WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: Time Magazine Comments on "Avatar" Footage

Posted: March 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: Time Magazine Comments on "Avatar" FootageSubmit Comment
Time magazine wrote an article on the future of 3-D and while doing their research, the magazine also had the chance to see the first footage from the upcoming James Cameron-directed "Avatar" film, which hits theaters on December 18th. Below is an excerpt from the article:

More than a thousand people have worked on it, at a cost in excess of $300 $200 million, and it represents digital filmmaking's bleeding edge. Cameron wrote the treatment for it in 1995 as a way to push his digital-production company to its limits. He worked for years to build the tools he needed to realize his vision. The movie pioneers two unrelated technologies--e-motion capture, which uses images from tiny cameras rigged to actors' heads to replicate their expressions, and digital 3-D.

Avatar is filmed in the old "Spruce Goose" hangar, the 16,000-sq.-ft. space where Howard Hughes built his wooden airplane. The film is set in the future, and most of the action takes place on a mythical planet, Pandora. The actors work in an empty studio; Pandora's lush jungle-aquatic environment is computer-generated in New Zealand by Jackson's special-effects company, Weta Digital, and added later.

I couldn't tell what was real and what was animated--even knowing that the 9-ft.-tall blue, dappled dude couldn't possibly be real. The scenes were so startling and absorbing that the following morning, I had the peculiar sensation of wanting to return there, as if Pandora were real.


Update: Time Magazine said that the budget is over $200 million rather than over $300 million.

Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: Time


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 4:35:56 AM

this will break box office records
buttabean writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 5:02:10 AM

I hope its good
masKritic writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 5:06:09 AM

it has to be amazing. ha it would suck it only ends up making 120 mil or something
JakeVermont writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 5:23:27 AM

Guys its JAMES CAMERON!!! The Father of THE TERMINATOR and TITANIC which holds the records, i have great hopes for this movie
bacci40 writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 5:29:09 AM

300 mil???...it better break all records
JakeVermont writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 8:02:39 AM

does anybody know what titanic costed?
JakeVermont writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 8:04:58 AM

The terminator from 1984 costed about 5 or 10 millionen i think im not sure :D but its cameron when he asks he studio for money the dont even ask what hes going to do he says hey i need 200 Million dollars - alright here you have 300 million, James!!! isnt that the way it goes with great directors?
vineethchacko writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 8:34:27 AM

I think after Titanic, he can ask for 400 mill and get it!
dwightschrute writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 10:32:46 AM

I hope it beats Titanic in the Box office and win every Oscars in 2010!
acslaterson writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 11:01:58 AM

Sweet! I can't wait to see the trailer for this!
MrSammich writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 1:35:15 PM

As someone that used to be involved in 3d animation; I just want to see what this looks like. I know that James Cameron likes to push technology to the limits, but unless it is perfectly done some people won't want to see it, like how Beowulf wasn't very accepted, but that was also a crap movie to begin with.
Schwasted writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 3:20:10 PM

While this should be technologically revolutionary, hopefully people will not forget that money isn't the only thing needed to make a good movie. After this, someone will try the same and just see the money, forgetting the vision.
KaloVisor writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 3:36:53 PM

wow. sounds awesome. but i won't know till I see it. Titanic cost 200 million btw. which was the most Expensive film at the time I think. And adding inflation it would probably be around 250-300 Million today.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:45:00 PM

If he can put half the tension that was in Aliens into this, then I'll probably see it three or four times. And if the 3-D is even better than what they used for Coraline...sh*t, I think it'll be worth the wait. Glad to see him back at it.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:47:19 PM

Wasnt KING KONG by peter jackson the most expensive movie? something about 360 mio? either I dont know or i read something like that once, maybe it was rumor i dont know
mattcl23 writes:
on March 22nd, 2009 at 6:26:17 PM

I think Superman Returns was the most expensive up to this point. 205 mil if I'm not mistaken. Terminator 3 was like 180 mil. Not sure what King Kong was, but it had to be up there.
cosplay writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:51:50 AM

this will break box office records

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved