WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ice Cube to Make N.W.A. Biopic

Posted: March 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ice Cube to Make N.W.A. BiopicSubmit Comment
According to Entertainment Weekly, New Line Cinema is currently developing "Straight Outta Compton," and urban drama about NWA (Niggaz with Attitude), the hip hop group that helped pioneer the gangsta rap movement in the 80s and early 90s.

The project will chronicle the rise and fall of the rap group, founded by Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, and MC Ren, whose songs were so incendiary (i.e. "F*ck tha Police") they were banned from radio playlists but still sold millions of albums. Then came the inevitable fiery breakup, a grudge match between the former bandmates, and Eazy-E's tragic death due to AIDS.

The film's producers, which include Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, and Tomica Wright (Eazy-E's widow), and Circle of Confusion entertainment, are now actively searching for a director along the lines of Curtis Hanson (8 Mile).

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 3:30:37 AM

can't wait to see it
Gunslinger writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 3:31:53 AM

It's just so strange that someone can go from "Gangsta, Gangsta" to "Are We There, Yet?"
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 4:34:04 AM

Gunslinger...i got ya on that one...but i don't think it's strange these days anymore...i mean justin timberlake went from disney to nsync to thinkin he can be black...there were better hip hop artists back then...and the rap artists today sound like hip hop artists...so now all we get is underground stuff which is surprisingly better than mainstream cuz maintstream sh*t seems to only have an eye and ear for anything that doesn't have talent...it's like boyz 2 men vs akon...who sings better?...cast my vote for boyz 2 men on that one
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 8:52:08 AM

yay, more dead people in the theaters. I'm sure the chain owners can't wait.
BREALZ writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 10:45:40 AM

Funny thing is that the most non hard-core black actors with portray these "gangsta" rappers. Can't wait to see the fat kid from old school playing ice cube!
N8R writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 11:59:30 AM

I've been waiting YEARS for this to happen.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 1:42:34 PM

Hahahahahahahahaha, thats totally gonna happen BREALZZ. lmao. Can't wait to see the Huxtable kids as hardcore thugs. rofl.
bacci40 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 3:53:27 PM

more interesting than the biopic on biggie

and nwa's music was far superior, and caused more controversy

wonder who will play easy-e...dont tell me...shia labouf in black face

synthetic1985 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 4:40:16 PM

funny how me being white, would rather watch this sh*t over a lot of other movies...i'd rather watch this than the remake of fantastic four or the remake of nightmare on elm street lol...dunno if i could pick friday over this though...that's a tough choice there haha
Gunslinger writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 5:50:05 PM

I wouldn't mind seeing a Public Enemy biopic, too, but this should be interesting.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 11:18:23 PM

SOMTHIN' HAPPENDS IN SOUTH CENTRAL LOS ANGELAS - NOTHING HAPPENDS - ITS JUST ANOTHER NIGGA DEAD... this would be badass to say the least
pjmbdm writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 3:10:03 AM

Gunslinger, I said the same thing a few years ago but when you really step back and look......it's all about the money now. He's grown up, he ain't struggling anymore, and that gangsta life is no more for him. He had a passion then for the rap and to get the word out there that sh*t wasn't good where he was but it was also getting him paid too! I say go get your money Cube and f*ck 'em all! Synthetic I can't agree with you more on how craptastic maintstream music is. I literally haven't listened to the radio in almost a year. If it ain't Mos Def, Talib, Common, Atmosphere, Brother Ali, Murs, Living Legends, and others along those lines then it's almost unbearable. T-Pain? Lil Wayne? Akon? Ugh, Get off the f*cken voice box and actually rap/sing. f*ck. Ok I'm going to bed now! lol
mattcl23 writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 6:59:42 PM

It's about time!
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 1:50:03 AM

hey pjmbdm....wanna hear some of the sh*t i made?...it's not the best...but it doesn't sound like the sh*t on the radio today lol....for now i've been making 80s and 90s sounding stuff(and early start of this decade) at least with the equipment i have to work with....anyway..if u'd like here's my page.... www.myspace.com/iamsofakingstoned

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved