WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise to Remake "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid"

Posted: April 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise to Remake "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid"Submit Comment
OK! Magazine is reporting that Tom Cruise is currently trying to remake the 1969 classic Western "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" as a starring vehicle for himself and close friend John Travolta. The two actors have been looking for a project to do together.

Cruise was able to get the blessing of Paul Newman, who played Cassidy in the original opposite Robert Redford's Sundance, just months before the film legend succumbed to lung cancer last September.

Cruise would play Sundance and Travolta would be Cassidy in the remake of the film that was nominated for a Best Picture Oscar and won four in other categories.

"It has been a pet project of his that has been on the back-burner for years," said a source. "But now he's ready to go, and will most likely happily eschew the enormous salary that he normally commands."

The source continued: "Butch and Sundance is a labor of love for Tom. He was eight years old when he saw the original and it made an impression that has stayed with him all his life. He can't wait to get to work."

Source: OK! Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:02:37 AM

nice...this should be a good remake...paul newman agrees...that's more than enough for me...but also a plus that tom cruise loved it since childhood
OLK writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:08:29 AM

f*ck off this is sh*t, f*cking Scientology Cowboys, will people ever learn to leave classics alone
markmanuel18 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:22:30 AM

NO NO AND Did I say NO Leave this alone, Tom Cruise. No one should remake this movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:27:46 AM

well let's just see what happens...if people are ok with it then i say why not....i was pissed about them doing a new joker for the dark knight...but that turned out great and i changed my mind when i heard how they were basing it off the comics...i mean two face couldn't have looked more true...if we don't see any more of him i won't complain...they satisfied my expectations greatly...and joker didn't die...that was unexpected for me...anyway i guess i'm sayin i'm givin this a chance
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:29:41 AM

if it turns out bad though, consider me an idiot lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:32:20 AM

also, one more thing before anybody who heavily disagrees with me on giving this a chance...nothing beats the originals....just wanted to point that out
Schwasted writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:34:16 AM

This is a really bad joke.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:45:19 AM

OK Magazine? Since when did gossip mags become legit sources for movie news?
PencilNinja writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 4:04:54 AM

So is this gonna be an actual remake of the movie, or a retelling of the lives of these two outlaws? Perhaps a new ending even since nobody really knows what happened to them...
MRW007 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 4:26:07 AM

this had better be a joke!
Nohands[NL] writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 5:41:20 AM

Johm Travolta is to old for this role... No remake pleasse...
dwightschrute writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:01:22 AM

APRIL FOOLS!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 9:11:12 AM

Oh dear god no.
jik009 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 10:01:40 AM

Why does everyone reference the Dark Knight for everything?
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 10:04:22 AM

No, it should be Brad Pitt playing Redford's role. COME ON!!!!!
Cryan Jack writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 1:19:07 PM

NO! Bad Tom! Baaaad! Now go to your room and think about what you did! You can come out once you apologize.
mattcl23 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 2:58:50 PM

Good luck livin' up to the original, as well as Redford and Newman. This sounds like a very dumb idea. Guess we'll just have to wait and see.
thedudeman69 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 4:33:46 PM

wow. Paul Newman would kill both of them
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:23:37 PM

This is absolutely terrible news and I cant believe Cruise and Travolta are not ashamed of this. They're not even the right age to play these roles. This film is one of the few truly timeless films that hold up very well these days when compared to modern filmmaking. Awful news.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 8:30:59 PM

PrevalentMind....i think you, me, and everyone else in our age range would agree, our dads would be pissed about this lol
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 7th, 2009 at 12:34:00 AM

fuuuuck that!!!
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2009 at 10:26:01 PM

Sorry guys. This is a movie that should NOT be redone. You can't remake perfection. And the original was that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved