WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hellraiser" Reboot to Keep Questionable Material

Posted: March 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hellraiser" Reboot to Keep Questionable MaterialSubmit Comment
Director Pascal Laugier (Martyrs) spoke to Sci Fi Wire about the upcoming "Hellraiser" film, which he said will be a reboot of the franchise and will retain the "transgressive material" of the original.

"The idea behind Hellraiser is not to do a remake it's to do what they call a reboot that is to say, a new version," said Laugier. "So what I am proposing to Dimension, the studio behind Hellraiser, is some elements coming from the first film mixed with brand-new stuff."

He added: "My main problem, honestly, with the Hellraiser reboot is that Hellraiser is very transgressive material. It deals with S&M and gay issues, and I really want to be faithful to the book and Clive Barker's world. I don't want to betray him. So if I have the feeling that I am being asked by Hollywood to soften the franchise, I will leave in a blink."

Click here to read more about "Hellraiser."

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gunslinger writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 5:52:26 PM

Reboot. Remake. Revision. Reimagining. Really? It all means the same thing, doesn't it? Not an original concept.
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 6:25:04 PM

Making a movie out of a book is'nt using an original concept either. So I take it you didn't enjoy The Godgather, Fight Club, The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy, 2001, any Bond film, The Wicker Man, Planet Of The Apes, The Thing, No Country for Old Men, The Dark Knight, Die Hard, Psycho, The Birds, Papillon, etc? A movie is not it's source material and should be judged by individual merit, i.e. having seen the bloody thing.
Metafact writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 6:56:01 PM

Maybe Mr. Slave can be one of the new Cenobites...
mattcl23 writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 8:25:33 PM

Wake up Hollywood. This isn't Pleasantville.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 9:06:38 PM

Point taken, Elvis (long live the King), but I think there's a very blurry line between cashing in on an existing intellectual property and adding something worthwhile to a familiar universe. I might point out that Fight Club and Godfather were adaptations, not remakes, Planet of the Apes sucked, Lord of the Rings only existed as a cartoon, the Die Hard movies are sequels, and the new Batman movies blew away everything that came before them, justifying the reboot (which I'm thinking the new Star Trek might do, as well). My point is, has it been done as a movie? And if it has, then you better have a better reason for remaking it besides milking the collective unconscious for a quick buck. There are about a hundred books I'd rather see done as movies (like Ender's Game, for example) before I saw a Hellraiser remake.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 9:16:16 PM

Also, 2001 was written in tandem with the movie's production. Clarke and Kubrick collaborated a great deal. One of the strange and rare exceptions to all the rules.
Donald Kaufman writes:
on March 19th, 2009 at 9:46:10 PM

Gay issues? Oh, no. I don't think Hollywood is ready for that. If they can produce Saw and Hostel movies, which are basically torture porn, then they'll do just about anything. Doesn't mean it should be done.
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 3:32:37 AM

Point taken Gunslinger, but as far as I can tell there is a reason to remake hellraiser beyond "just milking the collective unconscious" (nice choice of words) and that is to make a more faithful adaptation of the book, as rthe director has said. Also, would you rather see a remake/reboot or another addition to a franchise that has long since lost it's way? If there's a way forward for Hellraiser at all it's a back-to-square-one approach. Of course it still might suck, but that's a risk you take with any movie anyway. Hopefully this will pan out as well as it looks like Star Trek might. Now there's a franchise even more sorely in need of a clean slate than Hellraiser.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 5:58:48 AM

Yeah, I'd much prefer a reboot. Honestly I think Barker has been overlooked for far too long for the great writer he is. The man is downright literary. So, if they're going to attempt a faithful adaptation of one of his works, I'd say it's worth a shot. It would be nice to see them try and do Weaveworld one of these days, too...
OtisDriftwood990 writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 7:12:43 AM

"So if I have the feeling that I am being asked by Hollywood to soften the franchise, I will leave in a blink." I'm officially happy this is being made.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 12:09:51 PM

i agree with your first comment gunslinger...fact is...the older movie, whether it's original or not, happened to be the first in the making....for them to 'reboot' as they call it...doesn't hit a checkered flag in my book...and this is why i'm not looking forward to seeing countless hundreds of others being remade or seeing all these movies feeling the 'need' to become a trilogy...and then that changes to sixology....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved