WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Indiana Jones was Almost a Child Molester

Posted: March 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Indiana Jones was Almost a Child MolesterSubmit Comment
Cinematical pointed out that a transcript for a conference between Steven Spielberg, George Lucas and Lawrence Kasdan has been put online. The three men are discussing ideas for "Indiana Jones: Raiders of the Lost Ark," the first installment in the franchise.

Reading the transcript, you might notice something interesting, which is some of the ideas for the love affair between Indy and Marion. Here is a taste:

George Lucas: I was thinking that this old guy could have been his mentor. He could have known this little girl when she was just a kid. Had an affair with her when she was eleven.

Lawrence Kasdan: And he was forty-two.

George Lucas: He hasn't seen her in twelve years. Now she's twenty-two. It's a real strange relationship.

Steven Spielberg: She had better be older than twenty-two.

George Lucas: He's thirty-five, and he knew her ten years ago when he was twenty-five and she was only twelve. It would be amusing to make her slightly young at the time.

Steven Spielberg: And promiscuous. She came onto him.

George Lucas: Fifteen is right on the edge. I know it's an outrageous idea, but it is interesting. Once she's sixteen or seventeen it's not interesting anymore. But if she was fifteen and he was twenty-five and they actually had an affair the last time they met. And she was madly in love with him and he ...

Even though the "Indiana Jones" films never mentioned Marion's age, it was always implied that she was young when she met Indy. I just didn't expect for Spielberg, Lucas and Kasdan to consider such a young age and blame an underage girl for the affair.

Source: SendSpace


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 4:27:57 AM

wait wait wait so george lucas LITERALLY wanted to rape my childhood?
BobMcBob writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 4:37:47 AM

where did Cinematical obtain this transcript
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 5:32:58 AM

WTF??? why the heck would he want to make her that young it just adds weirdness it wouldn't have made the story any better.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 5:55:12 AM

but you gotta admit....it wouldn't be much difference compared to something like 'coal minor's daughter'...that sort of thing doesn't really interest me anyway...that was back then so of course it would've probably fit back in those days...but i only care about indiana jones' movies because they're f*cking awesome....4th one, not better than the 1st three, but i give credit to harrison ford for not letting somebody take his place...and it's better than some sh*tty movies out there today
rzmsauce writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 8:53:24 AM

I think George Lucas looks an awfull lot like Pedobear???? Anyone one agree????
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 10:12:45 AM

It would make sense in a warped way. After all he does dig her but avoids here affection/come-ons a lot. But yeah. Lucas is out of his mind and Steven, being a good but bad friend, supports and encourages Lucas' bad ideas.
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 10:19:09 AM

This just keeps getting worse. Someone please lock Lucas up before he can do any more harm
dwightschrute writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 10:58:21 AM

Daaaaaaaamn.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 11:35:39 AM

WHAT THE HELL???? Go away george lucas, geez man.....
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 11:52:53 AM

I call BS. Either somebody's making it up, or it was them joking around and taken out of context.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 11:58:36 AM

Are people really arguing and talking about the planning for a movie that came out 28 years ago?
pjmbdm writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 12:55:24 PM

Ewwww, I think Lucas was strokin' his light saber during this convo.......
vaodsi writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 2:01:39 PM

....wow.....
coldplayesence writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 2:05:15 PM

Okay, What The f*ck, Lucas????
acslaterson writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 3:30:18 PM

Holy sh*t, Trey Parker and Matt Stone were right! Lucas is a sick f*ck!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 8:13:17 PM

W........T........F!!!!!
jak3n0rman writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 3:25:43 AM

god damnit, god damnit, why do these *ssholes have to ruin my childhood like that.
BlueMobius writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 12:40:09 PM

polardeficit> HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
wilygirl writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 4:57:45 PM

They were probably discussing what Marion's age would be in retrospect. When they realized how young she would be in actuality, they probably just settled for the "I was a child" comment in the movie. That said, Harrison Ford doesn't look 42, give me a freaking break. Ford and Allen look age appropriate. Writers usually think about and discuss all the trivia about their characters. Maybe it was one of those discovery and LOL moments for them.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 6:05:19 PM

okay first of all, Indiana Jones (the first films) are so long ago we can just let this go. Who f*cking cares! Nextly, Lucas isnt doing anyone harm okay?! He's not coming to your house - kicking you in the nuts - and then setting your lawn on fire. He has just created a series of masterworks that nobody on here could ever come close to doing. All you all do is bitch but you all loved some of his work at one point or another on one level or another.
Figwit1216 writes:
on March 16th, 2009 at 12:39:00 AM

I fully agree that Lucas has done some amazing work. He did a very good job adapting some truly revolutionary ideas. HOWEVER..... rather than KEEP adapting new and exciting revolutionary ideas, he instead chooses to do the same ones over and over again to the point of insanity. George, please, for all our sakes.... just stop it. Every time Jar Jar haunts my memory, or I see a terrible "clone wars" crappy animated series commercial, part of my soul dies, you are killing my soul. That said... I dont think there is much truth to this transcipt as far as such ridiculous ideas ever being seriously considered...even for George's craziness.... though I cant say I'd be entirely surprised if it was true

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved