WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: Gary Oldman is Howard Stark in "Iron Man 2"?

Posted: April 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: Gary Oldman is Howard Stark in "Iron Man 2"?Submit Comment
We recently reported that Gary Shandling was spotted on the set of "Iron Man 2," with several sources claiming that he has joined the cast as a reporter or Senator. Commenting on the confusion via Twitter, Shandling joked: "I can't wait to see the movie to see who I actually play."

IESB has now learned that Shandling will play a character named Senator Stern and he won't be the only Gary on the set. The site added that Gary Oldman has joined the cast as well, potentially as Howard Stark, Tony Stark's father. Tim Robbins was previously rumored for the role, but the actor recently revealed that there is no truth to that.

Regarding Oldman, it's pretty amazing that the man was able to go from a DC Comics' franchise (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight) to Marvel's "Iron Man 2." The last time that happened was with James Marsden, who was both in Marvel's "X-Men" films and DC Comics' "Superman Returns."

Update: According to Oldman's manager, the actor will not appear in new movie. "Mr. Oldman has not visited the set of Iron Man and there are currently no plans for him to appear in an Iron Man film. I hope this clears up the recent rumors," he said.

Click here to read more about "Iron Man 2."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Pepeman writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 4:35:54 AM

What's so amazing about that? role is a role....
thomas deadison writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 5:30:00 AM

What's not amazing about Gary Oldman?


Someone name a better actor than Gary Oldman.
aperfectravesty writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 5:48:37 AM

...Daniel Day Lewis
BobMcBob writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 5:50:00 AM

Anytime a film can get Oldman it's a plus
aperfectravesty writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 5:51:03 AM

P.S.- I'm not saying that DDL should be in movies like this...just that he's better
Pepeman writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 6:02:34 AM

no i meant that there is nothing AMAZING about being able to from DC to Marvel movie..to him a role is a role. Gary oldman is a living legend in my book. " EVERYONEEEEE" i mean c'mon. he's awesome.
thomas deadison writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 6:38:26 AM

DDL & Oldman need to make a movie together.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 8:26:32 AM

sweet deal! "I havent got the time for this Mickey Mouse bull-sh*t!!"
Bonzaitri writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 8:27:46 AM

Gary Oldman is the greatest
pjmbdm writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 8:42:05 AM

Howard Stark was some great man, I mean to be able to have children at 7 years old?!?!?!?! Impressive. Ha, I'm just joking about Oldman being 51 and Downey being 44. Leave me alone, I have to go to work in 10 minutes and it's cold and raining.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 9:12:44 AM

^^ Nice hahahaha i wanna call you PB&J hahaha theres a good nickname
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 9:49:20 AM

I LOVE Oldman, but they should have gotten the man who already played the role in 1, or gotten Tim Robbins.
Donald Kaufman writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 10:17:29 AM

Better actor? Mmmm...nope. Got nothing. DDL's been said. Maybe 1970's DeNiro. I'd like to see Travis Bickle and Drexl Spivey go fisticuffs. Couple of crazy's.
dwightschrute writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 10:54:25 AM

Tim Robbins, Gary Oldman...its practically win-win. Love those two.
thedudeman69 writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 12:33:39 PM

OMFG. this movie is so epic already
coldplayesence writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 1:19:07 PM

thomas deadison acept it, you got owned so epicly up there. But actually you're right Daniel an Gary oldman should do a movie together. I smell some bad western between them-
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 1:26:19 PM

I think he fits that role well.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 2:53:16 PM

ooo...they're playin hardball...cuz i'm game now lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 8th, 2009 at 5:02:33 PM

oh well...i'm still game, iron man 2 will be better than the 1st
dwightschrute writes:
on April 9th, 2009 at 10:57:17 AM

Oh that's too bad. He would be a great papa Stark...bring back Tim Robbins!!
mattcl23 writes:
on April 9th, 2009 at 5:12:19 PM

I'm all for this move 100%. Oldman is the sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved