WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Watchmen" Underperformed at the Box Office

Posted: March 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Watchmen" Underperformed at the Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Warner Bros' dark superhero film "Watchmen" grossed almost $56 million from 3,611 theaters in its domestic box office debut, coming in lower than expected but still scoring the best opening of the year and one of the best showings ever for an R-rated film.

Studio had hoped for the pic to transform into a March tentpole and match, or best, the $70.9 million opening of Zack Snyder's previous film "300," which bowed on the same weekend in 2007.

"Watchmen's" running time, however, was 2:40 before trailers. At that length, theaters couldn't play as much runs of the film as they did "300," which ran under two hours.

"Watchmen," based on the iconic graphic novel by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons, played heavily to fans, which are males between the ages of 17-34. After that, "Watchmen" appeared to have some trouble broadening out, mostly because of the graphic violence and sex.

"Watchmen" was also shown at 124 IMAX there, which were all sold out throughout the weekend. IMAX runs accounted for $5.5 million; the best opening weekend number after "The Dark Knight" ($6.3 million).

"Watchmen" nabbed the third highest March opening, and the fifth highest opening ever for an R-rated film.

Click here to read our "Watchmen" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 5:58:54 PM

Well atleast it still kicked some expectational ass! because it was amazing! (not totally like the book) but then again what film from a book ever totally is. Thanks again Zach Snyder! good work!
rzmsauce writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:05:02 PM

So overall are people pretty happy with this movie? I understand most people want the directors cut am I right? From what Ive read they need about 5 hours to tell the story properly
Kara writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:14:28 PM

longest 2hours and 40minutes of my life.... soo bad
meanmonkey22 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:18:38 PM

I cant wait to see it. I didn't go this weekend cause I figured it would be to packed. I guess I wasn't the only one that thought so, lol.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:19:50 PM

Between the ages of 17-34?? No. More like 13-14.
defiant1 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:35:29 PM

I just got back from it. If you like super hero movies about heroes not being super, then this is your movie. I enjoyed the Rorschach character. That's it. The rest was utter boredom. Who do I write to get my money and 2 hours 40 minutes back?
tolgaboy writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:50:23 PM

its time for a superman movie
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 7:05:38 PM

I think its doign well, especially for a film considered unfilmable for over 20 yrs and a MA15+ rating (Here in australia, so far i spoken to people here and they say they loved it
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 7:40:40 PM

ok..just to let you know, if you are one of the people that hated this movie (like i did) please do me a huge favor and go to the forum that i posted about how bad it really is. i would greatly appreciate it and will post the url in a moment. Like i say in the forum..if you haven't seen it, don't waste your time and money seeing it. Its a total waste and explains why it didn't do as well as expected, because the people that saw it thursday night went home..called there friends and said "It's sh*t" now please go read the blog and put your opinion. Thanks :) http://www.worstpreviews.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13147
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 7:50:15 PM

wow anti christ why do you have such an agenda against watchmen. Are you secretly Minkowaski?
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 8:12:29 PM

who's minkowaski or whatever lol. Isn't that the dude nobody likes? If so..look at my name man. Of course i want people to hate me lol :) Just speaking my opinion bro lol
Adamtheflash writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 8:24:32 PM

http://www.worstpreviews.com/forums/showthread.php?p=17141&posted=1#post17141 Here's a review that I think might be a little bit more helpful to those wondering if they should see this movie or not.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 8:46:28 PM

yea you minkowski lol, i still didnt see it yet but goin to at 9:45 wit acouple of my ppls
takai writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 8:50:04 PM

I expected this movie to be somewhat of a 'silent masterpiece'. It's not a well known story outside of the comic book crowd, even with its spot on Time magazine's list. I was absolutely blown away by it and it cracks me up that people say it's boring. Because they don't know how to watch movies. There was no part in the 2 hours 40 minutes that didn't contribute to the story. If you just want action at all times, go watch Rambo. And as far as the age goes, meanmonkey22, the majority of the audience that really appreciated this movie for what it was, WAS in fact 17-34. Most 13-14 year old kids aren't going to comprehend the depth of the story, let alone the fantastic cinematography. And with that being the case, they sure as hell don't understand from reading the book. Just my opinion.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 8:58:51 PM

ur spot on Takai.....................in my opinion.........Minkowski, probably a homosexual, must investigate furthur!! lol, gott alove Roarshach and the Comedian man
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 9:19:04 PM

I think once the dvd comes out and we can see all the uncut stuff people who "dont like it" either at all or less than what they wanted will like it more with all of the stuff together
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 9:28:57 PM

--- oh and again you have to think of the content from the book and its reputation its built up over the years. How they said it was "un-film-able" but Zach Snyder took the chance and whether you hated it, liked it a bit or loved it you have to give it to the man. Not even someone like Spielberg or Rodriguez or whoever else even attempted so think on that. People bitch and bitch about how it wasnt this or that but the truth is nobody on here could do it better and need a damn reality check. Superhero films are probably the hardest thing to make because of their long lasting reputation and how much of a fan base they have. One way or another with whomever takes the chance to want to make a film on a single or group of heroes there will always be those pissed because it didnt "meet certain expectations"
WV-Films writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 9:48:17 PM

To Cd_Smith0, I totally thought that was Minky too. Although I haven't seen him posting in awhile.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 9:51:48 PM

i dont like how he didnt mention alan moore, i was disapointed but still its a pretty good movie, well acted and can tell there was heart in it. the dvd will be awesome as will Tales/Under the Hood. imagine the vesrion FOX would have made....yeeesshhh..
Gunslinger writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 9:55:17 PM

If Anti isn't Minky, then they might be dating...and there's nothing wrong with that.
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 10:34:12 PM

good one gunslinger..sorry your fantasy isn't true. maybe you want to be his boyfriend
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 10:36:01 PM

Alan moore has detached himself from all of his works that are turned into movies, that is why he is never mentioned. Kind of sad really.
WV-Films writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 10:49:12 PM

I decree from here on in, Minkowski shall always be known as "Minky".
masKritic writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 11:33:01 PM

if you think it sucked then pretty much you dont know sh*t about what makes a good film.
Vega writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 12:36:55 AM

BlutoDaBoss21: "i dont like how he didnt mention alan moore" That is by Moore's specific request, not anything to do with Snyer dissing Moore. Moore has detached himself from anything "Hollywood" and even signed over all the profits that the movie makes to Dave Gibbons (the artist) because he wants nothing to do with any of it.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 12:46:39 AM

It was a good film and once the Dir Cut is released I think it'll tighten up some of the loose parts of the film, despite being almost an extra hour w/ black freighter. However, there are a few things that were overdone and odd. One, the sex scene. It was too long and the fire spitting out of Niteowls ship was simply stupid. And two, there was way too much blue penis. I knew Zack was putting it in the film, and I applaud the accuracy to the graphic novel in that regard. However, Zack specifically removed Dr. Manhattans "black thong" in more than one scene. Why? There's no need. Was he going for shock or what? It wasn't really THAT bad, but needless none-the-less. I love this message board, especially guys like i am the anti-christ (who is for sure minkowski) and how he has taken the time to post on every Watchmen thread and others - about how much he hated this film. Wow, way too much effort dude. With the amount of time, negativity and spite you've put towards this movie you could've watched a film you actually enjoy. If you didn't like it, fine. Let it go.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 1:13:21 AM

cheee thx for the input gang, hahaha the guy just wants to be the next villian, atleast mink can back up his arguments sometimes, kinda like veidt you love to hate him hahahaha btw veidt was better in the novel i thought
autiger10 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 1:28:41 AM

jesus, the first 40 minutes of "Watchmen" was un-f*cking-believable. i know that those of you who saw it KNOW what im talking about. everything perfect frame for frame. True genius, quality (but bland) acting, and fantastic accuracy. i wished( and hoped) the ending would be like the book, but i was not disappointed. for those of you that were not pleased by the movie, i agree with takai@ that you need to re-evaluate the way you watch films. its not about what you WANT it to be, it about WHAT it is. for a good movie (throwing it out there) watch CITY OF GOD. wont be disappointed
autiger10 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 1:32:38 AM

i am the anti-christ, get a life and a new name
haribo692003 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 2:06:06 AM

Hey were in a recession, all I can say is that for an R or 18 (UK) certificate film its done amazing, and its not the type of film made for a mass audience like Batman, I loved this film here in the UK and its fast becoming one of my favorite films ever! Lets wait to see what the rest of world's box office takings are before we say if the film has under performed or not!
dwightschrute writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 2:10:21 AM

The end picture i think its gonna scoop up around 200 mil...still its win win
vineethchacko writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 2:22:41 AM

I think Minky has given up his screen name after the brilliant guy called 'Minkowski Sucks' made his appearance. I think anti-christ must be him - but he usually has pseudo-intellectual references all the time, so im on the fence.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 2:23:10 AM

was a good ass f*ckin movie
Figwit1216 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 2:45:53 AM

I hardly think earning back over 1/3 of the budget in the first weekend is "underperforming." This movie shares an R rating with 300 and a close running time with Dark Knight, but it still managed to dominate the box office with both going against it. Impressive in my opinion. This is certainly a movie for the fans, I dont think it was ever intended to be any critical success. I see movies like this with my boyfriend to make him happy (and he sees movies like Mama Mia to make ME happy) but I actually really enjoyed Watchmen. It is certainly a stereotypical guy movie, but ladies, you may like this one, it has some depth. Give it a shot if your boyfriend, husband, or guy buddies offer to buy your ticket ;) You may be pleasantly surprised. =D
kevo10183 writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 2:49:24 AM

Dont see how anyone could hate on this movie
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 3:09:21 AM

"There is a god and he is American"......or "There is an ass, and he is Minkowski"
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 6:08:20 AM

get a life..classic. New name tho, nah i like my name. why you dumb asses can't get past the point that i'm not "minkowaski" i don't know but whatever.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 1:56:22 PM

Everything makes sense now.
froman writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 3:41:13 PM

if your a guy, and u didnt like this movie,your f*cking gay and reatarded
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 5:14:01 PM

why is it, "if your a guy, and u didnt like this movie,your f*cking gay and reatarded" spell check next time bro. Please explain why that is froman. Is it because of the sex scene?? If so..wow..good reason..No, please explain.
ubergrease writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 6:01:29 PM

anti-christ makes me laugh, because stupid people always make me laugh
the_tortel writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 6:16:13 PM

Good, film, the extended versions will be better.
takai writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 10:18:00 PM

Agreed. Extended version will blow faces off
tomp03 writes:
on March 10th, 2009 at 1:22:31 AM

It's incredible to listen to all of these people who say this movie is "just awful". How can people actually say this? I have never read the graphic novel, and I thought it was genius. Knowing that it was based off of a graphic novel, I didn't go in to it expecting a "superhero" comic book movie. It brought up philosophical and political issues of the era in which the novel was written and could also be applied to present society. Its views on American exceptionalism and the American dream were spot on. I think the reason that people didn't like this movie is because they simply did not understand the messages it was trying to get through. The special effects were very impressive as well as the acting. People just need to watch this movie with the idea that it is trying to get a point across about society and not expect a "cool" action movie where the good guy defeats the bad guy and gets the girl at the end. Not that type of story, wait for Ironman II.
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 11th, 2009 at 11:02:10 AM

I LOVED it with my only complaint really being the over the top too choreographed fight scenes. I mean it had people who don't know a thing about the book thinking they had super powers or had people who read it rethinking it all. Nope, it could have done without that nonsense. All else turned out beautiful.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved