WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fast & Furious" Sets Box Office Records

Posted: April 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fast & Furious" Sets Box Office RecordsSubmit Comment
"Fast & Furious," the fourth film in the franchise, grossed over $72 million in its opening weekend and beating all the other previous installments. "2 Fast 2 Furious" previously had the highest opening with $50.5" million.

Domestically, it's the best non-holiday, three-day opening in Universal Pictures' history. It's also the biggest opening of 2009, as well as the biggest April opening ever. Previous record-holder for best April reelase was "Anger Management" with $42.2 million.

And in addition to the amazing domestic results, the new movie also conquered the competition at the international box office, bowing to $30.1 million for a worldwide opening take of $102.6 million.

Miramax's dramedy "Adventureland," the weekend's other new wide release, grossed an estimated $6.2 million from 1,862 locations, in line with expectations.

Click here to read our "Fast & Furious" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 6:51:22 PM

Dang I didn't think it would do that good!
thedudeman69 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:17:54 PM

FF5 is going to be made in the next year or two.
acslaterson writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:37:41 PM

What is with the movie going public? A couple of weeks ago I Love You, Man took 2nd to Knowing and this week Adventureland barely made a blip on the screen. Both of these comedies had way better reviews than their competition. Well I guess the theater won't be that full when I go see Adventureland tomorrow.
dwight writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:40:59 PM

The movie was BAD FOR DAYS!! Couple mistakes but still I didn't think it would be that good.
lost_addict writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 9:25:43 PM

well,with all the success of GTE and the return of vin diesel and paul walker I guess all males between 13-35 ran to the cinema to see this piece of crap
i3u7n5 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 9:35:42 PM

I really like Vin Diesel and want him to do well but....come on.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 10:07:36 PM

@ i3u7n5 - pretty much what I was gonna say, people just dont know whats good and whats sh*t and then whats really good and whats really sh*t ya know? They just never need to make another one of these films ever!
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:00:23 PM

uh oh....was fast and furious terrible?....still haven't seen it yet...is it at least better than 2?...cuz that's all i was hoping for
doneehoward writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:14:28 PM

well.. yes. its better than 2. :)
dwightschrute writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:17:39 PM

Wow, that's amazing. Didn't know people loved cars THAT much....
c-prime writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:50:35 PM

Don't buy too much into all the negative flack, synthetic1985. I saw an advanced screening and expected it was gonna be mediocre just like the rest of the lot, but I was pleasantly surprised. To me, it's easily the best film in the series. It won't win any awards for writing or drama (can you do anything right, Paul Walker?), of course, but it's pretty damn entertaining as far as popcorn movies go. WP's review is a gross hyperbole, if you ask me.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 12:02:00 AM

well...whether it's good or bad...it's broken records now so it's got that to always look back on...especially in a bad economy these days...and to be honest...i thought any one of them could die at any moment in the movie...could care less....i'm just glad to hear it's better than 2 fast 2 furious....can't say that i wish 2 and 3 never existed, but it's nice that they waited to use more new and up to date cars...and sooped up old ones :)...reason i love the classic dodge charger so much is cuz my dad built one from scratch, in parts of course...was a 1968 model
dwight writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 12:04:49 AM

When are you people going to realize that just because you don't like a film doesn't mean its a piece of crap. I don't like Jason, Freddie , or any of those horror dudes but I don't go around dissing them because I don't enjoy them. They have fans and I respect that. I'm not even a Fast and Furious fan but all the films have been good. If you don't feel that way accept that that's your opinion not everbody. The box office results proved that. Talking all that dumb sh*t. Bunch of haters man.
jjjjjoey writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 12:11:34 AM

Great opening. I just came from it-it was really good. Its way better than 2. The cars were coo, and story kept me interested. Check it out if you liked the other movies. I guess more people like cars than comic books, huh?
borat writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 12:22:41 AM

Adventureland was effin hilarious "don't go to sleep cuz i'll jerk off on your face" lolol that movie was too sweet
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 12:39:52 AM

dwight...i agree...i just gotta watch myself more on that...we all get outa hand on things...but that doesn't change my mind about things like nightmare on elm street remake...i'm still with wes on that most definitely heh...reason i disliked 2 fast 2 furious so much was well for one, ludacris did it for money, story wasn't based on the first like it should have been....so it was basically a 'not for the passion' kind of thing to me...i liked the 3rd better than 2 because it was a different type of racing...and took it to japan...the technology kings lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 12:40:55 AM

btw i still wanna see 'i love you man' and 'adventureland'....comedies usually do well...either in box office or respectfully on dvd like 'waiting...' and 'grandma's boy'
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 1:38:04 AM

yeah its pretty good, id have to say its probably the best one of the franchise, even though that’s not saying much lol alot better then 2fast and Tokyo drift, maybe better then the first one, its entertaining, and also brings out some humor with the characters as well. Paul walkers kinda more of a bad ass in the new one, and vin diesel does his part
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 1:44:25 AM

and synthetic 'i love you man' and 'adventureland' are hilarious, if you were a fan of ‘forgeting sarah marshel’ and ‘knocked up’, you'll like those movies
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 1:53:21 AM

i can tell....i liked what i saw in the trailers lol...anyway that's good to hear...besides....FF4, granted we hate seeing sequel numbers up the ass, but it's more worthy than 2 and 3...and i'm glad it did better than both
c-prime writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 1:55:07 AM

I just saw "Adventureland" today. Not too shabby. Far more emotional than I expected, but it was an excellent dramatic springboard for many of the actors involved.
steamluv writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:09:55 AM

. . . .um . . yeah thats all I got.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved