WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg Working on "Eastern Promises" Sequel

Posted: March 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg Working on "Eastern Promises" SequelSubmit Comment
MTV News spoke to director David Cronenberg (The Fly, A History of Violence), who revealed that he is thinking of making a sequel to the 2007 "Easter Promises" film, which stars Viggo Mortensen as a Russian gangster named Nikolai.

"It's the first time I've ever been in a situation where I actually want to do a sequel to something," he admitted. "I've never had the desire to do that before. But in this case, I thought we had unfinished business with those characters. I didn't feel that we had finished with Nikolai and we had done a lot of research that was more than we could stuff into that one movie."

Cronenberg added that many of original people are returning for the sequel, including himself, writer Steven Knight, producer Paul Webster, Focus Features and Mortensen, who received a Best Actor Oscar nomination for his role.

"We are moving forward with it. We all are excited about the idea of doing a sequel," said Cronenberg. "We are going to have a meeting very soon between me, Steve Knight and Paul Webster to discuss what the script would be. I have some very strong ideas about what I would like to see, but I would like to hear what they have to say as well. And then after that, if all goes well, Steve goes away and writes a great script. If we all like it, we make it."

Click here to read our "Eastern Promises" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Osiris3657 writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 6:16:24 PM

Awesome! The first one was great.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 7:32:58 PM

All I have to say is, f*ck Yes!!!
acslaterson writes:
on March 30th, 2009 at 10:41:10 PM

As long as there isn't another nude fight scene I am so pumped for this!
buttabean writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 12:25:11 AM

awesome that movie was awesome to the max minus the nude fight scene lol
Stringer Bell writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 12:26:20 AM

Hey, this sounds great. The first one ended on a terrific note and doesn't really need a sequel, but if everyone is on board I'm all about seeing some more of Nikolai. ACSlaterson, grow up. If male nudity legitimately makes you uncomfortable you're either a closet homosexual or you aren't mature enough to handle legitimate filmmaking.
c-prime writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 12:28:35 AM

"Eastern Promises" was one of my favorite films of 2007, but is it one that truly warrants a sequel? Methinks not, but Cronenberg movies own. He really brings out the best in Mortensen, so I guess I'm down for this.
acslaterson writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 1:16:37 AM

Stringer Bell I am all for good film making but their was entirely too many low angle shots in that scene. They didn't need to be so blatant about the nudity. Didn't School Ties have a shower fight scene? I am just saying there could have been more tasteful editing. I loved the film otherwise and like I said I would be pumped for a sequel.
acslaterson writes:
on March 31st, 2009 at 1:30:29 AM

there were*, sorry.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on April 2nd, 2009 at 12:56:56 AM

it was a pretty good first film, a sequel could definetly work out. Viggo Mortensen is an amazing actor!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved