WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Venom" Spin-Off Being Written

Posted: April 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Venom" Spin-Off Being WrittenSubmit Comment
Even though "Spider-Man 4" is already in the works, Sony Pictures is still proceeding with a "Venom" spin-off, which would focus on the villain previously played by Topher Grace in "Spider-Man 3."

Screenwriters Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick, who are working on Sony's "Zombieland," are writing the "Venom" script. While they refuse to give away any details, they do feel the pressure with handling the property.

"It's terrifying. It's source material that everyone knows and everybody's familiar with, and everybody loves," Reese told FirstShowing. "And so there's a burden on you to meet the expectations of people. With 'Zombieland,' you just come out of left field, and they like or they don't. They're not going to feel pissed if you f*ck it up."

There is no doubt that "Venom" would be a big earner, but "Amazing Spider-Man" comics' Todd McFarlane believes that a film based on a villain would likely not be very good.

"I'm thinking about how they want to make anti-heroes nowadays," he said, citing Halle Berry's disastrous turn in "Catwoman" as an example. "Those don't work. The reason they're so cool as a bad guy is because they're bad. And as soon as you try to give too much humanity to them, then you go, 'No! Now they're not as good as a bad guy because you're trying to redeem them'."

Do you think this "Venom" spin-off can be good, considering Topher Grace damaged the character a bit, the screenplay is being written by inexperienced writers and films based on villain usually bomb?

Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 6:45:02 PM

Unfortunately I agree. This is a bad idea. Topher grace in a tentpole film is tough to begin with, not to mention it's a villain movie. I'd like to see Vin Diesel play Venom maybe.
jik009 writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 6:57:19 PM

There is only one way that Venom can be a 'good guy', and that is taking on the other symbiotes...like Carnage. He isn't really trying to help humanity as much as he hates the other symbiotes. That seems like a lot to try to shove into a movie. I'm not saying Topher was any good, but it was the writing that destroyed the character more than he did.
acslaterson writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 7:04:42 PM

Bad idea, Venom is a psycho that now actually eats people in the comics. Making him a hero would only work if he teamed with Spidey to take down Carnage and as soon as they did he would go after Spidey again. Could have been the plot to Spidey 4 if they hadn't killed him.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 7:37:33 PM

They better not mess this up....
Gunslinger writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 8:09:38 PM

I'd see a movie based on Sylar. He's the best part of Heroes right now...Anything's possible if you know what the hell you're doing.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 8:34:46 PM

i remember watching the 90s spiderman...where venom and spidey team up against carnage...and i think gwen stacy and venom go thru this portal or sumthin....anyway...it'd be nice if they could make that concept work into a movie if they decide to bring carnage in
Stringer Bell writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 8:43:01 PM

Topher didn't "damage" the character, he did a fine job with the material he was given. An awful script and an awful movie damaged the character. I'm fine with this flick and reasonably curious simply because it'll be significantly smaller than the Spider-Man films and no one from that franchise seems to be involved. Whatever, could be good, could suck. I'm over the entire Spidey-franchise at this point.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 3rd, 2009 at 12:03:39 PM

I liked Toper Grace as Venom, it was a nice character turning point for him. Again the story of SP3 was rocky, to many villians. I think we all agree Venom didnt have enough screen time and they shoudlve focused more on him & Spiderman. I think this idea could be good because it'd be like a 360 to SP3 as where it focuses more on Venom. They dont need to make him "good" or anything close to good, he still needs to be crazy & evil. I think the idea of this has potential but then it could come out total crap.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 3rd, 2009 at 12:44:07 PM

not that i have anything against topher grace....but i just don't think he was right for venom...didn't like his performance...eddie brock is supposed to look like a jock...and then there's the voice change when the venom is on him...haha what?...even i know there's no way topher grace can sound like the movie trailer guy's voice....'interested??' haha
mattcl23 writes:
on April 3rd, 2009 at 4:40:19 PM

Well they're making a Magneto movie. To tell you the truth I'd rather see a Vemon movie than Magneto. Good script and good actors could make this work. I say, why not?
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on April 3rd, 2009 at 6:41:37 PM

I'm with you synthetic1985 about him being a body builder "a jock" I thought Howie Long would have fit that part pretty well a long time ago.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 3rd, 2009 at 11:42:46 PM

i'm not sayin this is a good or bad idea...cuz obviously the madness won't stop lol...but mattcl23 is right...it would be more watchable than a magneto prequel
dianehussman writes:
on April 10th, 2009 at 11:09:01 PM

Rhett Reese sucks f*cking d*ck.
dianehussman writes:
on April 10th, 2009 at 11:09:44 PM

Just kidding. I love Rhett Reese with all my heart. His cousin is a great friend of mine.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved