WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Studio Comments on Freddy Krueger Casting

Posted: April 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Studio Comments on Freddy Krueger CastingSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that Platinum Dunes has selected Jackie Earle Haley (Watchmen) as their new Freddy Krueger in the upcoming "A Nightmare on Elm Street" reboot. Now, Platinum producer Brad Fuller posted a message on his blog with a few thoughts on the casting.

"It should come as no surprise then that Jackie Earle Haley is playing Freddy Krueger. He was the only person we ever considered for the role," he said. "We can't make all the fans happy, but those of you who are open to a new version of the 'Nightmare' story have to be as excited as we are."

He continued: "Come on people, an Academy Award Nominated actor is playing Krueger. This was no small accomplishment, but everyone involved wanted it to happen. He is a huge fan of horror, and well aware of the rightful place Freddy Krueger holds in the horror pantheon. Quite simply, he knows what he has to do, and is very up to the task."

Click here to read more about "A Nightmare on Elm Street."

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
shadaypr writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:38:37 PM

He did a great job in Watchmen as well as in Little Children, so yeah, no way I can complain about that choice!
makingcircles writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:44:19 PM

I'm all for it! Just make it more than "jump-out of your seat" scary. Make it creepy. That'll be the challenge.
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:50:27 PM

Can't complain about the casting, might be able to complain about everything else. We'll see.
thedudeman69 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:11:35 PM

this will be epic
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 8:01:37 PM

i'm sorry but if i were jackie earle haley...i'd pay my respect to wes craven himself and would have said no to the offer...regardless of how much money was offered or if fans think he's good for it...don't get me wrong, i think he's good for the role...BUT...i'm with wes on this all the way...whether if i'm standing alone or not...i'd never replace a role or do a movie without the original creator's consent...especially if the creator doesn't think it's such a good idea...don't give a f*ck what studios or fans think about this, the decision should be rightfully up to wes...and don't worry...that's just my opinion on the subject
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 8:39:22 PM

"Quite simply, he knows what he has to do, and is very up to the task." .......that's right Jackie Earle Haley ......it's time to put on the gloves and put some people to sleep ........FOEVER! HA HA HA HA!
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 9:53:07 PM

i still hate the fact that they refer to these remakes as 'reboots'...if it takes the name of its original and more importantly is based on it, what else is there to conclude other than it's a remake?...call it reboot or retelling or re-imagining, doesn't matter cuz it all falls under 'remake'...whoever came up with the idea of using 'reboot' instead should be slapped across the face...by webster's dictionary lol
bacci40 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:01:03 AM

synthetic1985...after being shunned by the biz for 15 years, i dont think jeh is in a position to turn down high profile rolls...ya, it sucks that craven is out of the loop, but its a biz...and i am happy for jeh
Donald Kaufman writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:14:43 AM

They're appealing to his Oscar nod as cred for this film? It must not have very much credibility on it's own. "It's gotta be good, a dude who almost won an Oscar actually agreed to be in it." Anyone ever seen Gigli? Well Pacino is in it and he's actually won an Oscar. Surprised more people don't see Gigli based on that fact.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:22:15 AM

for those who wanted someone else... f*cking suck it! Jackie Earle Haley is the best f*cking choice for this, hands down!
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:16:56 AM

i always knew if there was a remake for this that it'd be played by someone else....but knowing how wes craven feels about this...he probably would have never remade it, that, or would've cast robert englund...what i don't understand is this....why is it that all these popular titles from the past are getting remakes to appeal to new audiences?...it's not like people from my generation never heard of classics titles on our own...kids watch 'wizard of oz' and i'll bet hollywood plans on remaking that...regardless of the hard work and passion those people put into it...they'll lazily do it with cgi and green/blue screens because they think it needs new technology applied to it, so they can make more money off of it and piss off many many fans....take nightmare on elm street remake for instance....will the effects be far more superior than freddy vs jason or even the original?...i wouldn't think so...people are mainly gonna watch this because of how it will compare to the original, even if that's not the reason...it still compares...only ones who don't know any better haven't even watched the original and probably will say the remake is better...i'm not saying don't watch it...i'm just saying it's sad that hollywood loves screwing over its well known directors....watch, 10 years or less we'll see a remake for scream
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 10:20:41 AM

He's more than perfect, nuff said. NEXT!
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 10:40:24 AM

Pay respect to Wes himself by opting out? I'm pretty sure it was Craven and Englund who spearheaded the idea of a remake because the story's nightmares and dreamscapes deserved the addition of modern effects. Imagine if even a half assed delToro wannabe gets his hands on this...all it needs is the right touch.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 11:55:58 AM

PrevalentMind...that doesn't make sense though...why would they spawn the idea of a remake if they can't participate in it?...i know it's just business and the studios are allowed to do it....but being a true fan and being respectful of wes....i can't help but take sides with him

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved