WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Viggo Mortensen to Quit Acting

Posted: April 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Viggo Mortensen to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
It seems to be becoming a trend in Hollywood, for popular actors to announce that they are tired of working and will quit making movies forever. Joaquin Phoenix has done it, so did Angelina Jolie, and now you can add Viggo Mortensen to that list.

"In the past week I've been from Los Angeles to Japan to Korea to Poland to the UK. It's ridiculous and it's not a healthy way to be. But, as it happens, I'm taking measures to change that. No more movies," he told News24. "I haven't said yes to one in over a year. I've been in all these well-received movies and it seems like I should be doing some more, but there are other things I want to do. It's not the right time."

The "Lord of the Rings" actor also revealed he rejected several roles in big budget movies, insisting he would never appear in a film just for the money. "They were often complete crap, all about product placement and marketing. I don't need the money," he said.

At this point, Mortensen's upcoming schedule is pretty empty, making this a good time to quit. But David Cronenberg recently revealed that he is working on an "Eastern Promises" sequel and wants it to focus on Mortensen's Nikolai character.

Source: News24


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Pepeman writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:44:56 PM

Man i hope that Eastern Promises sequel/spin-off gets made. Viggo was so good in that.
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:49:31 PM

This is horrible news. Viggo Mortenson is one of the best actors working today.
jjjjjoey writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:05:52 PM

Right...no more movies...Just like Angelina and Joaquin...
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:09:24 PM

Give the man a hiatus. they always take 3 years off to compose and find themselves again after putting so much into their roles. He'll be back with the right projects...When I hear "no more 'movies'" I do not hear 'no more FILMS'. Give the man his much needed break- he's gone so deep into all these performances- he deserves to focus on himself. Let him get bored and come back welcomed. Phoeix on the other hand- I still think that guy is on to some sort of experimental project because you dont say "no more movies" just to turn around and have Casey Affleck follow you around for a year with a high definition movie camera. Somethings up there...and I dont think its simply Phoenix gone crazy.
thedudeman69 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:12:24 PM

I think this guy has been working non stop since like 2000 or something?
JakeVermont writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:14:45 PM

please Viggo at least do the Eastern Promises Sequel!!!! U were brilliant
Strider999 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:56:05 PM

Thats Not Cool Ive Always liked Viggo Mortenson he is an Incredible Actor
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 8:08:43 PM

it's his life...i say let him do what he wishes...he's a very awesome actor...i wouldn't blame him for coming back, not at the very least bit...and the part i was most touched by is when it says 'he would never appear in a film just for the money.'
Bonzaitri writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 10:35:34 PM

At least Zac Efron won't be quitting the game anytime soon. Every cloud has a silver lining...
Schwasted writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 11:08:52 PM

Viggo isn't just an actor, he's also an artist. I hope The Road gets released soon, I've finished the book. Viggo shouldn't be put in the category of Phoenix and Jolie... they are "movie stars"
Osiris3657 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 11:23:49 PM

I'm sure he'll take a break and be back, they all do. Plus in the special features for aHoV, Mortensen he would do anything Cronenberg asked of him, so I'm sure he'll still make this purported sequel, at the least.
bacci40 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 11:54:17 PM

lay odds that he will start making small indies...which is fine
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:13:08 AM

WHAT THE f*ck?!! COME ON!!
markmanuel18 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:01:33 AM

Bye Viggo,I've always thought you were a Tad bit overrated, can't say I'll miss you much, do what you have to do.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:23:25 AM

it's nature dudes...he wants to be something else other than an actor...i'm sure he'll come back and do a few more...but it looks like he has other professions on his mind that he wants to see done in his lifetime...let him have it...besides...he's got enough money and i think he's smart enough to make it last
LonnyManCan writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 2:59:14 AM

"he would never appear in a film just for the money" .. good job Viggo
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 4:59:11 AM

i give him and everyone else that worked on lord of the rings props cuz everyone worked really hard on that...2 years to film it....three 4 or more hour long movies altogether...and the guys at shrek wanted to be able to say they worked a whole decade sitting on their asses making animated flicks lol
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 10:17:56 AM

Wow, come on Viggo you're one of the underrated actors who turns out good stuff on a regular.
rainy writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 11:01:53 AM

maybe he doesnt want to naked dudes anymore
paulina_0228 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:57:10 PM

Too bad, he is one of my favorites, hopefully he'll come back.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 1:35:17 PM

If he does Eastern Promises 2 and another Appaloosa I'll be good.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 10:24:14 PM

FOLKS! The ALL do this... Anthony Hopkins all the way back to Shatner before EVERY f*cking Star Trek sequel. They do this sh*t to drive up their price. If something doesn't make sense (excluding women) - it's usually about $'s (including women).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved