WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Should James Bond Lighten Up in "Bond 23"?

Posted: April 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Should James Bond Lighten Up in "Bond 23"?Submit Comment
"Quantum of Solace" is now out on DVD and while many agree that it wasn't better than "Casino Royale," it still maintains the dark tone and an incredible amount of action. According to "Solace" director Marc Forster, the James Bond character should lighten up and become more charming in future installments, similar to the earlier Bond films.

"For me, 'Quantum' was a continuation (of Casino Royale) with a little darker, harder Bond," Forster told Sun Media. "But, I was thinking that in the next one Daniel [Craig] should go into the direction of lightening up. Bring back a little more of the humor. Bring back the lightness. I think it would be really interesting."

Forster also revealed that he will not be coming back to direct the next Bond installment. "They offered me to do it," he explained. "But I said to them that I would rather go and do other movies and explore other genres. But never say never again."

Would you prefer if James Bond lightened up or should he continue being a dark, violent character?

Click here to read our "Quantum of Solace" review.

Source: Sun Media


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kal-El writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 6:17:02 PM

He should be a baby. A spy baby.
Stuash writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 6:27:50 PM

Does it really matter what we think?
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 6:41:00 PM

Casino Royale nailed the character. Follow that template, no need to debate "darker/lighter." It should be a perfect medium.
BobMcBob writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 6:47:06 PM

the grammar of the title is wrong again; it should be "Should James Bond Lighten Up in Bond 23"? do the editors here speak English?
CinefiloPeru writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 7:19:51 PM

they f*cked, but i presume that was a mistake.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 7:29:50 PM

The direction the character's on is perfectly fine. Keep it up. But there's nothing wrong with having a little fun from time to time in any film. You just have to pick the right spots and not over do it...otherwise it comes off as hokey and lame.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 8:16:25 PM

i dnt even care...
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 8:17:22 PM

clive owen should have been bond
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 8:21:38 PM

who f*cked up that casting job lol
leezy84 writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 8:25:48 PM

no way clive owen daniel craig is great
acslaterson writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 8:50:50 PM

He will lightenup a little, he came to terms with Vesper's death at the end of QoS. That was why he was so pissed the whole movie.
Osiris3657 writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 8:55:01 PM

The best part of this article is hearing that Forster won't be back.
dwight writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 9:40:57 PM

Number one Barbra Broccoli is totally destroying the legacy of her father. It started with casting Daniel Craig. He's not ugly like some people have said,but he doesn't have the bond look.The same way Brad Pit is considered one of the best looking guys in Hollywood but he wouldn't make a good Superman. He doesn't have the Superman look. Daniel doesn't understand or respect the Character Bond. He was reported saying that he didn't want the role. He just wants to make as much f--ing money as he can. He calls Moneypenny,gadgets and Bond's traditional charm GAGS! There not gags. There what makes Bond, Bond. And Casino Royale was a very good Bond film. But the reboot idea was pure madness. Reboot means to basically erase the previous movie. The same way Dark Knight Erased Batman. So what are they trying to say. ThunderBall,For Your Eyes Only, GoldenEye never happend or hasn't taken place yet ARE THEY CRAZY? f*cks everything up if your a diehard Bond fan like me.They didn't need to set Bonds first mission in modern time just to tone down the gadgets and save the world plot.They could of modified Bond and kept the same Timeline. To answer the question. Yes, Bond should return to his original self. That's what they said the purpose of the reboot was. To show how Bond became this cool stylish guy that we all know. Campbell understood this thats why Casino Royale ended with "The names Bond James Bond" Character grew. Quantum was supposed to bring bond full circle, but by not bringing Campbell back to direct ,or by Cubby's daughter and stepson not knowing what the f*ck there doing . The whole point of senseless reboot was lost. Bond is not this dead,boring,screwface killer he's being portrayed as anybody who thinks he is or tries to make him that is not a true Bond fan.
dwight writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 9:55:34 PM

Damn right RedHeadedStud!. Clive would have been perfect but the Bond people are cheap.Pierce wanted over 20 million for CR. Daniels getting like I think 30 for three movies. Clive would have been more money.
LonnyManCan writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 10:08:45 PM

lighten up .. like Pierce Brosnan
vwkombi writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 10:16:34 PM

I think that if they make the Jason Bourne character lighten up he might become a little bit similar to James Bond. I still don't see why they chose Daniel Craig to play Jason Bourne in the remake, or why they even chose to remake the Bourne series so soon after the Matt Damon version.
lost_addict writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 10:49:15 PM

I don't know if Craig is fit to play a more lighten up bond,that was more the gift of Roger Moore and Connery.all the other bonds(brosnan,dalton and lezzenby)sucked balls.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 11:13:49 PM

shall we shag now... or shag later?
DNAonherCHIN writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 11:14:38 PM

no keep bond just as he is!..i know it will never happen but i designed several teaser posters for a GOLDFINGER remake..check them out here http://www.flickr.com/photos/36534465@N04/
BondMcClane007 writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 11:31:47 PM

dont lighten bond up. this reboot was a nice new perspective. if the response to this perspective is positive, y change it to the same old perspective already explored 19 times?
Gunslinger writes:
on April 4th, 2009 at 11:39:50 PM

He has a license to kill. I don't think they mean it in the stand-up comedy sense. If someone in the movie says, "Wow, James. You really killed out there tonight!" I wouldn't think they meant he made them laugh. I'd think it meant he blew people's heads off or ripped out their entrails while drinking a martini.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:07:57 AM

daniel craig is good but hes to much of like a emotionless stiff robot lol and right on dwight! clive would have beeen perfect, hes got the bond look and bond attitude, and whaaat theres a jason bourne reboot with daniel craig? so soon? that doesnt really make sense, i thought matt damon did i fine job
Lulupendragon writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:39:22 AM

I like the current Bond. He plays it real well. As for the gadgets, I think they were going more for a Bond that uses his wit and brute force rather than a fancy gadget. Its easy to pull a pen out and fire a rocket from it, but its more difficult to use your surroundings to get the job done. Thats my 2 cents.
rocketman writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:48:56 AM

no,roger moore almost killed 007 with that sh*t
leezy84 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:12:17 AM

daniel craig is playing bond how it should be how the character was originally potrayed ...all the other bond films were jus random films none tht carried on from each other bond needed freshing up and clive owne would of been the same borin sh*te like peierce brosnan and i agree roger moore f*cked bond up with his camp ways it dosnt f*ck anything up DWIGHT coz like i sed b4 the bond films never carried on from each other they were jus random stories ... DANIEL CRAIG FOR TWQ MORE BOND FILMS PLEASE like his contract says ... i enjoyed casino royale and quantom of solace more than having bad guys in secret volcanos and bad guys with diamonds stuck to there face ... but he will looosen up in the third craig bond because at the end he was mad wit the death of vesper ..DWIGHT this is how the original bond is supposed to be a license to kill your not a true bond fan ur jus a cheese fest rodger moore brosnan fan
avaela writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 7:56:51 AM

Bring back Brosnan, Q and the crazy gadgets and stop trying to be Bourne.
dwight writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 10:28:41 AM

What nonsense are you writing Leezy84.? What does the former Bond films not being direct sequels of each other have to do with bonds style or character? Not a damn thing. Most of the books weren't ether. And your right the old films were on a nons-specific timeline but Casino mess that up by M making reference to 911. The reboot would have made sense if they had hired a man to play the original M. M was not a woman when Bond went on his first mission. That change happend in the end of one of John Gardner's books around the same time as in GoldenEye. Judi Dench should of been let go for the story to make sense. And if you think that QS is better than You Only Live Twice (Your volcano reference) or even Die Another Day(despite over Cgi) I feel sorry for you man.
horrorfan005 writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 11:42:40 AM

The last bond sucks it was a rip off of the Bourne series i mean they didn't even have Q in it.Come On!
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 5th, 2009 at 2:43:11 PM

NO keep him serious no nonsense with quick comebacks. Yeah a medium ground but not silly or gadget driven.
leezy84 writes:
on April 6th, 2009 at 2:24:19 PM

dwight i feel sorry for you that you even think tht ... i loved them bond films when i was about 12 all bonds have been cheesey as .. until daniel craig has come in making them grittier and more realistic .. and to the guy who sed q wasnt in the last one you mean he wasnt in the last two but i think he will be in the third craig bond ... qauntom of solace was better than them films its jus a bridge to the third film to bring down this quantom organisation
LonnyManCan writes:
on April 10th, 2009 at 7:41:56 PM

I agree with avaela
LonnyManCan writes:
on April 10th, 2009 at 7:44:33 PM

DNAonherCHIN .. pretty cool designs

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved