WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Trek" Gets an MPAA Rating

Posted: April 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Trek" Gets an MPAA RatingSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures has announced that the official MPAA rating for their upcoming "Star Trek" film is PG-13 for sci-fi action, violence and brief sexual content. While nobody expected for it to be rated R, this is only the third "Star Trek" film to not get a PG rating. The other two being "First Contact" and "Nemesis."

"Star Trek" will center on the early days of seminal "Trek" characters James T. Kirk and Mr. Spock, including their first meeting at Starfleet Academy and first outer space mission.

The new movie is directed by JJ Abrams (Mission: Impossible III) and is scheduled to hit conventional and IMAX theaters on May 8th.

Click here to read our exclusive "Star Trek" preview.

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 6:11:48 AM

don't care at all for this film.it ain't trek.might look at bit like it but it ain't.looks more like a star wars film without jedis or other cool stuff.and there is and only ever will be one Cpt. James.T.Kirk.
Dannoral writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 8:43:27 AM

that means for everybody in Europe ^^
lost_addict writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 8:44:48 AM

if the movie will be half as good as it's latest trailer i'll be very happy
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 9:19:40 AM

Looks far FAR better than all the existing Trek films. This one looks awesome. It's gonna blow all the old ones away. ...and how is "this is the THIRD Trek to earn a PG13" news?? If it was the FIRST, MAYBE it'd be news.
Spanza2 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:38:20 AM

GOOD...most movies with PG rating suck anyway think Speed Racer, etc
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:52:54 AM

I have more sci-fi in my room compared to the original star trek- I frankly dont give a f*ck if it doesn't 'look like' a cheesy artifact from the 60's with overweight and over actors screaming at each other for dramatic intensity.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 1:33:16 PM

I'm excited to see this, the newest trailer was f*cking amazing!
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 3:18:37 PM

Spanza2....very true....too bad we can't see any more great pg films like poltergeist, innerspace, beetlejuice, three amigos....funny those were all originals too...we'll never see any more as long as they keep up with the remakes and sequels n stuff
thedudeman69 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 3:59:10 PM

thank god it's pg 13
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 4:04:47 PM

oh and at least the kid from alpha dog didn't get his start from disney or nickelodeon...i'll watch this...but probably not the sequels...not gonna pay to watch star trek or any other movie remake on its 2nd or 3rd remake lol...i'll watch the first remake...but not payin 10 bucks to watch it in theatres...and this one is a prequel...but i'm not so interested in this as i am for an original title such as 'imaginarium of dr. parnassus'
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:27:21 PM

Well, they're rewriting the timeline instead of remaking it...Star Trek has always had the time travel aspect- so with the old spock aiding his young self it's a way of totally rewriting the story from scratch while sticking to the rules of the star trek universe. It opens an ALTERNATE timeline where both the old and new films can exist separately in their own right...
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:46:39 PM

PrevalentMind...you may be right...but in the real world....to me....it doesn't....put it this way....if they had made more episodes and movies with the old stars, at their age when they were doing it at the time, more of those than what we know now, would you watch it over some new stars replacing those roles?...i'm one who would
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:38:00 PM

Oh totally I would synthetic- there's no doubt about that. But this is about continuing a franchise that almost died and I for one love capable people who take over roles...I for one am excited about the CHARACTERS despite who performs them. I'm one of the few I guess who doesnt see the new face- I just see the character. If we can let Batman or Jack Ryan have a legacy with new faces taking over the role now and again- there's no reason why Kirk of all characters shouldn't deserve to move into new storylines. Continue the character- not the actors' pay grades, and thats just how I think when it comes to casting roles like this. It's KIRK not shatner...its SPOCK not Nimoy...but I'll always watch the originals as a fan...you always want to see your favourite characters experiencing new adventures (to the new generation all the old episodes are unseen) so fanboys will go back to the old just to pass time until the next sequel. It wouldn't be the first time. Even Mask of the Pantasm went up in video sales just before Batman Forever came out theatrically...people will watch the old while they wait for the new. HOWEVER, I do feel that this film will create a new trend among fanboys- may even divide Trekkies..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved