WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Watchmen" Writers Asks Fans to See Film Again

Posted: March 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Watchmen" Writers Asks Fans to See Film AgainSubmit Comment
"Watchmen" writer David Hayter wrote an open letter to the movie-going public, asking for people to go see "Watchmen" in theaters. And if you have already seen it, he wants you to go see it again.

Hayter mentions that he has nothing to gain from this. If the film makes more money, it doesn't mean that he will. He just want to make sure that film studio keep investing in these type of unique projects in the future.

Hayter's open letter: "If the film made you think. Or argue with your friends. If it inspired a debate about the nature of man, or vigilante justice, or the horror of Nixon abolishing term limits. If you laughed at Bowie hanging with Adrian at Studio 54, or the Silhouette kissing that nurse. Please go see the movie again next weekend.

You have to understand, everyone is watching to see how the film will do in its second week. If you care about movies that have a brain, or balls, (and this film's got both, literally), or true adaptations -- And if you're thinking of seeing it again anyway, please go back this weekend, Friday or Saturday night. Demonstrate the power of the fans, because it'll help let the people who pay for these movies know what we'd like to see. Because if it drops off the radar after the first weekend, they will never allow a film like this to be made again.
"

Click here to read our "Watchmen" review.

Source: HarcoreNerdity


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
defiant1 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:06:39 PM

No thanks, they got enough of my hard earned money.
Figwit1216 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:16:08 PM

hayter is right.. and i would go see it again.. i just don't have another 8 dollars for a movie this month :( movies like this just don't get made... it's a miracle that it opened last week. studio's are scared of films that take chances. And while some chances fail, i's rather see some risks taken than watch the same generic, easy, safe dribble that studio's poop out into the theaters. I don't care if it fails miserably.. i appreciate the ballz of taking risks....
mattcl23 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:18:27 PM

WTF? Sorry, not paying 10 more buck to sit on my ass for almost 3 hours again. Use that money towards the dvd. "We have nothing to gain from this", BS!
dhkenobi writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:23:24 PM

I'd gladly go see it again...during a matinee of course.
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:32:26 PM

So you want us to show them we want more of this pretentious overrated sh*t? No thanks. I'll pass.
jjjjjoey writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:40:11 PM

I wont go see it for the first time. f*ck the watchmen.
grossefidelityanything writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:05:31 PM

I would gladly see the first half again...because the writer is correct it was fresh, thoughtful and original..But you lost me with the formulaic 'kick ass' second half. Sorry sport.
OkichDD writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:16:14 PM

Definitely, I will.
m2msucks writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:35:49 PM

f*ck Dave Hayter. I got no respect for that douche. If his film is soooo good, people will see the film again without him having to ask for it. This Hayter guy reminds me of those gayass youtubers you beg for subs. Message to Dave Hayter never beg people to see your movie.
AshTrey writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:38:11 PM

it takes balls to keep it real like this... I may see it again he just inspired me haha
dwight writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:55:13 PM

Forget that. This week the Rock rules the box office.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 8:04:12 PM

No way it was pretty good, but seeing it a second time would be boring as sh*t
masKritic writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 8:29:01 PM

this movie was something else. Ill see it again fo sho
oooshtson writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 8:30:56 PM

Don't talk sh*t about Solid Snake.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 8:36:40 PM

YEah why not!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 9:43:46 PM

i understand his point...but he shouldn't ask people to watch it again...i hardly make enough spending money to pay for a ticket...matinee prices used to be $5.50 when i started working at the theater...now it's like 8.50 and 10.50 for regular price when the old regular was just 8 even....and how can a film like that not be made again?....studios waste money on stupid ass projects that most people only watch once and probably never again...how does that differ from the money this one makes?...i'm not sayin it was bad, in fact i think it looks bad ass...haven't seen it yet still...but here's the thing for me...for those of you who have seen it...does it stay true to the comics?...if that's true, then i'll spend my money on it....but let me ask you guys somethin...let's say they do allow another movie like this to be made....what happens when those writers screw up other movies?...then this letter, the hard work, and money spent on this franchise is pointless...i understand it's competing...but let the competitors compete for themselves...quit trying to make watchmen bigger than it already is...the people who pay to watch these movies are the reason it has fame and fortune...same thing goes with games and music...ever since i heard akon the first time i was disappointed...it was 'smack that'...i thought the beat lagged creativity in bringing a catchy melody...and his voice sounds too much like a voice tuner that other hip hop artists abusively use today...creativity is thing that is MUCH much needed these days...phew i'm giving myself a headache writing this comment hahah...anyway i'll end it by asking: anybody agree with me?...tell me please!
Gunslinger writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 10:29:56 PM

I think it's an important movie, and even more relevant now than it was in the 80's. I also think it's funny that every time a major studio tries to adapt a book or comic (LOTR being an exceptoion) everyone bitches about how much they deviated from the source material. But here, you've got pretty much a frame for frame adaptation of a graphic novel, and now everyone is bitching about it being too long or too boring. If anything there was more action in the movie than in the comic, and if they'd left in the Black Freighter sequences, people would have gone apesh*t. I can't say that this was the best movie in the world, but at the same time I have a lot of respect for the people who put it together so faithfully, and I definitely think it's worth seeing. Maybe even twice.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 10:47:29 PM

Gunslinger...you may be right...seeing it twice i mean...but many of those people might wait for the dvd to watch it a 2nd time...sad to say...but it's true...these writers should feel lucky that this movie has gone as far as it did...and for them to keep writing and making millions vs letting other writers take their place in the industry and having a chance to make something of themselves is even more sad...i could make a million dollars last me a lifetime since i've never been born rich...but someone born rich would go nuts if they suddenly became as wealthy as me...i wish there were no such thing as 'money' or 'prices'...who knows what kinda world we'd be in if that were true
the_tortel writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 11:27:59 PM

I'll see it again Mr. Hollywood writer man!
gonzf22 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 11:44:31 PM

only for you solid snake...only for you
WV-Films writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 12:07:13 AM

I've seen it twice now, and will admit the second time is better. But apart from it's length, this movie suffers from what I call Grade-A, B acting. However maybe not making movies like this isn't such a bad thing. The main problem is that they stayed so faithful to the comic (that only a handful of people have read or could appreciate) that they lose the possibility of a mass audience as a result. That coupled with the economy, it would be surprising if the film broke 100 million in the box office.
solidgoldweedwacker writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 12:50:29 AM

No! I don't need to see ANOTHER explosion in the middle of NY or a giant Smurf wang. Steve Ryan would though
vineethchacko writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:13:23 AM

Gotta hand it to the guy for being honest. Good on you, pal.
wonderBOY writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:41:17 AM

its a good movie and also Solid Snake said so but ill wait for the 3 1/2 directors cut dvd and movie studios get a bigger percentage from dvds than theatrical relaese anyway
wonderBOY writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:41:19 AM

its a good movie and also Solid Snake said so but ill wait for the 3 1/2 directors cut dvd and movie studios get a bigger percentage from dvds than theatrical relaese anyway
James.Speed writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:51:05 AM

......hmmm, I respect the hell out of Hayter, for he wrote X-Men 1, but i didnt learn anything from Watchmen, nor did it make me think.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 2:10:50 AM

James.Speed lol omg...how can anybody learn anything from watching someone get raped?...i guess we're all geniuses then if we learned anything from that....and WV-Films i totally understand your point...did watchmen even have that big of an audience as a comic?....haha watch pretty soon they'll make a cartoon series for it....i actually wouldn't mind that, but they better put it on adult swim or sumthin cuz i don't think little kids are allowed to watch a cartoon blue penis on tv lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 3:04:15 AM

LOL....i laughed the hardest when i noticed dr. manhattan was censored by wearing briefs...now that's comedy!...geez...if i were high and watching that i probably would have died laughing haha
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 3:06:23 AM

lol ^^^, the movie was good but naw im straight
Dannoral writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 3:10:50 AM

I'll definitly ! and those who even doesn't want to see it for the first time are dumb ! they don't even try... sad
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 3:21:04 AM

i'll watch it only cuz i haven't seen it yet still...and i get paid this friday...the writer now has one less fan to worry about coming to the theater this weekend
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 10:05:59 AM

I'm planning on seeing it a second time at IMAX but were it not for that format being available I'd just wait for the dvd. The movie was great but it's not cinematic imo; well executed but the story just doesn't translate to the big screen that well.
lemus869 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 10:31:49 AM

This ain't no "The Dark Knight" Amen
rocketman writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 12:37:29 PM

on it this weekend.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:19:51 PM

I can agree that fans need to ask more of studios to honor adaptations faithfully but u have to leave that up to the fans to make that happen instead. Besides I was going to see it again tonight anyways.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:47:14 PM

as one of my friends said before....'i only like them because of the action'....and frankly i almost agree entirely...cuz i really hate when they put too much drama in a comic...unless the drama is good
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 1:11:22 AM

Well watchmen is drama and the novel and movie are both amazing
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 4:30:12 AM

Cd_Smith0...i know that...not about the novel cuz i haven't read it...but i do believe i said "in fact, i think it looks bad ass...haven't seen it yet still"...it's in the annoyingly long first comment i posted haha...i'm scared now cuz i feel like i'm turning into minkowski by posting long, smart ass comments....somebody save me from myself!! lol
scarface85 writes:
on March 13th, 2009 at 11:05:50 AM

ill go and see it again it was worth it.
vaodsi writes:
on March 14th, 2009 at 1:58:24 PM

i think milwaukee marvel is in the closet..... seeing a man's penis make's him feel gay....
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 6:30:15 PM

I'm at wits end with all the bitching going on on this site. I would & almost did go see it again but between the $$$ and the time I decided not to. Like someone ^^^ previous said in response. If people liked it enough they would go see it again without him asking. I liked the film and I know its been mixed on likes and dislikes but the fact of it all is, like I've said before and cant stress enough, This film is a phenomial achievement and should be respected as thus. STOP BITCHING!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved