WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer to Make Taliban Film

Posted: April 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer to Make Taliban FilmSubmit Comment
Disney and producer Jerry Bruckheimer (Black Hawk Down, Pearl Harbor) have acquired screen rights to Doug Stanton's upcoming book "Horse Soldiers." Bruckheimer will produce.

Story revolves around a band of elite special forces and CIA operatives who secretly invaded Afghanistan post-9/11 on horseback and helped Afghan fighters capture the city of Mazar-i-Sharif and topple the Taliban.

In "Horse Soldiers," the operatives helped orchestrate the invasion by bribing local warlords and using high-tech communications to coordinate the assault and equip the Afghan soldiers. They also held off an ambush during the surrender of hundreds of Taliban troops.

Scribner will publish the book in May. Stanton previously wrote "In Harm's Way," the story of the sinking of the USS Indianapolis during WWII. Warner Bros was at one point developing a big screen adaptation.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:04:41 AM

lol what??...since when does disney take an interest in this genre?...not sayin this to be mean either...but not many kids would be too interested in this
Donald Kaufman writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:33:10 AM

^^They really shouldn't. I'm not saying the source material will be great, probably read like a Clancy novel, but the reality is way too dark to be done by mega-whores like Disney and Bruckheimer. f*ck this f*cking industry sometimes.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:34:58 AM

@ synthetic1985 - thats exactly what I thought
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:48:40 AM

this is a movie that should be made...without disney...bruckheimer can do it if he wants...but disney needs to stay the f*ck out of this....disney was always about family films...and that there is definitely not a family film...if disney keeps doing movies like this, it'll be way too soon before their reputation is completely lost
acslaterson writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:00:28 AM

Cool sounding project but thy the hell did Disney buy it? If you haven't seen the South Park with Mickey Mouse watch it immediately!
acslaterson writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:02:11 AM

why*
Donald Kaufman writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:04:32 AM

Although, to Disney's defense (and it doesn't mean I condone them doing this film) they did put out Wall-E last year and that film dealt rather maturely and creatively with a serious theme. It was the only "Green" (tired catchphrase) conscious film lately that was so clever that I forgave any semblance of preachyness. However, the Taliban question has much sharper edges than green one--could be done very wrong.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:36:04 AM

typical for some of the movie companies huh?...they'll go any lengths and/or screw anybody for a story...and wow i just kinda quoted cheri oteri in scary movie 1 lol....GALE SWALLOWS! haha
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 10:45:13 AM

Disney ALWAYS had interest in this genre...go back to the 80's and up and every hardcore action film with Buena Vista on it was from the Disney gravy train.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:00:32 PM

i meant since when does disney take an interest in the events of 9/11 or taliban or iraq or sumthin...cuz still kids won't be balls to the wall excited over this
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:50:55 PM

Disney is just the mother...there's NO WAY Disney will have their label on this aiming it for kids. It's not Hidalgo- they'll use one of their sister affiliates like Touchstone, Hollywood Pictures, and Miramax as they ALWAYS have when dealing with films of this content. Disney backed The Rock, Gone is 60 Seconds, Metro...the company is a monster under many names.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:03:37 PM

well if that's the case...it shouldn't be under disney's name...but whatever...disney isn't the same anymore...and they'll never produce another cartoon animated movie again cuz they think it's 'low technology'...i'll prove them wrong right now....kids still watch spongebob...that's all the proof you need to know cartoons are not dead...just like classic rock isn't dead...or oldies music...people still listen to a lot of sh*t that would range from anything before 2000 cuz it was probably more creative....when was the last time any artist made a song that sounded similar to soundgarden's 'black hole sun' that sounded like classic rock?...only red hot chili peppers have had a few songs...but really there is no one else....yet
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:30:23 PM

The film probably ISNT under Disneys name...but they buy the rights under the mother company's name (which in this case is Disney) and then they have one of their affiliates distribute and produce it...that's how it works...this news is DIsney bought the rights with Bruckheimer and now Bruckheimer will produce it under the Hollywood or Touchstone banner like they did for Enemy of the State, The Rock, Gone in 60 seconds, etc, etc....and on your unrelated music rant have ya picked up anything from Sam Roberts recently? Sounds like the 70's classics to me- so you might enjoy it.
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:34:46 PM

...oh and this new band called Pearl Jam has been doing some marvelous things.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 5:13:34 PM

but pearl jam didn't form in the 2000s...i'm just saying there's not as much good wholesome music as there used to be back then....these days, there's more sh*tty music playing than there is good music...the hip hop stations are a joke....they play hours of songs with vocal voice tuners and it's getting overly annoying...makes me never want to try it
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 5:57:17 PM

no...but they've continued on well into the 200's with NEW music. SO... you're complaining about no classic rock music in the 200's when all you do is listen to what the radio provides? Man...the music you're talking about wasnt even played on the radio because they exceeded length requirements...get off your lazy ass and search for it. It's out there- you're just complaining because it isn't mainstream and you want radio stations to supply your tastes. Try a record store or something-jesus. You're my least favourite person on this site to communicate with- you're either whining or totally f*cking confused.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 7:54:51 PM

PrevalentMind...you're wrong on both accounts...i don't listen to the radios...it's every time when i do, that i usually hear the same sh*t....and yea pearl jam may come up with new stuff...but are there A LOT of bands making new and great original songs that'll live on in 5 or more years?...no...and i'm sorry i'm your least favorite person to communicate with...but like myself, you don't think before you speak and then chew me out for it....and btw i'm not the only one whining about it...everyone else i talk to about it agrees that music from this decade is heavily overrated than the decades before....why else do people still listen to oldies?....and when you try to be your own artist making your own music, it's really hard to be familiar with a lot of other artists as well as keeping up to date with all of their songs....so go ahead...think lowly of me...forever...seems to make you happy
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 8:51:48 PM

and since i'm your least favorite person...i'm betting you wouldn't even give me the chance to produce a great song...granted i don't make the best material...but i do try my very best with what i've got...i try to make each song i do as best i can and if it simply doesn't sound good enough to me or others, i put it on hold and work on a new or different one, and then come back to that to see if it's still worthy....but i guess that sort of thing doesn't matter to you, especially since it's coming from me....unless i'm wrong about that please, feel free to say so
whoever writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 10:37:07 PM

Disney will probably set Zac Efron to star!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved