WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

FoxNews Columnist Fired Over "Wolverine" Review

Posted: April 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
FoxNews Columnist Fired Over "Wolverine" ReviewSubmit Comment
FoxNews columnist Roger Friedman recently downloaded an illegal copy of "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," reviewed the film and then posted that review on the FoxNews website. In his article, which has already been taken down, he claims that the movie is so good that 20th Century Fox does not need to worry about the film appearing online early.

In just a few short paragraphs Friedman not only admitted to downloading the film illegally, but he also disrespected the industry and condoned grabbing stolen films off the internet. Since both FoxNews and 20th Century Fox are owned by NewsCorp, it wasn't going to be long before Friedman would have to face the consequences.

DeadlineHollywood is now reporting that FoxNews took swift and severe actions. Roger Ailes, who overseas FoxNews, deleted the offending post after he was contacted by 20th Century Fox and then fired Friedman as a freelance FoxNews entertainment writer. The move was done with the full support of NewsCorp.

A FoxNews source revealed: "He promoted piracy. He basically suggested that viewing a stolen film is OK, which is absolutely intolerable. So we fired him. Fox News acted promptly on all fronts."

Source: DeadlineHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
flymikei writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 4:50:44 AM

good.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 5:17:20 AM

Sacking one moron out of the 1000's of morons who work at FOX aint really gonna help them!
FBO writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 5:34:30 AM

Wow skippy, have you ever thought about being more tolerant of other people?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:37:03 AM

Yeah i usually am, but never with FOX
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:38:19 AM

But i got respect for Hugh Jackam, the cast and crew of Wolverine.....but he biggest respect goes to David Fincher, apparently one of the only men int he world who can tell FOX producers to go and F themselves wehn they tried to change the ending of Se7en and Fight Club
BlueMobius writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:17:21 AM

As annoyed as I am with FOX, I'm glad they made an example out of this guy. He was an idiot for doing this.
Spanza2 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:37:13 AM

Hahaha FBO, being tolerable???? of FOX???? thats funny even though Fox Searchlight has produced some of the best movies of late and fox tv has had some great shows, i have no respect for 20th century fox and fox news, sorry but no reason to be tolerable of people that straight up suck
Blank x2 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 12:10:51 PM

Why do people like Skippy care so much about a movie studio? People, we are talking about a MOVIE STUDIO. Some of you act like this is an evil corporation hell bent on taking over the world. Get a life, and realize we are talking about FOX....A MOVIE STUDIO.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 1:35:04 PM

he's a rebel and sometime or another they get taken down
Ronsauce writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 1:44:37 PM

Uhh...viewing a stolen film is ok if you plan on seeing it in theaters or buying it when it's officially released. It doesn't hurt the industry to watch movies before they are released. The guy was an idiot for exercising such poor judgment, but there are far worse offenders working at Fox than him.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:04:08 PM

lol it's going CRAZY over at Fox these days I have a feeling it's not all over yet.
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:41:33 PM

I would have fired him for lying about it being good. Granted being in his position he should have known that promoting the illegal downloading or reviewing of a unreleased movie such as this was going to be BAD BAD news. Yet with that said FOX should fired 90% of it's people from the top to the bottom the skew facts in their supposed news outlets, but instead as usual they make a HUGE deal of this case, not that this guy wasn't asking for some heat.
roseredscare writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:52:18 PM

Considering that FOX was out for blood after the leak, it was really poor judgment on the part of the reviewer. I don't know if it was worth getting fired over but he should have known not to have touched the subject with a ten foot pole.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 3:15:08 PM

i agree with The Skippy Spartan....only cuz he's right about that....there's obviously more than any one moron working for any one movie company...and i also appreciate the work hugh jackman and crew did on this film....we're not acting like these bad movie companies are evil organizations...we're simply stating how much we hate the fact that they ruined x-men universe as well as other movies....and nowadays, regardless of the sh*t that happened, the execs make it sound like it's still all about money
Post_Man_87 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 3:36:44 PM

In other news.........
Gunslinger writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 3:55:45 PM

If they really wanted to do something good for the company, they'd fire Rupert Murdoch.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 3:56:55 PM

wasn't finished yet heh....so yea they make it look like the industry is still all about money.....and as more and more than the average american seems to suffer...they'll keep making more money and we'll suffer more....and it's not just fox that does all this...but lately fox has been getting the most attention as they're putting themselves down...the 3d glasses thing for instance...all those big movie companies are gonna hurt their business....why?...well how many 3d films per year does fox make?...not that many or none....fox has good movies...but the company name will have really bad reputation if they keep making dumb decisions....it's almost as if because people started downloading movies, the industry took notice and decided to make crappy ones so when they download them they'll be like 'this movie is sh*tty!'...of course that's not true...but i'm sure many have thought that...people have been downloading movies illegally for quite some time...and does it REALLY hurt their income?...not at all...cuz there are plenty of dumb people out there that will waste money on movies like dragonball no matter how much we don't want them to or how hard we try to convince...just watched one of the cartoon episodes of x-men where bishop travels back to the 90s....f*ckin awesome episode...you see when cyclops dies and jubilee and everyone else....kinda like a terminator universe but with sentinals instead....i felt so much more entertained watching that than the drama in the movies....it's really simple...x-men is not set in a realistic world....never should have been that way in the first place....that's why i don't like the movies as much as i like the 90s cartoon better...what's worse is that there's a crapload of mutants we still haven't seen and probably will never see....ok i'm done
AP102390 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 4:04:39 PM

this' a step in the right direction, but if we know anything it's when FOX takes one step forward, they tend to take a bunch of steps back.
bacci40 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 4:19:11 PM

congrats to all you sheeple...think friedman has carte blanche on the articles he writes and uploads? think he doesnt have to first present the article before publishing? think he wasnt told exactly what to print? he is a fall guy and should sue the f*ck out of fox
AP102390 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 6:12:20 PM

and if that is true which now that you say it that's probably what happened, then he probably will sue the sh*t out of them.
Pepeman writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 8:13:03 PM

synthetic1985...man..i really...hate...rea...ding..your...posts..why..do...you? ...use...so..many....dots...? Is..it...becau...se....you...want..to...stand..out.. from..the..crowd..or...is..it.. because..you..dont..know..proper...grammar..?
freesquirrels writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 8:21:26 PM

Wheel had to stop on someone, and if your going to brag obout it in their face then you better have some big ... reviews?
jake812 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 9:33:19 PM

i couldnt possibly care less
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:37:16 PM

Pepeman....sorry but that's just how i've typed ever since i used aol's 'aim' to chat with my friends...and because of that, my typewriting got faster...and i can also type with proper grammar, but only when i absolutely have to...didn't know it was the law to type normal...if you don't like it, don't read it...simple....and if you're gonna get mad at me for saying that, well that's just your problem....you can tell me 'f*ck you' or 'i hope you burn in hell forever' or call me names or degrade me or whatever...i don't care cuz i'm not the one getting bothered by it....sorry if it sounds mean...but i'm just trying to be as honest as i can
Planetastudios writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:58:36 PM

lmao. whatever, FoxNews still rules
Pepeman writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:06:30 AM

No no, im not getting mad or upset. You had very valid points and now i know WHY you write like that. So now i can get "over" it. Thanks for clearing that up :)
Pepeman writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:08:30 AM

And, i also want apologize for sounding like a f*ckin' *sshole in my first post.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 3:16:12 AM

don't have to apologize dude...just chill
the_tortel writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 6:03:39 PM

If I could sing, I would sing a song I just wrote, it's lovely, it's entitled, "Who Gives a F@#* ?"
PrevalentMind writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 7:41:49 PM

YET- Fox News and 20th Century Fox are SUPPOSEDLY unaffiliated. Yeah right 'damage control'...We're not as stupid as you think. Either way, the guy's a tool for reviewing an UNFINISHED movie- not simply just a pirated one.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved