WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Millar Says "Superman" is Going Nowhere

Posted: March 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Millar Says "Superman" is Going NowhereSubmit Comment
Mark Millar has been talking about a new Superman trilogy ever since "Superman Returns" hit theaters. He has pitched ideas to Warner Bros and claims to have a big Hollywood director onboard. Here is what he said about his idea for a new trilogy: "I want to start on Krypton, a thousand years ago, and end with Superman alone on Planet Earth, the last being left on the planet, as the yellow sun turns red and starts to supernova, and he loses his powers."

Now, Millar wrote on his blog that he is tired of waiting for Warner Bros to move forward with a new Superman movie. He said: "Warner's talked to us and a few other writer/director teams, but things seem to be in stasis right now. As far as I understand, nothing is happening with Superman at the moment and so the director and I are just working on another project. If it happens, great. If it doesn't, no biggie."

In a follow up post he added: "We're one of three teams they were in serious chats with and if Superman is available when we finish our next film who knows? But we're starting production on the new movie in June and so Superman absolutely not on our dance cards anytime soon."

He went on: "A shame, really, as we'd have completely reinvigorated it, but then again I like the idea of complete control over everything I'm doing now. The idea of taking notes from the guys who liked the idea of Superman lying in bed for the final act of Returns doesn't sound good to me."

Source: Mark Millar


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 6:45:12 PM

Superman needs to be humanized in order to work, like Spider-man and Batman, which is hard to do considering he is like a God
JoshuaB81285 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 8:23:32 PM

I'm not a fan of Superman, but I'd be really interested in seeing Mark Millar's trilogy, especially the way he has described the ending.
acslaterson writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 8:52:58 PM

I think Superman will stay in this limbo status until Green Lantern comes out. If they can make a successful superhero movie set in space I think an epic new Superman series can be created. Superman fighting Darkseid or Monugl? Hells yes!
akumavern writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 9:08:20 PM

At least Singer isn't doing another one...
HOCK writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 10:00:16 PM

Does anyone else thing Miller's storyline isn't really that interesting?
MrSammich writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 10:23:38 PM

His idea is stupid, who the f*ck wants to see that?! And if you are the genre fanboys and say it is cool to find your exestencialism in a Superman movie you really need to chill Mark Millar, it is a comic book, you are trying to tie it in with the meaning of life or whatever but it is a comic book! Dark Knight didn't even stray that far out into lala land by making people question their own worth or anything, they made a good action movie with some messages in it for the fans. But this guy wants to make a message movie with some action, I would rather SLIT MY WRISTS than learn life lessons from a Superman comic or movie, and I am willing to bet that the rest of the movie going public agrees in at least some form.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 11:21:51 PM

THANK YOU MrSAMMICH!! it's a COMIC MOVIE! it's that simple! just add a cool villain. Everyone knows who Superman is and I bet they don't want to see some end of the world crap with him as the last one left that's just plain stupid. He's a hero people want to see him saving people from crazy situations and fighting against odds that are against him. Oh but he's Superman right? no one can beat him? that's not the point. Look at the old movie vs Zod everyone knew he wasn't going to die when they watched it and it was an awesome movie anyway. My point is is doesn't have to die,become dark and the world doesn't need to end just throw in a cool villain that has the possibility to destroy the planet "Brainiac,Darkside* and let him do his thing! Mark Millar's idea is F@$@&$ stupid!
coldplayesence writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 12:29:56 AM

I'll be happy if there's no Synger or Ratner in a new superman film. Oh, and no Uwe Boll, too.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 12:34:58 AM

MrSammich and WAFFLE MAN....i agree with the both of you....haha...you know what's funny though?....this guy 'Mark Millar'....he says 'The idea of taking notes from the guys who liked the idea of Superman lying in bed for the final act of Returns doesn't sound good to me'...was his THAT much better?...my idea is either don't make a movie and kill it more...or don't make it so idiotically dramatic...it's almost like these 'directors' are trying to blend shakespeare with comics....that's ok...but don't overdo it...geez mon
tolgaboy writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:38:40 AM

just a good villain ?NO LEX LUTHOR.no kryptonite sh*t just a good kick ass movie? AND DEFINITLY NO END OF THE WORLD OK
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:45:40 AM

this is why i liked the first superman 1 and 2 better than the others...haven't seen 3 or 4 yet though
Adamtheflash writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:57:07 AM

Why is it so hard to make a Superman movie where he fights a villain of semi-equal strength and power? Why is it so hard to make a kick ass Superman movie? Why does no one listen to our suggestions? Superman is not that complex of a character. They're trying to turn him into f*ckin Hamlet or some sh*t.
TGDirector writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 2:55:56 AM

You guys don't get it. They're trying to make it to where Superman isn't just all powerful. I mean there's an end to Superman at some point. If the villians don't get him then he dies himself. There's a circle of life. There's many end of the world scenario but with Superman sitting there at the end of the world, alone? That's pretty dramatic. There's life and then there's death, one big circle, even for Superman. Even for Earth. Hell, even for the freakin Sun. And Mark Miller is giving Superman a realistic view of what Superman's life would be and how it would end. How would you feel if you had to hide your indenity for life and you could tell no one? How would you feel if you're treated like sh*t in your alternate personality life and treated better as Superman? How about at the end of the world knowing you're truely alone and everybody you know is dead?
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 4:15:32 AM

TGDirector...you have a point there....but the way superman ends is up to the creator...not mark millar...all i'm sayin is...how would you feel if someone was ruining your comic?...it would be a disgrace to you and your fans right?...why else are we sayin this...we don't have a problem accepting a new superman movie it's just they need to make superman from the creator's view...not from their own
onthejon writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 4:15:52 AM

TGDirector - we get it, we just don't want to spend 3 movies and 6 hours watching it
onthejon writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 4:16:49 AM

synthetic1985- the creator's are dead, they don't care
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 4:43:13 AM

onthejon....that's true....but their fans aren't....i'm just sayin these new guys are taking it for granted...i used to work in a theater when 'superman returns' came out...and honestly i didn't see as many people interested as i thought i would...it's understandable why...like james cameron said...'they keep resurrecting it'...people will grow irrated of it at some point
thedotsays writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 9:32:58 AM

It's just a shame that the biggest and most reckognizable comic superheroes has been treated like dog-crap on the big screen. You can't go all saving cats in trees, who's your baby-daddy Lois?, or even the dark route. None of that works for Supes. He needs his so-called humanity tested. He needs to be tested on his unwavering love of humans. That's why #2 worked so well with Zod and Superman wanting to just be human. The story needs to put his devotion to the test and have him realize just how different he is from humanity. Push him to the very edge of his abilities in order to win. Then we'll have a movie worth his stature.
dwight writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 10:00:02 AM

Superman should be like Bond. every 2, 3 years you make one. New villian new adventure simple. Why is this so hard? Millar's idea sounds kinda cool,but come on the Suns not going to die for millions of years is superman supposed to live that long? And where would the third movie be set civilization millons of years in the future? Or now and then towards the end just jump to Superman standing on earth by himself. that would be a akward gap.
markmanuel18 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 10:47:09 AM

don't like Mark Millar's Idea, maybe he should put it down in comic form then I might get his vision , so I can see what he's tlking about, from right here, I'm like thanks mark millar, but I don't like your idea.
TGDirector writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 11:59:12 AM

Well, that's just it though onthejon & synethic. I was never interested in Superman to be quite honest, but Mark Miller's idea is what interested me. The idea of a beginning, a middle, and end is something to everybody's life. But it's what they leave behind that lives on. The creator of Superman lived once upon a time and left behind something great and it lived on. It's up to us as fans and artists to make that live on. Mark Miller is doing just that. Superman was very popular back then, it inspired people for reasons. Let's fast forward to the presents, we have nothing left to be inspired by because the story-teller didn't leave anything inspiring about it. What Bryan Singer did was like putting a stamp on a piece of candy saying this going to be the greatest piece of candy you've ever tasted. So when you get excited and you put it in your mouth, it's not that great. In fact you're disappointed. That's what Bryan Singer did with Superman Return. What Mark Miller is trying to do is bring that inspiration back to us in a very very real way. Giving Superman the revolutionary way to be real to us again by giving him realistic emotions depsite his god-like powers. A realistic circle of life even to Superman himself. I don't see it as someone ruining, I see it as someone giving Superman a new life, a fresh breath. I'd rather see 3 continuing interlockin stories that are good than have Superman fail again. That's like the bad luck The Punisher has from the 80's, 03', and 08'. Some people just don't do it the right way it should, it's not as good as it should be. The Punisher just happened to have 3 bad directors/screenwriters. The best we can hope for is Mark Miller doing his job right. That's something I am looking forward to seeing. Without death, there would be no life, without life, there'd be no death. Without good there would be no evil, without evil, there'd be no good. One cannot live without the other, same goes to even Superman himself.
TGDirector writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 12:10:25 PM

Another thing, James Cameron was disappointed with the third. He had nothing to do with it. In fact he didn't want to because of the fact it would ruin his first two Terminators. What he's hoping for is someone to make up for that third one and that's what he's hoping for in Terminator Salvations. He's hoping someone would pick up his metaphors and the true meanings of why he created Terminator. It leads to deeper meanings, there's other reasons other than what could/would/should happen. James Cameron is a smart man, the guy knows what he's doing and what he's talking about. Now for Mark Miller, he's doing just the same for his Superman Trilogy. He's giving it a deeper meaning, metaphors as in life moves on. There's life and then there's death. That's his metaphor even for Superman. Giving Superman something to live for and a reason to be made that way. I don't expect everybody to like the idea of Superman dying, but who likes the idea of somebody they love dying? Nobody.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:08:25 PM

ok...i'm just sayin....like lex luthor for instance, he was just mean, hardly funny at all in superman returns...in the older ones, he was a smart coward with a not so harsh side....made you wanna beat the living sh*t out of him....that's why he was so great to watch...but in returns it was like he was hellbent on killing superman and would go any length to see it done...i don't think that's lex luthor...i'm just tired of seein these guys try to put too much depth and drama into a simple story as well as simple characters...my reason for sayin all this?....is cuz i thought comics were mainly for kids...it's not like kids care about the drama side of things...why else is it more exciting when the action kicks in?
akumavern writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:31:11 PM

I personally think a good villian would be Captain Chaos and General Dissary, but that's just me.
MrSammich writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:43:57 PM

TGDirector, just chill out, you are thinking too hard, it is a comic book movie made for kids. What after the threequel is over I will buy my nephew the special edition Superman killing himself action figure. Imagine yourself as a kid watching Superman for the first time, but there is no Superman in the movie, because Mark Millar says so. Then two years later as a kid a bit older then youi get to see the sequel to the movie that you loved, assuming you like your Superman sans-Superman, but a sequil comes out and noow it is what it is supposed to be, Superman crushes baddies, cool can't wait for the sequel! Last movie comes out, no badguys, no Lois, no nothing... Superman is playing hide and go seek with himself and crushing garbage into little cubes like Wall-E. Then he dies as the sun turns red, no badguy winning the battle, no epic twists or narrow escapes for Superman, wow... that was an exciting movie. TGDirector, you are definately in the minority here, Millar is reaching out to people that look for life lessons in comic book movies, he is also trying to grab the people that want a new Superman, but in doing so by opening the story in suck a whacked out way he will lose all the nostalgia fans, all the children that just want to watch a super hero, and the people that want a recognizable Superman, and they won't make any money off that movie unless you and your buddies that want to see life itself onscreen. Yeesh... dude you need to live your own life a little more, trust me you are in the middle and the end is coming, don't waiste it wanting to learn lessons from movies, live in the now. In short, we get kicks out of seeing how cool they can make Superman now, the movie also lets my nephew dream about being a super hero, and I will have fun on Halloween watching him play Superman on crack when he is in his costume and had too much candy having fun. Because that is what these Summer action movies are about, having fun, not learning things. Sorry to rant. Peace! :)
TGDirector writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 2:03:05 PM

Synethetic, I will agree w/ you about Lex Luthor. I love Kevin Spacey just as much as the next guy. But his portrayal of Lex was a bit off in Superman Returns. My impression of Lex in Returns was that he didn't want to kill Superman. He thought it was unfair for just Superman to have those powers when nobody can have them. Remember when he was talking about Gods and power to the people? He just wanted to make the world a better place, the only catch is that it has to go his way. As for the comic books, they're were always always deep with their stories. Kids read them because it inspires them, adults read them because it inspired them. There's reasons why they're still popular today because of their complexities and storyline. We can choose to look at them simply, but hoenst to God they're not that simple. It's so much more.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 2:03:38 PM

TGDirector said: "You guys don't get it. They're trying to make it to where Superman isn't just all powerful. I mean there's an end to Superman at some point" that's were DOOMSDAY comes in. Lex Luthor is more of a huge background threat that should not have his own movie and why dose he have to be more human? "the end of the world with Superman as the last one left? Superman is a hero that inspires us with his heroic actions, if a threat comes he stops it and that's what people want to see. I can guarantee you that seeing the world come to an end and Superman being bye himself,miserable "completely opposite from the latter would bomb worse that Singers. People don't want to see him miserable leave that for Bruce Wayan. Superman returns messed up because they added a kid,too much drama,too much Lex and not enough action and lack of a huge threat to the world it's that simple:

Start with small glimpse of what's to come, Brainiac,Darside or other big villain "not Doomsday he's the climatic end" show the world busy and superman doing his regular saving people,strange thing going on around earth,big things happen superman steps up to the plate,amazing fight that goes on and off "prolong the movie "Lex interrupting doing his thing" final battle,superman kicks ass gets a kiss saves the day flies off,Lex finds news of another threat gets ready to exploit it and there's your sequel. No need for a crappy world or depressing Superman movie where he's alone that's not what that franchise is about Batman lives in that world lol.
MrSammich writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 2:10:39 PM

'It is so much more'?... *slamming head on wall*... Fine, TGDirector. Then you go make the Superman you want because Mark Millar's isn't gonna get made in any other form other than the comic I guess you are still reading. When your perfect Superman is made I bet there will be 20 or 30 other people in the world that you can agree with. But thankfully, I know it will never come to fruition, and I will be watching the awesome Superman Slobberknocker movie with him fighting Darkseid for the safety and freedom of the human race... Jesus dude...
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 3:39:55 PM

waffle man and mr sammich...i'm with you guys on that...besides how typical was it for superman returns...just one villian throughout the whole movie?...that was pretty lame...and to think superman 2 had 4....the 2 guys and 1 gal whose powers were equal to superman's...AND lex luthor...that was more entertaining to me
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 3:54:41 PM

the reason i credit the older superman movies over the new one so much is cuz not only did it have complexity as well as drama, but it also kept it simple...all under a pg rating...and they didn't even have cgi....they tried to make it the best they could...that's what i call 'real art'
HOCK writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 5:03:13 PM

I agree, all they really need to do is bring Darkseid or Doomsday into it. I know Batman and Superman are in totally different movie worlds, but I love their chemistry in the comics. Superman always pops up in the biggest Bat storylines over the years.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 12:31:04 AM

Well I can see where you guys wouldn't wanna see this. I mean you have the idiotic mindset that Superman is just for children (Mr. Sammich, Waffle Man, synthetic, etc.) I'm sure then if comic book movies are supposed to be lighthearted for little 6 year olds, then The Dark Knight was a huge let down for you. I guess the perfect Superman movie you would want to see is straight action, no emotion or hint of a plot, with tons of sh*t blowing up and Superman winning over Lois Lane. I agree with TGDirector. Where does Millar say he wants to teach life lessons? I thought this idea was f*cking epic. But I forgot, you guys like watching comics made into kid's movies. Hell, You guys probably are a bunch of f*cking 8 year olds, that seems to be ok on this site now, just take a look at the forums...
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 1:05:13 AM

guitar_dudester91....where did we say that all comics are supposed to be for kids?....i was just pointing that out on superman, not all the comics...and i'm pretty sure i never said mark millar is trying to give us life lessons....they're trying to make superman as dark and as realistic as batman....and batman has a totally different theme than superman...the realistic view of batman was acceptable because batman is only human, a realistic character in a realistic world....superman is not....and btw the older superman movies had emotion and a plot...but i guess you'd have to watch them to know that...also calm down dude....we're not trying to argue....we're just trying to simply agree and disagree....do you see me calling you an 8 year old?
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 1:09:05 AM

and when i said 'i thought comics were mainly for kids'....that meant i thought comics were MAINLY for kids...not ONLY...see my point?
TGDirector writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 1:53:27 AM

It was mainly for everyone or sometimes aimed at an older audience. But it's not a simple plot. Its a deep plot. Comics are made for those reasons. A world we can away from but yet a world we can relate to. Emotions, situations, enemies, friends etc. Everything. The problem is that you guys are just proving my point for me when I didn't have to. You guys will say one thing and then say another later on. Its confusing because it shows you don't quite entirely understand alot of the things that are needed to be understood. Guitar_dudester has a point and I know the guy somewhat and he knows what he's talking about. I'm a filmmaker myself and I learn alot everyday and there's to the point where you're learning more and more about storytelling and character developments that it becomes so much more than what you're used to before you knew everything. Comics are just so MUCH more than a story, it's so MUCH more than the characters themselves.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 3:01:50 AM

TGDirector...don't get too carried away thinking you're right...i'll accept that it wasn't a simple plot....so then basically the same applies to the older movies as well...so let me rephrase everything by saying it as james cameron put very vividly...'they keep resurrecting it'...people will grow tired of it soon and it'll lose money more than what was spent on it...and then all that hard work put into it from somebody else's view will have been for nothing...put it this way...would you have watched lord of the rings if the story was all changed around and not following the book?
onthejon writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 11:18:40 AM

a lot of Lord of the Rings was changed and did not follow the book... BTW, I'm just messing with you guys. Relax, its just the internet.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 1:23:12 PM

ok rephrase...harry potter 1 and 2...a friend of mine said they followed the book better than any other movie since then
TGDirector writes:
on March 26th, 2009 at 6:49:14 PM

I understand and not trying to be entirely right. Just trying to get you to see my point of view too. But yeah they do not follow as much as they should. The "Strategy" they use for book to film is called "short-cuts" To save screen time and just get straight to the point. If you ask me it's a stupid idea to take shortcuts. In fact it ruins the entire story overall and I don't know whether they know this or not. Or even going to learn that its just stupid to do so.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved