WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Axel Foley Will Die in "Beverly Hills Cop 4"?

Posted: March 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Axel Foley Will Die in "Beverly Hills Cop 4"?Submit Comment
CineFools had a chat with writer Michael Brandt (3:10 to Yuma, Wanted) about the upcoming "Beverly Hills Cop" movie, which will apparently be a very dark, hardcore cop movie in which all the main characters will die, including Axel Foley (Eddie Murphy). Here is what Brandt had to say:

"With 'Beverley Hills Cop 4' we got a draft of the script and we kind of came to it in a round about fashion. The studio called and the producers called and said we just got a new draft of 'Beverley Hills Cop 4' and the writers we keep hiring keep trying to write a comedy and we don't want a comedy. We want to make a down and dirty cop movie and then let Eddie be Eddie.

With the original 'Beverley Hills Cop' it is a really dark movie like his friend gets executed at the beginning of the movie. In fact I think it was originally meant for Sly Stallone back in the 80's. It was going to be a hard core cop movie then Eddie came on and they kept the plot and a lot of the R rated violence and Eddie was just funny.

So what they said to us was they wanted to go back to that and Derek [Haas] and I had written a script two years ago called 'Dying Day' which was kind of a buddy cop thing set in LA with buddy FBI agents but it wasn't jokey at all it was pretty hardcore. Everybody died in the end and it was the kind of movie/script that everybody who read it really liked but nobody was ever going to make it into a movie. Too dark.

And they said they would like to turn 'Dying Day' into 'Beverley Hills Cop 4.' We could kind of see how that could work and we said that sounds great and we were all for it and we'll tell you where to send the check and the studios said no we want to bring you guys in to do some work on it and turn it into 'Beverly Hills Cop 4.' So we agreed and Brett Ratner came on to direct and we did our first draft of that and while it has gotten farther and farther away from our original script we're kind of in between drafting that and a second draft coming up in a month or so.
"

Source: CineFools


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mattcl23 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:14:23 PM

Thank GOD! A dirty badass cop movie and let Eddie be Eddie. Did it really take them that long to figure it out.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:20:48 PM

I have an idea for these writers....If you don't want a comedy cop movie, how about you NOT make it Beverly Hills Cop. Was that so hard?
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 8:47:49 PM

so let me get this straight...all the main characters are gonna die....they don't want it to be funny....so basically they're gonna let Eddie be Eddie after his character dies?...who the f*ck hires these writers?...and why turn a movie called 'Dying Day' into BHC4?...that's a DIFFERENT movie!!!...there's a difference between 'seeing how that could work' and 'kind of seeing how that could work'...i say let Eddie take the majority of control...if you want it to be good at least...otherwise those writers can kiss my ass....and i'm sorry for brett ratner...but his idea of taking everything that was great from the 1st and 2nd films are not going to work in this one if that's the way it's gonna be
c-prime writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 9:07:12 PM

Just write the script as they did all the other "Beverly Hills Cop" movies. Eddie Murphy's career will fill out all the dying parts naturally.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 10:35:08 PM

one more comment i have to make known by all means necessary is this: thanks for ruining the ending you stupid f*cking writers!
doneehoward writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 12:07:31 AM

Axel Foley died in the second one as far as I'm concerned. LOL
acslaterson writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 12:54:27 AM

synthetic1985 You crack me up buddy, hahaha.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:14:14 AM

lol thanks acslaterson...i have a joke btw...how does hollywood sink into a lower level than the lowest?....by remaking a remake of a remake of a remake and so on and so forth heh...or by killing it (basically writing sequel ideas that either happen before or after or in between and really just sucks the last bit of life it had left in it)....thank God there isn't a sequel for innerspace or super mario bros yet...although i think i may have spoken too soon...hollywood execs are probably reading my comments to steal my ideas...and then remake it in less than 5 years haha
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:15:33 AM

let me know if that one made you laugh :)
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 9:49:29 AM

@ mattcl23, I agree, what numb nuts. Plus the idea to make it serious with Eddie being old Eddie not Disney Dad moron Eddie is a no brainier. Retards, no wonder Ratner likes them.
BREALZ writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 11:26:41 AM

If eddie plays more then one role is this movie i'm walking out!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:42:54 PM

just like the 3rd....eddie's really probably not interested deep down inside haha

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved