:56:10 PM

Well, I do get the feminists' point, but it's not rape. NY Mag's defense doesn't do the movie any good, since him being desperate and lonely doesn't make any difference as to what's right or wrong, or rape or not. The intentions matter, but not to define the action, just the aggravation when judging him. You can accidentally kill someone with your car, but that didn't mean you didn't kill him/her. I do get the point that if it weren't for that safe action of him checking out on her, it would be close to the situation of a sober guy having sex with a girl that he knows is not fully conscious to reject him. I would consider this latter situation pretty close to rape, but not rape, since she decided to put herself in such a half-conscious state, contrary to a rape-drug case. I say "close to", because getting drunk doesn't mean that anything done to you while you're not conscious enough to avoid it is acceptable, although it is your responsibility to avoid taking such a risk. In her case though, she got drunk with him, which means she put herself in that risky situation with him knowingly, on top of the fact that she showed agreement. Calling her whore or alcoholic wouldn't make it any better or condescending to him and yes, he's a sociopath and he can do a lot of worse stuff in the movie, but I don't think how that could make any difference, unless you were suggesting that he's an anti-hero, which is my impression, and that he's actually doing something wrong in that scene, although it's not rape. In brief, having sex with a woman who you're not sure is conscious enough to agree to it shouldn't be shown in a condescending way, as if agreeing with the act, but I guess (hope) that's not the objective in the movie.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 8:09:40 PM

this is so dumb, saw the movie - hilarious!
Gunslinger writes:
on April 11th, 2009 at 10:08:54 PM

And, hey, I thought you had to be drunk to have sex with Seth Rogen.
DCScotty writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 12:39:31 AM

This is unbelievable! Seriously, am I the only liberal that reads this site? I love Seth Rogen, I think he's brilliant and one of the most refreshing things to come out of Hollywood in ages, but OF COURSE THIS IS DATE RAPE! In order for sex to be consensual, both individuals must be equally cognizant of what is going on. Sometimes even if someone is heavily intoxicated and they answer in the affirmative when queried about sex by someone much more sober than they are, that is still a situation where the individual is being taken advantage of. Haven't you idiots been drunk before? Seriously, have you ever been drunk? Well I have, and when you're intoxicated, your inhibitions are drastically altered. To translate for all you numb-skulled conservatives, that means you make decisions and consent to things that you would never would have while sober and clear-headed. Does this set the bar for rape very low? Yes, it does. But a low bar is necessary in order to protect victims, and deter predators. Also, stop with the feminist bashing. Honestly, grow up. You can disagree with their tactics, but all feminists are trying to get is equal and fair representation for women. Is that such a bad thing? Honestly, you guys need a little less Jesus and a little more Barack Obama. GROW UP!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 5:16:35 AM

Please, we all agree with equal rights for woman in the world, but sooner or later feminst groups will continue to act, and eventually it will be women who have more rights then men.....and since i'm a man,and i get drunk and have sex with a sober woman, DOES THAT MEAN SHE RAPED ME??....Another thing, why is it ok for women to have women only clubs, whilst it is sexist to have a men's only club?
femspotter writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 9:23:25 AM

Why is the female character a "slut" and "whore" but you people don't use that same negative language for this man who is "sticking his d*ck" in the so-called slut and whore? Feminism is very important! In Afghanistan, politicians are currently trying to legalize spousal rape - which was, by the way, legal in parts of the United States until 1993.
Ronsauce writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 10:29:28 AM

@DCScotty: Shut the f*ck up dude. I'm liberal and Canadian...which makes me like...super liberal. I get drunk often enough to know that if I didn't want to do something, I could still vocalize it. Alcohol lowers inhibitions, but it doesn't polarize your thoughts and opinions. It's not the fact that she didn't say "no" or "stop." She flat out asks him why he did stop implying that she wants him to continue. Seriously, did you pass out and get butt-hurt from rape before? Is that why you're all sensitive to the fem-nazis' plight?
turnage76 writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 11:34:49 AM

i hate fems....
kingofscreens writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 11:39:33 AM

umm, just in case anyone is confused, it counts as rape if the woman is too drunk to make a rational choice. So if she's wasted, puking, and half-conscious she can't give consent, even if she can say the words "don't stop". i.e. if she wakes up the next morning remembers it and is pissed, then you go to jail, i.e. the place where the tables are turned.
Ronsauce writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 1:05:19 PM

@kingofscreens: Maybe some courts would see it as rape, but reasonably speaking, they'd be wrong. The definition of rape requires force or the threat of force. Having sex with a drunk chick requires neither. Also, if a girl can't control her actions when she's drunk, then she shouldn't be drinking...unless alcohol can also take the blame when it comes to men who are drunk having sex with drunk women. I mean, if she's too drunk to realize that she might regret the sex(or as she might refer to it the next morning, "rape"), maybe HE's too drunk to realize that in this femnazi world of women always being the victims, he maybe shouldn't have sex with her(which in reality, is damn near impossible for a guy to just turn down sex just because a girl is drunk...especially if the guy is drunk). Also, bars and clubs should all be shut down if this is the case. They promote drunken sex. Girls get dressed like sluts...dance like strippers...get hammered...often get cheaper drinks... and guys get drunk and look for p*ssy. It's like a woman is hanging a big ol' "Do me now" sign around her neck if she gets drunk in a club while dressed like a slut knowing that ALL of the guys there are just trolling for ass. Bah, I know my post isn't exactly coherent, but I just feel really strongly about this. Also, this reminds me of my favourite pick-up line... "Hey, does this smell like chloroform?"
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 1:13:21 PM

Jesus people- its two seriously mentally damaged people having mentally damaged relations...There is no rape...The scene cuts, leaving out the consent, so the AUDIENCE THINKS its Seth's weird deranged character being a deranged rapist...BUT NO...the HUMOUR comes from the fact she's just as damaged as him, and has roped him into consensual sex where she's being an inconsiderate drunk using a man for sexual activity in which she doesn't have to put in an effort or romantic attention. WATCH THE f*ckIN MOVIE before ya spout your stupid bullsh*t and nonsense.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 12th, 2009 at 2:14:42 PM

Seth Rogen is playing drunk for that scene too, so everyone just needs to chill, see the movie befor you judge it
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 13th, 2009 at 9:36:07 AM

Wow, people are sensitive or just looking everywhere for a fight or publicity. It can't be argued that Rape isn't bad, this movie can be though so get over it.
SomeRandomChick writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 2:33:25 AM

It's rape. She would never have given him consent when she was sober-- the movie made that clear. Getting drunk does not mean that "she asked for it" or that she deserved it. Her character was a moron, yes, but that doesn't mean she deserved anything she got. If a guy gets drunk and has sex with a sober girl, no, that's not rape-- there's no threat of violence. Men are, generally, stronger than women. With women, there is ALWAYS the threat of violence. Always. If you were a male, who went to a bar, got trashed, and ended up having sex with a guy-- WITH YOU ON THE BOTTOM, by the way-- I think you would feel like a victim, don't you? Would you have "asked" for it because you happened to get drunk next to Bubba the giant bisexual rapist?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 10:29:33 AM

I'm sure Gina Carano is stronger than me, what if i get pissed as, she is sober we have sex, that means she raped me, she is stronger than me physically!!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 14th, 2009 at 11:09:36 PM

goddamn f*cking feminists! they all need to shut the f*ck up and die! no one cares what they think! honestly! all they do is make women look even crazier and bitchier!
LastActionHero writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 11:26:37 AM

They are just trying to get their names in headlines. Same thing the sc*mtrash at Peta do.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 6:16:18 PM

Do you know what the difference between sex and rape is? Answer: Salesmanship.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 6:16:46 PM

And vomit makes great lube!
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 6:18:14 PM

TO: Space_Ghost11 - re: feminists: "all they do is make women look even crazier and bitchier!" Is that even possible my friend... lol?!
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 6:19:40 PM

And women get themselves sh*t-faced, down in the gutter drunk, so when they do get plugged like this they don't feel as slutty because they blame the booze. Bitches... can't live with 'em... can't leave 'em in the ditch when you're done with 'em.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 6:22:58 PM

You know how you can tell if a woman is crazy and/or is a slut? Answer: check to see if she's got a vagina.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 7:00:42 PM

Let's be honest here. If Seth didn't force-f*ck his bitches... he would never get any at all... EVER! And that's just not right.
The Worm writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 12:31:53 AM

bitch

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved