WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer: Steven Spielberg's "The Pacific"

Posted: March 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer: Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg is working on a new miniseries similar to "Band of Brothers," called "The Pacific," which tells the intertwined stories of three Marines during their defense against the Japanese attack in the Pacific during World War II.

"The Pacific" is adapted from the memoir book of Eugene Sledge, "With the Old Breed" which was first published in 1981. The memoir is based on notes Sledge kept tucked away in a pocket-sized Bible he carried with him during battle.

A press release stated the following: "The extraordinary experiences of these men and their fellow Marines take them from the first clash with the Japanese in the haunted jungles of Guadalcanal, through the impenetrable rain forests of Cape Gloucester, across the blasted coral strongholds of Peleliu, up the black sand terraces of Iwo Jima, through the killing fields of Okinawa, to the triumphant, yet uneasy, return home after V-J Day."

The miniseries was shot in Australia and will appear on HBO in ten parts sometime during late 2009/early 2010.

Removed by HBO


Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 7:28:27 PM

about time we get a trailer for this, i love Band of Brothers and i know i will love this...Not sure what battle the talk over dude was on about, but iam sure all teh battles in PAcfic did end up saving Australia and the free people in the Pacific, god bless the Allied Forces of teh Pacific Theatre
rzmsauce writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 7:40:00 PM

I agree skippy, I think this add was from an australian network, so I believe they were just promoteing in the way in which you said "all battles saveing Australia" from what i gather this will take place much like BOB, from the entry into the war to the end, so we should get a few good accounts of the Pacific theatre.
Planetastudios writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 7:42:30 PM

Ive long awaited this!!!!!!! Band of Brothers is my #1 rated WW2 films ever made. Spielberg and his team have done it again!!!!
rzmsauce writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 7:49:26 PM

if these guys could team up a third time and do a series from the german perspective, I could be in heaven!!!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 12:36:17 AM

Yeah its the 7 network, funny, i thought Channel 9 will attempt to get the show, they aired Band of Brothers back in 01. But iam very aware the show was filmed in Australia, and a lot of Aussie actors, i think Isabel Lucasu is in it, she in Transformers 2 i think.. it does make sense though, Australia, if you can believe it was a huge base for the Allies during the War, way i see it, iam proud we had AMerica as a great allie then, u saved our asses........rzmsauce i love ur idea, i would love to see one on the German side and the Russian side of the war
acslaterson writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 12:59:56 AM

I can't wait for this! Little note: HBO only used money from the DVD sales of Band of Brothers to fund this second project. Man I love history!
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 10:41:37 AM

If its like Band of Brothers, I'm so f*cking there!!!!!
JRprime writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 3:31:47 PM

this is going to be unbelievable, spielberg and hanks...need there be anyone else in the credit?
horrorfan005 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 8:10:31 PM

All right,they took there time but it will be worth the wait(4 yrs),i'm gonna have to renew my HBO subscription and then once i see it cancle that subscription.
Pugmak writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 1:17:59 AM

Skippy: There were two campaigns in the Pacific in WW2. The first was the South Pacific Campaign. This took place on islands such as New Guinea and Guadalcanal. The purpose of the South Pacific Campaign was to halt the Japanese advance that was threatening to cut Australia off from the allies and open it up for invasion. Most of the ANZAC forces were in North Africa at the time as part of the UK force that was fighting against Rommel and the German/Italian alliance. An example of ANZAC forces in the South Pac Campaign is the defense along the Kokoda Trail in New Guinea. Guadalcanal is part of the Solomon Island chain. That is where this story starts. It then goes on to New Britain and Cape Gloucester, I think. South Pac fights were characterized by heavy jungle. You can see on maps of the Pacific just how close the Japanese got to Australia. The South Pacific Campaign was defensive in nature. Stopping the Japanese. The Central Pacific Campaign was offensive in nature. Pushing the fight toward the Japanese mainlands. The Cent Pac Campaign began with Tarawa (Betio Island). Tarawa was the opening phase of battles into the Marshall Islands. Peleliu, an ilsand of the Palau chain, one of the battles in the series, was part of securing the flank for the re-taking of the Philippine Islands from the Japanese. Okinawa was the last island fight. The battle for Okinawa has a casualty density per meter nearly on par with the battle of Verdun in WW1. The USN also took more casualties in the battle for Okinawa than in any other battle in its history. Cent Pac Campaign was often characterized by coral atolls. In battles where islands were, initially, jungle covered, the battles were so intense that the jungle cover was, often, completely blown away. After the battle for Okinawa was over, the thought of having to fight on the Japanese mainlands, and the even bloodier battles that would mean, made many American soldiers, and Marines, become so sure that they were going to die that suicide became a real problem in the American forces in the Pacific.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved