WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Rock is Ready to Take On Shakespeare

Posted: March 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Rock is Ready to Take On ShakespeareSubmit Comment
During the world premiere of "Race to Witch Mountain" in Hollywood, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson spoke about tackling film roles that can be considered more serious and dramatic.

"I would love to," said Johnson to a question about whether he would love to try his hand at Shakespeare. "This is my 10th year of acting and when I first got in it I wanted to hopefully create many opportunities to work in as many different genres as I possibly could."

He continued: "I'm happy to be in that place where I'm working in many different genres and to continue to make movies that hopefully people enjoy and that they're thoroughly entertained with."

Do you think Johnson is capable of delivering a believable performance in a film based on the works of Shakespeare?

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Blank x2 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 6:30:46 PM

No. I love the guy, but no.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 6:31:16 PM

Dost thou smell what The Lord of Rockshire doth cook when the sable cloak of night descendeth?
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 6:31:41 PM

to do shakespeare roles...i think this guy better get some practice first....cuz doing kids movies has nothing to do with shakespeare's style...but that's just me talkin
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 6:55:04 PM

nope.... put him a horror film see wat happens, just like ryan reynolds and the amityville horror. lol we'll see
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 8:00:12 PM

lol...that was great kidmerchantfourth5665....the only way i'd be ok watching him take on those roles is when after he starts co-starring with other big name stars in several movies...and by big i mean stars like al pacino or robert de niro...even leonardo decaprio...given the fact that he's done romeo and juliet
dmb3isme writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 9:22:24 PM

why the f*ck isn't the rock kicking people's asses anymore????
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 9:59:01 PM

I would love to see him try a serious job like that I just don't think Shakespeare had an roles for a guy that description
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 10:12:28 PM

Gunslinger that was one of the funniest I have read in a long time.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 10:58:41 PM

ok this is mean...but it's kinda funny too...seeing the rock trying to play shakespeare roles is like arnold trying to win an oscar for terminator 3
Gunslinger writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 10:58:58 PM

Thanks, Cd_Smith0. Glad you like.
Donald Kaufman writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 2:52:17 AM

I'm somewhat curious as to how Dwayne defines the term, "Genre". As he claims to be working in so many "different genres", I looked up his incredibly diverse body of work to better understand this prolific artist, here's a sample: Race to Witch Mountain, Get Smart, Gridiron Gang, Southland Tales, Doom, Be Cool, and The Scorpion King, to name a few. As far as i can tell that's all the same genre: sh*tty dispensable Hollywood slop.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 3:34:09 AM

i'll take the rock more seriously when he stars in movies that are based on true events
James.Speed writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 4:31:13 AM

hmmm, im not quite sure. dwayne has got a very well spoken voice. in a supporting role as a high class duke, or something like that, would be good for him.
James.Speed writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 4:37:51 AM

And for the record, Get Smart and The Rundown were action-comedy, Race To Witch Mountain and Game Plan are childrens films, Southland Tales is spaced out strangness, Doom is video-game based, Be Cool is comedy, and Scorpion King is action. More than one genre there, but fairly simular stuff. So ofcorse its time to get into some serious stuff, or some Shakespeare, or some Comic Book, or things of that nature.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 5:11:30 AM

oh man did i hate DOOM....they based it off the 3rd game pretty much and not the 1st....i thought it was all about demonic creatures that you get to kill..instead it's more of a futuristic zombie flick like resident evil where the people are 'infected' with a virus known as chromosome 24....in resident evil they called it the T-virus...yea...that was very original....NOT lol
Donald Kaufman writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 9:38:18 AM

Oh, thanks James.Speed, I get it now. Scorpion King is an "Action" movie, and Get Smart is a "COMEDY". In one he plays a tough-guy Scorpion King, and in the other he plays a tough-guy spy. Very different. Throw the word genre out the window and... am I really explaining this? You see, you put a different title at the beginning of the movie, but Dwayne just keeps doing the same thing.
mattcl23 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:51:33 PM

Wouldn't want to see him in a movie like that anyway. I like to see him try to get in on some of the big budget films. Maybe a Marvel movie of something like that.
mattcl23 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:53:37 PM

I was also thinking why he was never thought of as maybe the new terminator, or maybe he was, not really sure.
turnage76 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:53:45 PM

the rundown was great. i would like to see him in some action/ comedy...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 6:13:59 PM

He has had his "moments" of clairty as an actor but its like 50/50 at this point. He seems a lot better for hard brashing horror work and such... not Shakespeare unless he's a king or something. He just really needs to get away from Disney films if he ever wants major acting credibility.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved