WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Josh Hartnett is the Villain in "Thor"?

Posted: March 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Josh Hartnett is the Villain in "Thor"?Submit Comment
LatinoReview just recently reported that "Thor" director Kenneth Branagh was seen having dinner with actor Alexander Skarsgard ("True Blood"), who fits the description of the title character.

Now, IESB is reporting that Josh Hartnett (30 Days of Night) might end up playing Loki, Thor's evil brother. Apparently, Hartnett was also spotted having a meal with Branagh, plus several sources have confirmed that Hartnett is on a very short list to play the villain in the film. Hartnett is 6 foot 3 inches tall, while Skarsgard is 6'4, so at least the casting works height-wise.

Loki is the son of a king of the frost giants. Odin, ruler of Asgard defeated the giants and ended up adopting Loki and raised him alongside his real son Thor. Loki greatly resented the fact that Odin and the other Asgardians favored the young Thor and as a result, began to study the arts of sorcery to become the most powerful god in Asgard and to destroy Thor. After achieving adulthood, Loki began making alliances with enemies of Asgard, in order to seize the thrown.

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 4:08:08 AM

please God no! first there's good news with the rumored casting of Alexander Skarsgaard; now the bomb drops with Keanu Reeves 2.0
whoever writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 5:46:34 AM

I think you will find Josh Hartnett is Keanu Reeves 3.0. The 2.0 position was taken by Chris Klein who even has the "Whoo" down pat.
acslaterson writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 5:49:42 AM

Hahaha, BobMcBob that was pretty funny! I think it could work though. Branagh is obviously going for a younger cast, which is pretty smart. That way he can cast an Odin that is in their mid to late 40s. Ooooooh, I am so pumped news is actually coming out for Thor! Bring on the God of Thunder!!!
vineethchacko writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:08:27 AM

Actually looks quite a bit like Loki from the comics. This could definitely work - in Branagh I trust...
rocketman writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:04:41 AM

wooden as a woody forest,you can do better mr B.
acslaterson writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 7:19:14 AM

Anyone think female Loki would be a better choice? I know it has only been in the latest Thor run but it could work on the big screen...
Gunslinger writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 8:24:12 AM

I didn't even know he was still acting. For all I knew he was going the way of Joaquin Phoenix. Color me surprised.
MrSammich writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 9:23:23 AM

This has to be a rumor only. No way.
thespeller writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 11:45:59 AM

Heey Lern Howe two focking spelle yoo dum shet? Loki is the son of a king of the frost giants. Odin, ruler of Asgard defeated the giants and ended up adapting(ADOPTING!) Loki and raised him alongside his real son Thor.
usualclerk writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 1:00:23 PM

Are people not allowed to be seen together anymore? Why does this always mean that they have been picked to play a role? Hey, I had lunch with Jerry Bruckheimer last week! Guess I am going to be the obvious choice for The Lone Ranger. Can't wait to meet you Mr. Depp.
alexgi writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 2:58:50 PM

Can't get anything by you thespeller.
Gunslinger writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 5:33:21 PM

What about "thrown," Speller? (Throne?) I think you might have missed that one. Maybe you need to brush up on your own editorial skills?
Ronsauce writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 5:38:37 PM

"Branagh is obviously going for a younger cast, which is pretty smart." Nuts to that. Younger casts ruin movies.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:01:27 AM

Thor sounds more interesting to me than iron man....iron man took too long to bring in the action...somewhere down the road the studios stopped caring for that sort of thing...funny how most of the writers, responsible for the bad movie adaptations, try to make a story pleasing to critics more than any other crowd...thankfully watchmen didn't do that sh*t...and with the new batman movies it worked because we've already seen the worst of the batman movies...batman & robin, and batman forever
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 3:12:05 AM

i dont wana see this lame ass f*cko in any marvel
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 15th, 2009 at 6:33:14 PM

I know (we all know) this is a rumor and all and it'll change in a days time or so but for now if this is or could end up being the case I say f*ck NO! I think he's been good in some things but for this film no no no no!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved