WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

More Join M. Night Shyamalan's "The Last Airbender"

Posted: March 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
More Join M. Night ShyamalanSubmit Comment
Aasif Mandvi ("The Daily Show"), Shaun Toub (Iron Man, The Kite Runner) and Cliff Curtis (10,000 BC) have joined the cast of M Night Shyamalan's "The Last Airbender" for Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies. Principal photography is set to begin mid-March 2009.

They join a cast headed by Noah Ringer, who plays the title role, Nicola Peltz, who plays the Waterbender Katara, Jackson Rathbone, in the role of Katara's brother Sokka, and Dev Patel, who plays Prince Zuko, prince of the Fire Nation.

Mandvi is set to play the role of Commander Zhao, an ambitious and hot-tempered Fire Nation commander. Toub is cast as Uncle Iroh, the retired Fire Nation general and devoted surrogate parent to Dev Patel's character Zuko. Curtis is set to play the ruthless ruler Fire Lord Ozai.

In addition, Keong Sim has been cast in the role of Earthbending Father.

Air, Water, Earth, Fire. Four nations tied by destiny when the Fire Nation launches a brutal war against the others. A century has passed with no hope in sight to change the path of this destruction. Caught between combat and courage, Aang (Ringer) discovers he is the lone Avatar with the power to manipulate all four elements. Aang teams with Katara (Peltz), a Waterbender, and her brother, Sokka (Rathbone), to restore balance to their war-torn world.

Based on the hugely successful Nickelodeon animated TV series, the live-action feature film" The Last Airbender" is the opening chapter in Aang's struggle to survive.

Click here to read more about "The Last Airbender."

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
tomnottommy writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:25:01 AM

M. Night needs to pull of something amazing if he wants to regain any respect he had before making... well his last 2 or 3 movies. But seriously, i really hope he makes something interesting. I love some of his earlier flicks
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:29:15 AM

hugely successful on nickelodeon?...funny i never even heard of it....it's sad that these new generation kids won't ever get to see what kids like us in the 90s grew up to....i'm talking about shows like ren & stimpy, catdog, ahh real monsters, are you afraid of the dark, clarissa explains it all, salute your shorts, weinerville, rocko's modern life, the secret world of alex mac, stick stickly, SNICK, rugrats, and whatever else i haven't mentioned....spongebob, to me, is the last of the life nickelodeon has...plus the newer episodes aren't as great as the first couple of seasons...he sounded more laid back in the early seasons...i can tell that even his voice sounds different compared to the early episodes... and the animations didn't look computerized until the movie came out
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:07:31 AM

I hope that this is good cause m.night needs to do something good cause i'm still sickened by the happening, and I want to like him as a director again
Blueyedragon writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 2:37:10 AM

I really like that show i hope he doesn't screw it up.
dmb3isme writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 3:15:11 AM

I'm really interested to see what kind of budget this film will be getting. I loved the series and I believe it could be a great movie trilogy, but without a decent budget, it's just going to end up like dragonball: evolution.
dwightschrute writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 8:45:39 AM

here's hoping Night doesn't screw this up. If he does however, then I'm done with him.
thedotsays writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 8:51:22 AM

My kids watch this show and got me into it. It's a pretty good show. Good animation, with a deep although predictable storyline. One of the few cartoons that actually have an ending unlike sooooooo many out there that never have a finite last episode. When I told my kids about a live action movie being made, they actually groaned and said; Why? It's over. Night's going to have his hands full with this one. It'd be interesting to see how they put the effects done in the cartoon live on screen because they are pretty damn huge.
BREALZ writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:42:47 AM

Who's being cast as Captain Planet? :)
TheVisioneer writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:30:34 PM

Garbage. everything this man touches turns to waste. I am sad that this show is going to be sullied by such a loser. Zuko should be played by Dante Bosco, he could play the role perfectly. Aang should have been fresher talent as well.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:19:32 PM

This is a f*cking crime. The Last Airbender was the last good cartoon on television, and they are determined to ruin it with this sh*t.
jaz_mayor writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 5:18:12 PM

Judging by the stars that M. Night has picked for the characters, it looks like they'll be calling it the The last airbender: evoluttion.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 10:36:28 PM

jaz_mayor...that was funny man......why is it that mostly nickelodeon and disney child stars all of a sudden start doing big movies?...for shia lebouf, it took me a bit to open up to him...he's better now i think...but zac efron is following in his footsteps as well as miley cyrus and others i haven't mentioned...like drake and josh....funny that kids still watch that show after drake did 'college'...hollywood is slowly losing its reputation for hardcore passionate actors and actresses
m2msucks writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:06:07 PM

This movie has possibly the worst cast I can think of. WTF! Zuko is being played by an indian dude. In the cartoon he's asian.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 5:44:53 PM

as somewhat interesting as the show is/was M. Night will f*ck it up like all his works. Signs & Unbreakable are the only decent things he's ever done and they were forever ago. This will probably end up like the Dragonball movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved