WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jim Carrey's "I Love You Phillip Morris" is Too Gay

Posted: March 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jim CarreySubmit Comment
UK's Times Online is reporting that "I Love You Phillip Morris," starring Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor, has failed to find a US distributor and may end up going straight to DVD. The reason... It is too gay.

In the movie, Carrey plays Steven Russell, a married policeman from Texas, who comes out of the closet and then becomes a conman to fund his flamboyant gay lifestyle. He is sent to prison, where he meets and falls in love with Morris (McGregor). Following Morris' release, Russell escapes from prison four times to be reunited with him.

The $13 million film is based on the true story of Russell, who was sentenced to more than 100 years behind bars because of his repeated escape attempts.

The independent movie, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year, has attracted mixed reviews, with Variety stating that the "clingy physicality of Steven and Phillip" and "spectacular, ride 'em-cowboy sex scene" would give some fans of Carrey's mainstream movies a heart attack.

Lewis Tice, director of publicity and marketing at distributors TLA Releasing, said he believed the graphic homosexual sex depicted in the film had turned off distributors. "The depiction of the sexual activity was far more than I've ever seen in a mainstream film with a mainstream celebrity," he said. "There's a graphic sex scene in the first 10 minutes that I was surprised to see."

Tice added: "Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transvestite cinema is still seen as an underground, specific genre. When it comes to Hollywood mainstream, they want the widest audience possible for the amount of money they spend."

Click here to read more about "I Love You Phillip Morris."

Source: Times Online


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 6:13:30 PM

Aww come on Carrey why would you do this?
Gunslinger writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:31:16 PM

I can't believe it's even an issue these days. I think Bruno needs to pay visits a few distribution companies.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:38:52 PM

Why do you mean by that, masKritic? I think the movie looks hilarious, so that's probably why he did it. The script was funny. The problem is they have no clue how to market it.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:39:04 PM

what*
doneehoward writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:46:14 PM

I agree.. sounds like marketing issue. "Too Gay" shouldn't be a reason for failure. Not in this day and age.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 8:45:04 PM

as much as i don't like seeing jim carrey or other actors do so much gay sh*t lol....i agree with some....this should be released in theaters...why should it be any different than 'milk'...that was in theaters too...besides...people will see it by other means and still be just as shocked at carrey and mcgregor
Gunslinger writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 9:30:35 PM

Exactly, Synth. Milk, Capote, Brokeback Mountain. People need to get over it. I didn't rush out to see Space Chimps because I knew what I was gonna get. I don't think anyone would go see this and be shocked because they were expecting Jim Carry to be talking out of his ass and Ewan McGregor to be weilding a lightsaber. I also think it's kind of cool that Carrey is doing this, since Ace Ventura, if you ask me, was a bit homophobic.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 10:56:16 PM

haha...i agree....ace ventura was awesome...still love that movie...i like jim carrey's acting...but would like to see him play a new funny comical character like in liar liar or the cable guy or the mask...those are my favorite qualities of his
Gunslinger writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 11:04:05 PM

I watched The Mask the other day...Forgot how much fun that movie is. And Ace Ventura still cracks me up. He used to do a stage act and at one point talked about how when he was starting out he wrote himself a check for a million dollars. Took a few years, but eventually he was able to cash it. Kind of cool, I think...
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on March 21st, 2009 at 1:12:23 AM

The movie does look great with awesome leading men, but they should release this in theaters anyway....if not, i wouldnt mind getting it on DVD so soon
RedHeadedStud writes:
on March 21st, 2009 at 2:10:23 AM

"There's a graphic sex scene in the first 10 minutes that I was surprised to see." between two men?! doesnt sound like a movie i wanna see, even if it is with Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor
MrSammich writes:
on March 21st, 2009 at 1:48:57 PM

Yea it is too gay.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 21st, 2009 at 4:24:42 PM

but isn't that sex scene with his wife?....doesn't he find out he's gay a little bit after the beginning?...anyway...i guess my point is if i had to choose between watching this and ace ventura jr....i'd pick this...would rather not be disappointed watching a sequel that doesn't have its original star...besides...it's not like we haven't seen jim carrey kiss another guy on screen...for instance him and will ferrel on a snl skit...feeding a bird in ace ventura 2 lol...umm...courtney cox?...sorry, she shouldn't be in there...although 'cox' did leave a clue haha........i know...i'm bein dumb...i like courtney cox still...been a while since i seen her in a movie
Gunslinger writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 12:41:23 AM

Funny you would say that, Redheadedstud, because that name you chose...well, let's be honest, it does sound like you might work in the adult industry...though not necessarily with women.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 1:55:41 AM

Riddler is being f*cked by Obi-Wan or vice versa?
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 3:21:37 AM

well whatever the case i'm just glad that it's only a movie and that both actors are not really that way...but sh*t...they sure as hell can play it...i guess that's funny...i dunno why jim carrey chose to play this part...but that part in dumb and dumber where harry goes 'holy geez look at the butt on that' and lloyd goes 'yea...he must work out' haha...i dunno, but i thought that was a clue/reason
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 4:25:35 AM

Carrey is still trying to pull off the serous actor role but it just doesn't fit right because everyone knows him as a funny guy. Dang Carrey I hope you used a stunt double for the cowboy part lol.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 5:57:55 AM

haha...very awesome point waffle man...we can't look at these actors in the same light anymore...but then again...everything else isn't the same either....yet this is our generation happenin now and i say we use it wisely to our advantage
RedHeadedStud writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 1:09:53 PM

yeah you would wanna see me in an adult film faggot.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 3:36:50 PM

and look whose talking, your name is "gunslinger" now that sounds like a guy to guy porn name
reekofputrefaction writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 6:02:02 PM

actually to redheadedstud, the word stud is very uncommon in the hetero vocab these days. though it is quite common in the gay scene, thus basically having homosexual connotations nowadays. and when i hear gunslinger i dont think gay porn, i think cowboy. and your use of the word "faggot" is just obscene. i cant believe people still use that in such a condescending way these days. are that many people who read this site really, truely that homophobic? how anyone can live in this day and age and still be that afraid/turned off by homosexuality is mind boggling. its not like this is the first time ewan mecgregor has done a gay scene. anyone ever heard of velvet goldmine? all about the era of glam rock. i dont know, you guys just need to get past your insecurities i guess.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 6:39:39 PM

Thanx, reekofputrefaction. You are a gentleman and a scholar. And I gotta say, I thought Velvet Goldmine was pretty damn good. Gunslinger, BTW, is from the Dark Tower series by Stephen King, though I know that some redheaded people don't do much reading besides maybe Maxim and Slightly Tilted Baseball Hat With Saggy Pants Monthly, so I wouldn't really expect a person who uses the word "faggot" in reference to anything besides a bundle of wood to actually be familiar with a work of fiction that has 27163 pages in it. 63 mabye...
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 10:18:30 PM

i agree with reekofputrefaction...you two were gettin a little verbally out of hand...just put it in the past...it's over with now....not tryin to sound like a therapist or anything...but it did seem like things were gettin crazy....i think everyone else here needs a reminder cuz i just reminded myself right now...and i know i've slipped on here many times too....so i'm gonna say this and hope we all take it into account...'let's try not to take each other's comments the wrong way'
RedHeadedStud writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 10:33:03 PM

Gunsliners the one who called me out
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 10:59:01 PM

ok...but i'm just sayin...don't keep it up...we're past that now...and i meant that for anyone and everyone...if you guys can get past this, then i'm sure you can do just about anything else
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 23rd, 2009 at 10:41:25 AM

Insane. Super risky. Carrey & McGregor taking risk even now I see. Crazy.
pjmbdm writes:
on March 24th, 2009 at 12:32:14 PM

When I saw the trailer for this movie it looked really funny. I'm straight as an arrow and went to see Brokeback just cuz of all the hype. If this movie gets that type of attention then it will get distributed over here for sure. And when they say graphic sex scene......it's a movie, they're not really having sex. Get over it, open your mind and if you don't wanna see 2 dudes kissing don't go watch this movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved