WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update on "The Birds" and "Poltergeist" Remakes

Posted: March 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update on "The Birds" and "Poltergeist" RemakesSubmit Comment
"Knowing" writers Stiles White and Juliet Snowden spoke to TheWrap about the upcoming remake of Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds" and the Steven Spielberg-produced "Poltergeist."

"With something like 'The Birds,' you can take the concept of birds gone crazy and put that onto a myriad of situations," said Snowden. "It was presented to us as they wanted to go back to the original source material because you just don't want to attempt to remake a Hitchcock film. But the original novella, by Daphne du Maurier, had a lot of interesting source material. Alfred Hitchcock used it as his jumping-off point and told a story that was somewhat different from the novella."

He continued: "We took that same approach and went back to the source material rather than going to his film. Ultimately, what you would get is a modern-day telling of what if a bird phenomenon happened like that again -- rather than saying, 'This person's gonna play the Tippi Hedren role,' and 'Here's the famous moment on the jungle gym.' We really tried to avoid those things."

"The Birds" is directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) with Naomi Watts and George Clooney in talks to star.

Regarding "Poltergest": "'Poltergeist' was a seminal film for us, you know, in our lives, and it's like your dad's classic vintage car that's been in the garage and you're not allowed to touch it," said White. "It's treasured; it's valuable. We see 'Poltergeist' as if, um, as if we're being handed the keys to the car and we're gonna be really careful with it."

White is keeping the specifics quiet, but offered the following information: "'Poltergeist' was a real snapshot of the American family in the year that it came out -- 1982 -- and I think what we would do with the re-imagining of it is, 'What is the American family up to today?'"

Source: TheWrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 3:21:14 AM

The birds was one of my favorite movies when i was a kid I hope they don't mess it up. As for Poltergeist........don't scratch my car!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 5:07:41 AM

i think it's a bad idea to redo poltergeist...cuz whoever they cast for carol-anne just might suffer the same fate as heather o'rourke did
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 8:15:12 AM

hooray i love when they remake stuff! you know, take classics and update them with a current setting and cast a bunch of teenage nobodies who only get acting jobs in horror films, just so the kid generation approves it.....im 21, and still thinks that blows!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 1:14:18 PM

The5thBeatle5....totally agree...i'm only 23....and they'll still keep doin that sh*t...but at least people like us on this site....well...let's just say we can tell the difference between something that should be remade and something that shouldn't....same with sequels and prequels...another 'saw' movie really isn't necessary(i only watched 1, 2, and part of 3)....tron 2 wasn't necessary...and now pretty much all the big titles of the 60s 70s 80s 90s and even this decade are being remaked or 'reimagined' or 'retold'...same f*cking difference...f*ck, they seriously think we're that f*cking retarded...last time i ever went to a theater before watchmen was for the dark knight...cuz that was a GOOD remake...and it was necessary cuz everybody hated 'batman & robin'...i didn't even like it when i was kid...cuz i saw that cartoon movie with batman and mr. freeze...and he looked nothing like the comics or the cartoon
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 1:16:45 PM

but i'm not worried at the least bit...and neither should anybody else...cuz we, the new generation of people in their 20s, are going to take our place in the world soon
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 1:18:02 PM

i say anybody on this site could do a better job making original movies than most of these 'remaking frauds'
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 2:38:33 PM

i agree with ya dude, but Tron 2.0 i would wanna see. mostly because i liked the story in it. and it could easily be done. Imprints of MCP could live on. or who knows, maybe good ol Jeff Bridges will turn into a baddy (which i think we can all see happening)technology is on our side people, i too also hate remakes of unnecessary movies. certain movies left the door open and know one would go through it. i agree man, our generation, is just paying back the last for all the great work it did. sometimes its good to pay homage. but lol im not sayin' lets remake robocop and the first terminator, or the first aliens, etc but you can adapt it for our generation
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 4:23:11 PM

There going to remake every movie EVER made until there's a new and old version of every movie I can see what there doing now. Why not? bring back old movies and make them with new content is what there thinking. Like the blob there doing that too. I bet we hear something about Critters soon lol.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 4:30:48 PM

WAFFFFLLEE MAAAAAN! I AM THE WAFFLLLAAA! GOLD N CRISPY! BAD GUYS ARE HISTRY!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 4:57:27 PM

LMAO at your comment BlutoDaBoss21 lol.
pomme writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 7:17:47 PM

i don't care about Poltergeist remake but The Birds movie is just perfect!no need a new movie!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:10:46 AM

well yea i take that back....i can't bad mouth tron...it's only on it's 2nd film....and the trailer showed enough for it to not look like it was overdone or anything like that....i say tron 2 would have the same effect as terminator 2 did...surpassing its first
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:13:15 AM

but i dunno what the hell they're thinkin with poltergeist remake....cuz i don't think the remake can beat the original, according to all the PASSION
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 1:15:48 AM

damnit....hit the 'submit comment' too soon again...anyway...i'm just sayin...poltergeist had a lot of crazy visual effects....and for them to be putting cgi into this sh*t?...doesn't make it much better than 'haunting in connecticut'
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 25th, 2009 at 6:06:47 PM

Or the new FOG movie that sucked synthetic1985 you see those effects and the story sucked.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved