WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

McG on Kyle Reese and John Connor's Wife in "Terminator Salvation"

Posted: March 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
McG on Kyle Reese and John ConnorSubmit Comment
RottenTomatoes spoke to "Terminator Salvation" director McG, who talked about the Kyle Reese character, the lack of humor in the film and a scene with John Connor's wife.

Kyle Reese: "We pay off a great many things that are established -- particularly with Kyle Reese. We talk about the mythology of his shotgun strap, his proficiency for stealing cars, and we see where he learned a lot of these skills. And it wasn't from Connor, it was from the Marcus character, which is one of the joys of the picture. We cite "Pain can be controlled, you just disconnect it," you know, and we realize where he got that."

Humor: "There's not a great deal of humor and warmth in this universe. It's very largely influenced by the Cormac McCarthy novel The Road. It's designed to feel that way -- detached and existential, it's got a great deal of Camus' 'The Stranger' in it. But there's a gallows humor. We could all be in a bunker somewhere, and every now and again, you elbow the guy next to you and you make a wisecrack -- what else are you going to do? It's one of the defining characteristics of being human, even in the face of death. But the movie is designed to be very serious and very credible."

John Connor's Wife: "There's a big gas station sequence that was very, very tedious, and very, very technical filmmaking. And that's why I love this film -- one day we're shooting a very intimate, character-driven scene, and there's nothing going on but Connor and his wife in a room, and she's the only one he can talk to about what's on his mind. And then the next day we're, you know, blowing up half of New Mexico, and going to a place of extraordinary action."

Click here to read our exclusive "Terminator Salvation" preview.

Source: RottenTomatoes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Osiris3657 writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 8:22:47 AM

I'm truly starting to believe McG didn't f*ck this up
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 9:33:27 AM

me to
super_suck writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 12:41:03 PM

He had to do well with this project. If he didnt, then he'd be serving drinks at Lohans pitty party.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 1:51:54 PM

We better wait.
Snarebeast writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 2:12:48 PM

I think McG has a good understanding of the characters and the world and mythology of Terminator. But if the understanding is presented badly (which, quite frankly, I'm worried about cuz McG ain't the best at what he does) then it won't matter.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 3:25:55 PM

I just didn't like that ending that was leaked but other than that there should be little to no humor because the world is almost gone. I hated it in the Matrix where there having an underground Rave party.....
PrevalentMind writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 5:12:44 PM

"I think McG has a good understanding of the characters and the world and mythology of Terminator." All he has to do is watch the movies? So...was he in a cave for the last 25 years?McG has always come across as a fanboy...unless you need to go to ancient mayan civilizations to read walls to learn the terminator mythology, I'm sure its safe to say he understands just as good as the rest of us.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 5:57:47 PM

I enjoy the idea of new blood being pumped into this franchise. However, when it comes to "time travel plot devices" you have to be careful of what you do verseus what has been done. Now, it would appear they're going off of the idea that all time travel will effect the overall timeline...Just be mindful of that, McG. Question, where the hell is Helena Bonham Carter?? She still in this thing?? Is she Cameron 2.0??
Metafact writes:
on March 27th, 2009 at 7:11:26 PM

I'm a little worried that he's shifting the focus of the story away from John Connor towards this Marcus character. I mean, is anyone else feeling cheated that this new character is the mentor of Kyle Reese and not his own son? That kind of contradicts the first film, doesn't it?
PrevalentMind writes:
on March 28th, 2009 at 1:29:12 PM

But this Marcus character also needs to be there to explain WHY a man like Connor who was chased by machines his ENTIRE life would even consider the thought of sending a machine back to protect himself and his family. Marcus gives Connor hope the machines can be used to help win the war. As for the timeline, I like the idea of "This is not the future my mother warned me about"...because he spent his whole life being told exactly what would happen and when it doesnt- its a whole new ballgame for him. SO I like the adjustments to the timeline. It gives us a bit of the uncertain and that's a good thing for a new trilogy. I'd be bored by movie one if I knew where it was going in movie three.
PrevalentMind writes:
on March 28th, 2009 at 2:03:50 PM

Also McG seems to be throwing out bits to the fans- Marcus is not going to be Kyle's mentor (telling him how to use a shotgun strap is a tidbit- not mentoring). McG just seems to want us to be excited about this new character because SMALL little connections to him can be found throughout the series. SO if you're a diehard fan you'll be able to go back to the first film and feel the presence of this Marcus character even though he wasn't even conceived of all that time ago...I dunno- but that's really damn cool and adds to the replay and entertainment value of the last few entries.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 29th, 2009 at 1:48:36 AM

JakeVermont....i figured why it was altered...it never crossed my mind till now....in the first terminator...kyle reese tells sarah something about her being in hiding for the war......in T3 john says she stayed alive as long as she could to make sure the war never took place....no hiding for the war for her if she dies before it happens...there ya go

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved