WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "It" Adaptation to be Rated R

Posted: April 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that Warner Bros has started work on a big screen adaptation of Stephen King's popular novel "It," about a group of kids who encounter a creature dressed as a clown that preys on children.

DreadCentral now caught up with writer David Kajganich (The Invasion), who is tasked with putting together the script for the new film, which might end up being R-rated.

"The remake will be set in the mid-1980s and in the present almost equally -- mirroring the twenty-odd-year gap King uses in the book -- and with a *great* deal of care and attention paid to the backstories of all the characters," said Kajganich. "I think the real twist here is that my pitch to WB -- which they've assured me they're on board for -- is that this will not be PG-13. This will be R. Which means we can really honor the book and engage with the traumas (both the paranormal ones and those they deal with at home and school) that these character endure."

He continued: "I plan to be very protective of the book. The reality, though, is that WB wants to do this as a single film, so I will have to kill a few darlings to make that happen. You have my promise, though, that I will do this with the utmost humility and respect for King's work. He's the King, after all, and I intend to continue to pledge to him my allegiance."

Source: DreadCentral


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rwhyan writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 4:13:13 AM

Sounds to me like this could blow the Original away. mmmm baby!
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 4:43:15 AM

IT is impossible to faithfully adapt into a feature film. I look forward to seeing what they do with it, but I'm not getting my hopes up.
acslaterson writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 8:29:35 AM

Well if they wanted to faithfully adapt it it had to be rated R, this is a good first step. Oh, adapt Cell already! Tell Eli Roth to shot or get off the pot!
i3u7n5 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 9:10:44 AM

Yeah Eli! shot or get off the pot!
acslaterson writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 9:38:05 AM

Haha, damn iPhone always screws up my posts!
shteak writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 10:34:46 AM

Nah... They could do a decent adaptation, but i doubt they'll pull it off with anything under 3 hours...
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 11:10:31 AM

This mite have to be a 3 hour movie.........but don't worry you get to have even more fun now Pennywise heh heh heh HA HA HA HA!!
pjmbdm writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 5:43:14 PM

Just as long as they don't put that dumbass spider in the end I'll be happy!
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:27:24 PM

I can see this done very well in a tighter film...I love the PG original but come on- there's WAY too much unneeded exposition in the 3 hour film and the ONLY reason it was that length was because they needed a mini series to fit perfectly into 3 TV time slots... They can soooooo make a 2 hour version of this thing that's lightyears better than the TV production.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:30:11 AM

Sounds like it'll be good, even though the first (original) was great but maybe now they'll get more across that they didnt in the 1st. It needs to be way creepy and f*cked up, on edge of your seat never know whats coming around the corner stuff. Just need to re-cast Tim Currey (maybe) he did great with what material they had in the original and with this new one he could probably do even better.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved