WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Giamatti Upset Over "Sideways" Remake

Posted: March 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Giamatti Upset Over "Sideways" RemakeSubmit Comment
"Sideways" star Paul Giamatti was stunned when he was asked to play a cameo role in Japan's remake of the hit wine movie. The quirky film was such a hit in the Far East that Japanese film bosses decided to revamp it with local actors, actresses and settings. And they asked Giamatti to be a part of the production.

"They asked me to be in it, actually... I don't know what I was going to play," said Giamatti. "I said no. I felt my career hasn't hit that low yet. I thought, 'What am I gonna play - the sushi chef or something?'"

Giamatti is far from impressed with the actor who will play his character, Miles, in the Japanese version of 'Sideways': "They got a strange, little troll to play me."

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 8:06:38 PM

doesn't sound like something Giamatti would say; calling a Japanese man a "troll" sounds racist
bacci40 writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 8:33:33 PM

troll doesnt sound racist...it sounds like they found a short, plump guy to play his role, but took it further...nobody likes to see themselves portrayed as being unatractive
acslaterson writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 10:50:27 PM

Why is it ok for US film makers to do Asian remakes and they can't do the same? Imitation is the best form of flattery.
LonnyManCan writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 11:43:50 PM

give Japan a chance ..and you already hit low with that sh*t movie "Lady In the Water" and that crap directer M Night w/e who thinks he's really great at making movies .. I give everyone a chance, but M Night sucks .. I may even like Uwe Boll better (liked Postal for some reason)
Donald Kaufman writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 3:21:05 AM

He hasn't hit any lows. He's a great actor who, like most great actors, took a chance on a questionable film because of the once credible director attached to it. And you can't blame him for sh*tty American remakes of Asian horror films. He isn't Hollywood's spokesperson and is therefore more than entitled to speak his personal opinion about foreign remakes, which, based on my experience, are never as good as the original, no matter what country remakes them.
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 8:54:18 AM

"Why is it ok for US film makers to do Asian remakes and they can't do the same?" He didnt't say it wasn't ok, he said his career didn't necessitate him having any part in the remake. It sounds like a way of saying that he's got better things to do.
dwightschrute writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 9:05:56 AM

wow, seems like US ain't the only one remaking movies. lol
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 9:34:59 AM

Giamatti is a talented actor and I can see and agree with his take on a remake. But in saying that, he and we know this business. Logic has not an ounce of power to stop greed, especially when it has teamed up with easy money. Also Paul weren't you in Shoot 'Em Up,Duplicity & The Nanny Diaries? Yeah maybe being in a tribute to your good work isn't half bad considering.
shadaypr writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 10:41:49 AM

Riiight, Paul Giamatti, the 6-feet hot stud known as the dark-haired Fabio, calls his replacement a "troll" with disappointment. Not quite what I was expecting. And what does he mean by "low"? What's low in a Japanese remake? I don't agree with all the praise The Departed got, but I wouldn't think that Oscar-winning remake was a "low", and I sure hope he's not discriminating against the Japanese.
shadaypr writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 10:45:08 AM

...and it's a freaking honorable cameo, not funny-looking liquor commercials.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved