WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "It" on the Big Screen

Posted: March 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is bringing Stephen King's landmark horror novel "It" to the big screen. The novel is set in 1958 and 1985, though the feature version will be set in the present day.

Dave Kajganich (The Invasion) has been hired to pen the script, which follows a group of kids called the Losers Club that encounter a creature called It, which preys on children and whose favorite form is that of a sadistic clown called Pennywise. When the creature resurfaces, the kids are called upon to regroup again, this time as adults, even though they have no memory of the first battle.

"It" was the best-selling book of 1986 and in 1990 was turned into an ABC miniseries that starred John Ritter, Harry Anderson, Tim Reid, Annette O'Toole and Richard Thomas. Tim Curry played Pennywise.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Makidian writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:17:41 AM

Hopefully this does more justice to the book than the mini did.
acslaterson writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:28:21 AM

I agree 100%!
Gunslinger writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:51:15 AM

Yes, it's part of a series of films brought to you by Stephen King and Schoolhouse Rock to educate kids about pronouns. It will be followed by That, This, and Those, depending on domestic gross returns for the first one, of course.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 3:08:59 AM

I never read the book but I did hear about the part in the book where they made the *pact*.........let's hope they keep that out!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 5:15:01 AM

hopefully they don't copycat the guys who worked on the dark knight and have the white make up smeared
Kid_A writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 7:19:44 AM

This has been going through my mind for 2 months. I don't know why, but it's been. Finally a better remake would make the readers/audience be happy.
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 8:17:22 AM

Hopefully it will be less of King's ongoing 1950s nostalgia love fest (Lucas is second in command of this bullsh*t) and more of Pennywise and story that is actually creepy rather than a leave it to Beaver episode featuring a clown. And a giant glass spider? John Peters must be sh*tting his pants already...
thedotsays writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 8:55:00 AM

I've always had a fear of clowns and this movie drove that nail right on home!! Not a great mini at all but Curry creeped me the hell out permanently. Hopefully, this one will be far less tame than the mini. This book deserves a better treatment indeed.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:24:14 AM

Yeah I think it's ok, but Tim Curry was just awesome in the miniseries, it's gonna be real hard to find someone that can pull this off. And Ledger is dead. lol.
makingcircles writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:25:37 AM

I like Tim Curry as Pennywise.
BREALZ writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:39:16 AM

i am syked, loved the miniseries as a kid, and that clown scared the ever lovin sh*t out of me. A remake would be great, and yes to follow the book closer. I think Crispen Glover would rock as pennywise, just throwing it out there!
Sylanya writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:56:42 AM

Oh yay...another remake.
thedotsays writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:00:26 PM

I would say Gary Oldman or Vincent D'Nofrio (his scenes in Men In Black were dope and he was pretty good in The Cell)
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 12:18:26 PM

I would just bring Tim Curry back for the movie it's not like it would mess it up he's awesome! they all float down here! they all fooooooat down here BU BU BU BU BILLY BOY!
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:48:17 PM

I'd hardly consider this a remake considering how crappy the mini was...
MrSammich writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 2:34:03 PM

The old one was the sh*t. It was the example to everyone of what a Stephen King movie could be, with few better translations onto the screen before it came out.
usualclerk writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 2:45:52 PM

That clown gave me nighmares for years!
acslaterson writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 9:41:08 PM

Wait a second I just remembered they were supposed to do a "Cell" movie! Why the hell are they doing this before an original movie? Must be different studios...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 5:47:00 PM

why would they do this?! f*ckING WHY?! I know it didnt "go along with the book" 100% but come on when does a book turned into a film ever does?! I liked the original with Tim Curry, he did a damn good job. I personally think they should stop turning Stephen Kings works into films because 1- he has hated nearly all of them and 2- they mostly all suck!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved